Skip to main content
Before the Flood
Call Number: QC 903.15 .B44 2017 DVD (Penticton)
Features Leonardo DiCaprio on a journey as a United Nations Messenger of Peace, traveling to five continents and the Arctic to witness climate change firsthand. He goes on expeditions with scientists uncovering the reality of climate change and meets with political leaders fighting against inaction. He also discovers a calculated disinformation campaign orchestrated by powerful special interests working to confuse the public about the urgency of the growing climate crisis.
Seed : The Untold Story
Call Number: S 604.5 .S44 2016 DVD (Kelowna) + Streaming Video
This documentary follows passionate seed keepers protecting our 12,000 year-old food legacy. In the last century, 94 percent of our seed varieties have disappeared. As biotech chemical companies control the majority of our seeds, farmers, scientists, lawyers, and indigenous seed keepers fight a David and Goliath battle to defend the future of our food.
Cosmos: A Spacetime Odyssey
Call Number: QC 173.59 .S65 C6766 2014 DVD (Salmon Arm)
Astrophysicist Neil deGrasse Tyson hosts a reboot of Carl Sagan's "Cosmos" docuseries
Call Number: QC 903 .R48 2013 DVD (Penticton)
Rob Stewart's feature documentary won the Most Popular Environmental Film Award at the Vancouver International Film Festival.
Call Number: Q 164 .M98 2010 v.1-v.7 DVD (Salmon Arm + Vernon)
Jamie Hyneman and Adam Savage use a signature brand of explosive experimentation to prove or disprove popular myths, misconceptions or legends.
Call Number: QH 541.14 .L54 2009 pt.1-pt.10 DVD (Kelowna)
David Attenborough explores the glorious variety of life on Earth and the spectacular and extraordinary tactics animals and plants have developed to stay alive. More than four years in the making, filmed over 3,000 days, across every continent and in every habitat ....
Browsing for Science DVDs in the Library Collection
Try browsing the Library media collection shelves at the following call number locations:
Q Science (General)
QH Natural History, Biology
QM Human anatomy
Curio.ca Streaming Video + Audio
View the Canada 150: Innovation, Science and Technology collection
This collection focuses on Canadian contributions in science and technology, as well as accomplishments demonstrating our innovative spirit. We examine major steps forward in the aeronautics, agricultural and medical sectors, as well as a host of more recent developments, ranging from clean technologies to the impact of social media, the sharing economy and artificial intelligence.
View The Nature of Things programs
Hosted by the world-renowned geneticist and environmentalist David Suzuki, The Nature of Things presents stories that are driven by a scientific understanding of the world.
Listen to Quirks & Quarks programs
Host Bob McDonald presents the people behind the latest discoveries in the physical and natural sciences.The program also examines the political, social, environmental and ethical implications of new developments in science and technology.
Films on Demand Streaming Video
The Films On Demand Health & Medicine collection of documentaries includes:
Catalyst, Australia public broadcasting's flagship weekly science program, showcases Australian and global science discoveries that impact us all.
The Food Detectives
In this one-stop shop for food-related facts and guidance, scientist Alice Roberts, top chef Tom Kerridge and journalist Sean Fletcher sift through the latest tips and theories so you don’t have to.
Expanding Universe: Wonders of Life
Physicist Brian Cox explores how, 3.7 billion years ago, a few fundamental laws gave birth to the most complex, diverse and unique force in the universe - life. Light, gravity, time, matter and energy are the building blocks of everything, from the smallest microbe on Earth to the biggest galaxy.
Filmakers Library Streaming Video
The Filmakers Library collection of documentaries includes:
1905: Year of Light: Einstein's Important Discovery
E=MC2. Who really understands what lies behind Albert Einstein s famous formula? Special effects and beautifully rendered dramatizations illustrate the important discoveries and events in Einstein s early years.
Out From the Shadows
This fascinating biography relates the life and times of Irène Joliot-Curie, the eldest daughter of Marie and Pierre Curie. Although less well known than her parents, Irene and her husband, Frédéric, made a contribution to nuclear physics that was of equally ground-breaking significance. And like her parents, they were awarded a Nobel Prize.
PBS Learning Media
PBS Learning Media (Science)
Science and Engineering Resources for Teachers (K-College)
Thousands of free, high-quality videos, lesson plans, and other digital resources for your science classroom, all aligned to Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS).
NOVA revolves around a simple premise: the world of science is exciting! For NOVA viewers, science means adventure and exploration, because from ants to aliens, this documentary series probes the far reaches of earth, sea and stars. NOVA proves that science is neither secret lore nor sacred ritual but rather, at its heart, a lifelong journey of discovery.
This site is maintained by the librarians of Okanagan College Library.
If you wish to comment on an individual page, please contact that page's author.
If you have a question or comment about Okanagan College Library's LibGuides site as a whole, please contact the site administrator.