Skip to main content Library Home Search OCtopus for Resources Research & Course Guides About the Library Help from the Library Kelowna Library Information Penticton Library Information Salmon Arm Library Information Vernon Library Information Library Home

College Prep 101: Reference Sources

Research, Writing and Study Skills

Reference Sources - What are they?

References sources are a great place to start your research!  They provide general or background information on your topic  and include factual information, definitions, and terminology common found in:

bullet_blue_square Dictionaries
bullet_blue_square Encyclopedias
bullet_blue_square Directories

Reference sources may be found in print "book" format or online.

Top reference sources for English Literature for example-Artemis Literary Sources

 

Artemis Literary Sources is a platform that provides simultaneous searching of the Literature Resource Center and Literature Criticism Online databases, and selected content from Gale Virtual Reference Library related to literature. Includes full-text journal articles and book essays, for example:

Daplan, Arie. "Marjane Satrapi." Masters of the Comic Book Universe Revealed! Chicago : Chicago Review P, 2006. 235-52. Rpt. in Children's Litearture Review. Ed. Jelena Krstovic. Vol. 185. Detroit: Gale, 2013. Literature Resource Center.

Dictionaries

Canadian Oxford Dictionary - Oxford University Press 
This dictionary combines coverage of international English with information on English as it is particularly used in Canada.

Oxford English Dictionary  The OED online provides definitions and historical & etymological analysis on english language words. Also includes variant spellings and phonetic pronunciations.

Encyclopedias

Canadian Encyclopedia    The Canadian Encyclopedia comprises the complete text and multimedia of the indispensable reference work originally published in 1985. Since the encyclopedia appeared online in 2001, it has been continuously updated and expanded. James H. Marsh has been editor in chief of The Canadian Encyclopedia since 1980.

Encyclopedia of British Columbia  All Subjects; British Columbia (B.C.) focus; More than 4,000 articles on British Columbia including historic photographs, statistics, maps, tables, charts & diagrams, sound clips, video clips and website links.

Oxford Reference Online  General/All subjects; A variety of full-text online reference works including dictionaries, encyclopedias & handbooks.

Top reference sources for English Literature for example-MLA International Bibliography

mla_bib_med.gif

 

MLA International Bibliography is a bibliography of journal articles, books, Web sites, and dissertations, published by the Modern Language Association, a not-for-profit organization committed to the study and teaching of language and literature.

This site is maintained by the librarians of Okanagan College Library.
If you wish to comment on an individual page, please contact that page's author.
If you have a question or comment about Okanagan College Library's LibGuides site as a whole, please contact the site administrator.