Skip to main content Library Home Search OCtopus for Resources Research & Course Guides About the Library Help from the Library Kelowna Library Information Penticton Library Information Salmon Arm Library Information Vernon Library Information Library Home

Gastroenterology Nursing Certificate (GNC): Find Research Articles

Featuring selected Okanagan College Library resources for gastroenterology nursing

Finding Research Articles Using CINAHL Complete Database

1) Enter your search term(s) in the search box(es); each search box should have a single word or phrase (enclose in quotation marks) which is a concept

 

For example:

gastroenterology  

AND "patient care"

 

2) Scroll below the search boxes to select an option or options to Limit your results, then click on Search 

For example, you may select

Research article

Or you may want to select 

Randomized Controlled Trials

Or you may want to select one or more Publication Type, for example:

  Case study

  Clinical trial

  Randomized controlled trial

CINAHL Database Limiters

1) The first search box is pre-set JN "Gastroenterology Nursing" so you enter your search term(s) in the next search box(es)

 

For example:

JN "Gastroenterology Nursing"

AND sedation

 

2) Scroll below the search boxes to select an option or options to Limit your results, then click on Search

For example, you may select

Research article

Or you may want to select 

Randomized Controlled Trials

Or you  may select one or more Publication Type, for example:

  Case study

  Clinical trial

  Randomized controlled trial

If you see HTML Full Text or PDF Full Text or Find this article in full text from OVID or Find this article in full text from Wiley or Access Full-Text Article, click the link to view the full-text of your article. Look for options at the right side of the screen to print, email or save (download) the full-text article.

 

Troubleshooting Tip #1

If you click either of these links:

Main results page

 

Detailed result

 

And then see this screen:

Click the OvidSP &Athens button to access full-text

Click the 'OvidSP & Athens' button to access the article

 

Troubleshooting Tip #2

If you are unable to access an article using the Ovid link (see below), try the other link:

 

You can access the full-text by clicking on the article's title:

If you copy and save the URL to an article from the browser address bar you may have problems accessing the article again later. Many databases provide a permanent URL (also known as a persistent link, bookmarkable URL, or PURL) which you should use to link to an article.

When you are viewing a detailed record in your results list or a full-text  article in CINAHL Complete  you will see a "Tools" menu on the right side of the screen; click on Permalink (chain-link icon) and a small popup box will appear with the link you should use.

 

 

When you are viewing an article from Gastroenterology Nursing  you will see a "Tools" menu on the right side of the screen; click on the Email PDF Jumpstart and a small popup box will appear with a "Jumpstart URL" which you should use.

 

                                                                      Click the E-mail PDF Jumpstart link to get a permanent URL to the article

Research articles tend to have 6 or 7 parts, each part is usually labeled.

 

Abstract This first part of the article, normally at the top and set apart from the rest of the article. The abstract describes what the article is about. 
Introduction The first part of the actual text, it explains why the researchers selected the topic to study and why it is important.
Literature Review  In this section the authors discuss research that is important to their study, this section can be long or short. Sometimes the introduction and literature review sections are combined.
Methods/ Data Analysis The methods portion of the article explains how the researchers actually conducted the research. Often it will include information on the participants and data collection methods used. They will also explain how the data was analyzed. This section may also include limitations of the research.
Results This is where the authors tell you what they found.
Discussion Here the authors discuss how their findings (results) tie back into the other research done in the field and why what they found is important. They may also give ideas for further research.
References This sections includes all the references to items cited within the body of the article.
Loading

Library Help

Library home page     By E-Mail      By Phone       In Person      Contact a librarian online      Research Help      Research & Course Guides      

AskAway

​Regular hours: 

Sunday-Thursday 10 a.m - 9 p.m.
Friday & Saturday 11 a.m. - 5 p.m.

 
Library Home E-mail Phone  In-person Online Chat Website Research Guides          

This site is maintained by the librarians of Okanagan College Library.
If you wish to comment on an individual page, please contact that page's author.
If you have a question or comment about Okanagan College Library's LibGuides site as a whole, please contact the site administrator.