Library Home Search OCtopus for Resources Research & Course Guides About the Library Help from the Library Kelowna Library Information Penticton Library Information Salmon Arm Library Information Vernon Library Information Library Home
 

BSN Year One & Two Nursing: Articles

Articles

JournalsJournals are like magazines except the articles are written by researchers.Peer-reviewed journals have articles checked for accuracy and reliability by other scholars and experts in the field.

Databases provide access to articles that are unavailable on the open Internet. Article databases contain both popular & scholarly articles, and they are used to find journal, magazine and newspaper articles. Although they deliver content online, they are paid for through library subscriptions. Some databases only include descriptions (citations and/or abstracts) of articles with "Where can I get this?" links, whereas other databases contain links to the full text of the article. 

 

Strategies for finding articles:

  • Use OCtopus for a 'Google-like' experience
  • Use a specific database, such as CINAHL, that will only contain information related to your subject area.
  • Search within a relevant journal. For example, if you want sources on culture, searching within a journal such as "Canadian Nurse", would help focus a search.

Articles from academic journals, newspapers, magazines, and other publications can be found in indexes and databases. OC Library subscribes to more than 100 article databases that are not available on the free web.

Find specific electronic journals related to Nursing.

Browse e-journal titles to find articles

Use information from a citation to locate a specific article (such as from a reference list)

 

Use article reference lists to find other similar articles

Use database limiters, such as date or resource type, to get fewer, more focused search results

Loading

Find Articles

Key Databases:
Other Health Databases:
 
 
Other Interdisciplinary Databases
Tip: Many article databases help you draft citations when you print, save or email them. ALWAYS double check the citations created by databases against the appropriate style guide.
Key Journals & Magazines

Browse these journals and  professional magazines for current information in your field.

Why Use Databases?

The open Internet only holds a small percentage of the information stored online. Using Library sources gives you access to private information, such as:

  • Book content
  • Original, primary, and historical documents
  • Subscribed content
  • Copyright protected material

Find the Full-Text

HTML Full Text    PDF Full Text

Many databases contain the entire text (full text) of articles. If you see HTML Full Text or PDF Full Text, click the link to go to the full-text of your article.

Don't forget! Double-check all the citation information you need for referencing (author, title, journal, volume, issue, publication info, etc.) is with the full-text. 

Where Can I Get This?

If you do not see a full-text option, click the Where Can I Get This? link. The system will try to find your article in another OC Library database. If it finds the article, click on the article link for the full-text.

The system may indicate that the journal or magazine is located in OC Library. Print journals or magazines are shelved alphabetically by title in each campus library periodical collection. If the print journal or magazine is not in your campus library or in storage it may be requested.

If your article is not available in full-text from another OC Library database or in the OC Library, you may check for it in other libraries and request it.

Inter-library Loan

InterLibrary Loans (ILLs) are free for students and employees of OC.  If you cannot get your article using a database, fill out the form and library staff will get it from another library. Articles are usually sent by e-mail.

Library Help

Library home page     By E-Mail      By Phone       In Person      Contact a librarian online      Research Help      Research & Course Guides      

AskAway

‚ÄčRegular hours: 

Sunday-Thursday 10 a.m - 9 p.m.
Friday & Saturday 11 a.m. - 5 p.m.

 
Library Home E-mail Phone  In-person Online Chat Website Research Guides          

This site is maintained by the librarians of Okanagan College Library.
If you wish to comment on an individual page, please contact that page's author.
If you have a question or comment about Okanagan College Library's LibGuides site as a whole, please contact the site administrator.