Skip to main content
- Background information is found in Reference Sources.
- Reference sources include encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks and directories.
- They provide factual information, concepts, theories, definitions and terminology.
- They can cover all subject areas or be subject or geographic specific.
- Articles may be as short as a paragraph or many pages in length.
- They may contain a bibliography that will refer you to other useful resources.
Find Reference Sources
Search the OC Library catalogue for business reference sources (print and electronic). Just combine keywords with a reference source type. For example: marketing AND dictionaries. Examples of some subject headings for business reference sources are below.
Business enterprises- Canada - Directories
Here's a sample of business-specific electronic reference sources.
TIP: You will need to be an authenticated user to access some of these resources off-campus.
Oxford Reference Online
Online dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks & other reference works in subjects areas such as science, nursing, psychology, sociology and other social sciences, business and languages.
View a complete list of OC Library's business related online reference sources.
Directories list organizations or individuals thematically or alphabetically, providing information such as addresses, phone numbers, products, and sometimes financial information and company histories.
Hoover's Company Records
Current profiles on public and private companies and key executives worldwide, as well as key industry overviews.
Frasers Catalogue of Industrial Suppliers and Manufacturers
Canadian industrial wholesalers, manufacturers, distributors and their products and services.
BC Manufacturers' Directory
"Produced by B.C. Stats in conjunction with the Ministry of Jobs, Tourism and Innovation, is a directory listing of over 4,800 BC companies with information on the products they manufacture and their size, location and export experience." Voluntary registry.
Here are some examples of business reference sources at OC Library:
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management. Marketing (Vol. 9)
Call Number: HD 30.15 .B455 2005 vol. 9
Dictionary of business and management
Call Number: REF HF 1001 .C63 2006
Icons of business : an encyclopedia of mavericks, movers, and shakers
Call Number: HC 102.5 .A2 D74 2007 Kelowna Circulating
This site is maintained by the librarians of Okanagan College Library.
If you wish to comment on an individual page, please contact that page's author.
If you have a question or comment about Okanagan College Library's LibGuides site as a whole, please contact the site administrator.