LibGuides: Kinesiology: Sport Sociology & Health Policy

The resources on this page are related to topics covered in HKIN 161 (Physical Activity in Canadian Society) and HKIN 261 (Health, Policy & Canadian Society).

Background Sources

A Dictionary of Sports Studies
This is the brand new Dictionary of Sports Studies. It contains over 1,100 clear, concise, and authoritative entries compiled by Professor Alan Tomlinson, a leading expert in the field. Wide-ranging coverage includes the social, political, economical, and cultural theory of sport, as well as entries relating to exercise, preparation, and performance psychology, and key scientific terms, including nutrition and anatomy. It also features biographies of key sportspeople, information on international organizations and institutions, and detailed appendices with lists of sporting events and winners, including the Summer and Winter Olympic Games. In addition, there are recommended web links for many entries.

Highlighted Books

Sport, Violence and Society by Kevin Young
Call Number: GV 706.7 .Y68 2019
ISBN: 9781138830707
Publication Date: 2019
Location: Penticton Circulating Collection
Extreme Sports, Extreme Bodies: gender, identities and bodies in motion by Jesper Andreasson; Thomas Johansson
Call Number: GV 749.7 .A53 2019
ISBN: 9783319972374
Publication Date: 2019
Location: Penticton Circulating Collection
Doping in Sport: a defence by Thomas Søbirk Petersen
Call Number: RC 1230 .P4786 2021
ISBN: 9780367528300
Publication Date: 2020
Location: Penticton Circulating Collection

Canadian Web Resources

AthletesCAN
The association of Canada’s national team athletes, is the only fully independent and most inclusive athlete organization in the country and the first organization of its kind in the world.
Physical and Health Education Canada (PHE Canada)
Previously known as Canadian Association for Health, Physical Education, Recreation, and Dance (CAHPERD)
Canadian Association for the Advancement of Women and Sport and Physical Activity
Canadian Kinesiology Alliance
Sport Information Resource Center
Sport Information Resource Centre (SIRC) is a not-for-profit amateur sport organization with the mandate to provide information and serve the educational needs of organizations and individuals involved in, or responsible for the development of, sport and fitness in Canada and around the world.
Sport Canada
Sport Canada works to help Canadians participate and excel in sport. There are four divisions: Funding Programs, Canadian Sport System, Policies and Legislation, and Publications and Reports. Find papers and policies on ethics, doping, gender, sport participation, and much more.
Court of Arbitration for Sport
An institution independent of any sports organization which provides for services in order to facilitate the settlement of sports-related disputes through arbitration or mediation by means of procedural rules adapted to the specific needs of the sports world.

International Web Resources

North American Society for Sport Management (NASSM)
American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance (AAHPERD)
Stark Center for Physical Culture & Sports
The world’s most extensive collection of materials on physical culture and sports. Topics covered include weight training, powerlifting, bodybuilding, weightlifting, conditioning for athletes, hydrotherapy, naturopathy, vegetarianism, and other forms of alternative medicine and self-improvement. The book collection alone represents the holdings of over thirty individual collections with approximately 30,000 volumes in total.
Sport Management Association of Australia and New Zealand
World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA)
Key activities include scientific research, education, development of anti-doping capacities, and monitoring of the World Anti Doping Code (Code) – the document harmonizing anti-doping policies in all sports and all countries.
Australian Clearinghouse for Sport
Brings together Australia’s leading sport and active recreation agencies—using Sport Australia as the principal information coordination point—to share news, evidence and insights about sport, human performance, and physical activity.