AccessScience is an authoritative and dynamic online resource that contains incisively written, high-quality reference material that covers all major scientific disciplines. You can search AccessScience using the box below.
What kind of content will I find on AccessScience?:
Articles – source material from the latest edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology Research Reviews– articles reviewing key research and developments in science and technology from McGraw-Hill Yearbooks of Science & Technology.
Briefings– topical overviews of newsworthy subjects, designed to engage and inform
Biographies– life histories of well-known scientists from the Hutchinson Dictionary of Scientific Biography
News– timely stories from Science News with links to relevant AccessScience content
Dictionary – definitions from the latest edition of the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms
Videos/Animations– engaging multimedia selections that will play on any device
This is a marvellously engaging tour covering the whole of modern science, from transgenic crops to quantum tangles. Written by one of the most experienced and well-known names in science writing, it is also assuredly reliable science. Although arranged for convenience and quick reference as a collection of topics in alphabetical order, it is very different from any conventional encyclopedia. Each topic tells a story, making the book eminently browsable.
Search or browse science topics, A-Z, in this ebook, such as:
Alcohol: Genetic revelations of when yeast invented booze Altruism and aggression: Looking for the origins of those human alternatives Antimatter: Does the coat that Sakharov made really explain its absence? Arabidopsis: The modest weed that gave plant scientists the big picture Astronautics: Will interstellar pioneers be overtaken by their grandchildren? Bernal's ladder: Pointers Big Bang: The inflationary Universe's sleight-of-hand Biodiversity: The mathematics of co-existence Biological clocks: Molecular machinery that governs life's routines Biosphere from space: 'I want to do the whole world' Bits and qubits: The digital world and its looming quantum shadow Black holes: The awesome engines of quasars and active galaxies Brain images: What do all the vivid movies really mean? Brain rhythms: The mathematics of the beat we think to Brain wiring: How do all those nerve connections know where to go? Buckyballs and nanotubes: Doing very much more with very much less
This site is maintained by the librarians of Okanagan College Library. If you wish to comment on an individual page, please contact that page's author. If you have a question or comment about Okanagan College Library's LibGuides site as a whole, please contact the site administrator.