LibGuides: Kinesiology: Fitness Assessment & Exercise Prescription

The resources on this page are related to topics covered in HKIN 103 (Exercise Prescription for Health), HKIN 203 (Science of Strength and Conditioning) and HKIN 273 (Fitness Testing & Prescription).

Highighted Books

Advanced Fitness Assessment & Exercise Prescription by Gibson, Wagner, & Heyward
Call Number: GV 436 .H48 2019
ISBN: 9781492561347
Publication Date: 2019
Location: Penticton Circulating Collection
Physical Activity Measurement: a lifecourse approach by Paul Innerd
Call Number: GV 436 .I56 2020
ISBN: 9781138059986
Publication Date: 2020
Location: Penticton Circulating Collection
Performance Assessment in Strength and Conditioning by Comfort, Jones, & McMahon
Call Number: GV 436 .P47 2019
ISBN: 9780415789387
Publication Date: 2019
Location: Penticton Circulating Collection
Get Fit, Stay Fit by William Prentice
Call Number: RA 781 .P67 2016
ISBN: 9780803644649
Publication Date: 2016
Location: online or Penticton Circulating Collection
ACSM's Fitness Assessment Manual
Call Number: RC683.5 .E94 F586 2021
ISBN: 9781975164454
Publication Date: 2021
Location: Penticton circulating collection

Key Journals

Journal of Applied Physiology
A peer reviewed journal that publishes original papers on diverse areas of research in applied physiology. Full text available for articles over 12 months old.
Medicine & Science in Sports & Exercise
The official journal of the American College of Sports Medicine. Available through OC Library. Full text available 1996 to present.

Web Resources

Canadian Fitness & Lifestyle Research Institute
CFLRI is a national research agency concerned with educating Canadians about the importance of leading healthy, active lifestyles. Current information about various forms of physical activity in Canada.
National Wellness Institute Resources
Serves the professionals and organizations that promote optimal health and wellness in individuals and communities.
National Strength and Conditioning Association
A nonprofit association dedicated to advancing the strength and conditioning and related sport science professions around the world.
National Athletic Trainers Association
The National Athletic Trainers’ Association (NATA) is the professional membership association for certified athletic trainers and others who support the athletic training profession.

Government Resources

Government of Canada Healthy Living: Physical Activity. A guide with links to several Government of Canada Initiatives.

Canada's Physical Activity Guides - guides to help people make good choices about physical activity and health. Includes guides for children, youth, adults, and older adults.