Skip to main content Library Home Search OCtopus for Resources Research & Course Guides About the Library Help from the Library Kelowna Library Information Penticton Library Information Salmon Arm Library Information Vernon Library Information Library Home

Practical Nursing: Videos

This guide will help students with Practical Nursing research in the OC Library collection and on the Internet.

Videos & Media

The Library has DVDs that include both feature films and educational material. Streaming videos can be viewed online and are also available. Videos can be found in the library catalogue, OCtopus, or by browsing specific collections on the databases and e-resources page.

Find DVDs and Videos

There are different ways to search for items. For example:

  • by keywords
  • by subject heading (a specific word or phrase from a defined list)
  • by title

There are different ways to refine or limit your search results. For example:

  • limit to: videos/DVD/streaming videos on basic search page
  • by location (video collection or online)
  • by format (motion picture or video recording)

Library Catalogue

  • Basic Search
    • Use the "limit to" drop down and select: Videos/DVD/ Streaming Videos
  • Advanced Search: Use limiters such as:
    • Location: Online, Internet or Video Collection
    • Format: Videorecording or Motion Picture

OCtopus

  • Use the advanced search limiter: Internet
  • Run your initial search, then use the resource type limiter: Videos and/or electronic resources

Databases & E-Resources Listing

  • Go to the home page
    • Click ALL, under "Find databases by title"
    • On the results page, choose 'Videos', under "Add Content Type"

OC Website Videos Page

  • Find all the Library's video collections listed
  • Browse the databases that include videos

 

Loading

Films on Demand Health & Medicine

Primal Pictures Interactive Anatomy

Search Terms

A few examples of subject headings you can use in the OC Library catalogue.
 

Alzheimer's disease

Communication in nursing

Dementia

Evidence based medicine

Geriatric nursing

Homecare nursing

Infection prevention

Nurse and patient

Nursing care

Palliative treatment

Patient education

Practical nursing

Transcultural nursing

Wounds and injuries

Library Help

Library home page     By E-Mail      By Phone       In Person      Contact a librarian online      Research Help      Research & Course Guides      

AskAway

‚ÄčRegular hours: 

Sunday-Thursday 10 a.m - 9 p.m.
Friday & Saturday 11 a.m. - 5 p.m.

 
Library Home E-mail Phone  In-person Online Chat Website Research Guides          

This site is maintained by the librarians of Okanagan College Library.
If you wish to comment on an individual page, please contact that page's author.
If you have a question or comment about Okanagan College Library's LibGuides site as a whole, please contact the site administrator.