Library Home Search OCtopus for Resources Research & Course Guides About the Library Help from the Library Kelowna Library Information Penticton Library Information Salmon Arm Library Information Vernon Library Information Library Home

Copyright Guidelines

For clarification of a specific copyright-related question or answers to questions not covered by this guide, please contact:
 
Okanagan College Copyright Officer:
Ross Tyner
Director of Library Services
Local 4665
 
Lindsay Willson
Public Services/Business Liaison Librarian
Local 4624
 
Or contact

Library Licences

License terms and conditions of electronic resources are available via the OC Library website at the level of both title (e.g. Canadian Historical Review) and collection (e.g. JSTOR). View this video to learn how to access the information.  If licensing information is not available for a resource, please contact the Library.

Okanagan College Library - individually and through consortia - signs licensing agreements with vendors and publishers for access to electronic resources such as databases and ejournals.

These agreements govern the access of the resources and the use of the material retrieved from these resources.

Each resource has its own licensing agreement. Generally speaking, all electronic resource licenses do not allow:

- systematic downloading, for example entire volumes or issues of journals or entire books
- use of robots, crawlers or similar software applications to capture data
- resale or commercial use

Some licenses permit use in course packs and/or the creation of persistent links for insertion into a secured course management system such as Moodle.

For music licensing at Okanagan College please contact Ancillary and Business Services.

    Can I post the electronic version of an article retrieved from a Library research database or subscription journal in Moodle?

    Can I post the electronic version of an article retrieved from a Library research database or subscription journal on a publicly accessible website?

    Can I include an article retrieved from a Library research database or subscription journal in a course pack?

    Can I handout print copies of an article retrieved from a Library research database or subscription journal?

    What is a persistent link?

    Can I post a persistent link to an article in a Library research database or subscription journal in Moodle?

    Can I post a persistent link to an article in a Library research database or subscription journal on a publicly accessible website?

    Can I post a published article that I have authored on either Moodle or a publicly accessible website?

    Can I use recorded or live music at an Okanagan College event?


    Can I post the electronic version of an article retrieved from a Library research database or subscription journal in Moodle?

    Some Library licenses permit uploading of licensed online content to Moodle. More commonly, licenses permit you to create and post in Moodle “persistent links” to individual articles from licensed online resources. Rather than assume that the license for a particular resource permits use in course packs or Moodle, you should check the license.

     

    Can I post the electronic version of an article retrieved from a Library research database or subscription journal on a publicly accessible website?

    No. Generally speaking, all licensed resources are for the exclusive use of Okanagan College members. 

     

    Can I include an article retrieved from a Library research database or subscription journal in a course pack?

    Some license agreements between the Library and individual publishers or distributors for online resources such as e-journals include clauses that permit the use of content in coursepacks. Rather than assume that the license for a particular resource permits use in course packs or Moodle, you should check with the Library or Bookstore.

    Return to top

    Can I hand out print copies of an article retrieved from a Library research database or subscription journal?

    Some license agreements between the Library and individual publishers or distributors for online resources such as e-journals include clauses that permit the use of content as class handouts. Rather than assume that the license for a particular resource permits use in course packs or Moodle, you should check the license.

     

    What is a persistent link?

    A persistent link provides stable access to a specific article within a subscription database or electronic journal (provided that the person clicking on the link is an authenticated user). Persistent links are also called permanent links or stable links. View this video to learn how to identify and use persistent links.

     

    Can I post a persistent link to an article in a Library research database or subscription journal in Moodle?

    Some license agreements between the Library and individual publishers or distributors for online resources such as e-journals include clauses that permit the creation and posting of persistent links in secured network environments, such as Moodle. Rather than assume that the license for a particular resource permits such use, check the license.

    If you are unsure of how to create persistent links to licensed content, please ask a librarian.

    Return to top

    Can I post a persistent link to an article in a Library research database or subscription journal on a publicly accessible website?

    Some license agreements between the Library and individual publishers or distributors for online resources such as e-journals include clauses that permit the creation and posting of persistent links in secured network environments. You must ensure the persistent link is secured in a way that restrict access to authenticated OC users.

    If you are unsure of how to create persistent links to licensed content, please ask a librarian.

     

    Can I post a published article that I have authored on either Moodle or a publicly accessible website?

     Before posting or sharing any preprint or postprint version of your published article in any environment, you will have to check the agreement you signed with the publisher to ensure permitted uses.

     

    Can I use recorded or live music at an Okanagan College event?

    Okanagan College has obtained a licence that covers many situations involving recorded music. Please contact Business and Ancillary Services for information about using recorded or live music at Okanagan College functions. See also: Music Licensing at Okanagan College.

    Return to top

    Definitions

    Walk In: Individual members of the public who access licensed materials when physically present at Okanagan College Library.

    Coursepack: A print resource containing copies of licensed materials for student purchase that is determined by Okanagan College faculty members/staff. Coursepacks must be created with assistance from and sold through the Okanagan College Bookstore. All materials in a coursepack must contain complete citation and source information.

    E-reserve: An electronic resource containing copies of licensed materials stored in a secured virtual environment for use by students in a specific class. All materials must contain complete citation and source information. If the license does not allow e-reserves, consider using persistent links.

    Persistent link: A persistent link provides stable access to a specific article within a subscription database or electronic journal (provided that the person clicking on the link is an authenticated user). Persistent links are also called permanent links, permalinks, stable links, stable URLs, or PURLs.

    ILL (Interlibrary loan): A service that facilitates the movement of materials between libraries. See Okanagan College Library Interlibrary Loans: Information for Other Libraries.

    Remote access: Off-campus access to a resource via secure authentication.

    This site is maintained by the librarians of Okanagan College Library.
    If you wish to comment on an individual page, please contact that page's author.
    If you have a question or comment about Okanagan College Library's LibGuides site as a whole, please contact the site administrator.