Skip to main content Library Home Search OCtopus for Resources Research & Course Guides About the Library Help from the Library Kelowna Library Information Penticton Library Information Salmon Arm Library Information Vernon Library Information Library Home

Chemistry Research Guide: Find articles

Resources of interest to Okanagan College students doing research in general chemistry.

Searching for articles

This page includes links to the most important research databases used to find articles for Chemistry research, and to related resources. Use of most of the sources listed on this page is restricted to Okanagan College students. If you are working from off-campus, you will be prompted to log in with your student number and myOkanagan password.

General Science Abstracts

ScienceDirect

OCtopus (Library Search Engine)

 
 

OCtopus searches the Library's catalogue and most of the Library's databases in one search, including the EBSCO databases Academic Search Complete, GreenFILE, Applied Science & Technology Index, General Science Abstracts, plus JSTOR, ScienceDirect, and Wiley Online Library. Enter keywords in the OCtopus search box on the Library's website

Search tip: truncate words with asterisk; for example: toxic* finds toxicity, toxicology

Sign into your personal account to save results in a folder

You may:

Refine your search results

√ Peer Reviewed & Scholarly Articles

or limit your search results by

Resource types √ Academic Journal

 

For more results, remove the limiter √ Available from OC (Print & Online)

Articles which are not available in full text may be requested through interlibrary loan.

 

Note: OCtopus searches several but not all of the Library's databases; some additional databases  can be selected under the "Expand Your Search" section to the right of the search results list, for example ABI/INFORM and CBCA (Canadian Business & Current Affairs) 

Google Scholar

Search for journal articles, conference papers, and other scholarly works from a variety of sources. 

Off-campus OC users must have library links set to "Okanagan College" under Scholar Settings. Browsers must be set to accept Cookies. Then look for the Get it from OC link to connect directly to the item you want, via the OC Library.

Reference Librarian

Michelle Ward's picture
Michelle Ward
Contact:
Okanagan College Library, Kelowna Campus, 1000 KLO Road, Kelowna BC V1Y 4X8. Canada
250-7625445 ext 4749

This site is maintained by the librarians of Okanagan College Library.
If you wish to comment on an individual page, please contact that page's author.
If you have a question or comment about Okanagan College Library's LibGuides site as a whole, please contact the site administrator.