LibGuides: Health Care Assistant: Background (Reference) sources

Getting Started - Background (Reference) Resources

Reference Sources

Also known as background sources, reference sources include:

Encyclopedias (including online sources such as Wikipedia)
Dictionaries
Handbooks
Directories
Manuals, etc.

Reference sources are great for getting started on your research, especially if the topic you are researching is unfamiliar to you. They can be excellent sources of factual information, concepts, theories, definitions, and terminology, and can lead to references to find more sources of information.

Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health by Galè
Call Number: eBook. Click title link to access
Publication Date: 2012
Provides authoritative and comprehensive information on topics in mental health, including diseases and disorders (such as dementia, Alzheimer's, Parkinson), drugs, alternative treatments, psychiatric assessments, and related concepts. Written in language accessible to adult laypersons, it aims to fill the gap between basic consumer resources and highly technical professional materials such as the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM).
Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders by Tracie Moy; Laura Avery; Gale (Editor)
Call Number: eBook. Click title link to access
Publication Date: 2016
Provides clear, complete information on genetic disorders, including conditions, tests, procedures, treatments and therapies, in articles that are both comprehensive and easy to understand in language accessible to laypersons.
Gale Encyclopedia of Children's Health: Infancy through Adolescence by Gale (Editor)
Call Number: eBook. Click title link to access
Publication Date: 2016
Provides in-depth coverage of pediatric diseases and disorders, along with issues related to physical, cognitive and behavioral development. Covers every major body system. With an emphasis on health issues affecting children under the age of four.
Encyclopedia of Elder Care by Elizabeth A. Capezuti (Editor); Michael L. Malone (Editor); Paul R. Katz (Editor); Mathy D. Mezey (Editor)
Call Number: eBook. Click title link to access
Publication Date: 2013
Provides comprehensive, yet succinct, entries on a variety of topics related to elder care and geriatrics written at an undergraduate level and useful for practitioners, students, and caregivers.

The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy
- This link opens in a new window
TOP RESOURCE: FREE ON THE WEB
Authoritative information on the mechanism and cause, symptoms, diagnosis, treatment and prevention of over 2000 diseases and disorders.
Opens to Professional version, at results for your search you can then switch to Consumer version for content in everyday language and suitable for patient education.
Professional Guide to Diseases
Call Number: EBOOK and in print Reference RT 65 .P69 2012
Publication Date: 2012
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5)
Call Number: Reference RC 455.2 .C4 D536 2013
PRINT BOOK. Available in all campus libraries
British Columbia Atlas of Wellness
Call Number: RA 407.5 .C3 F68 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Available at campus libraries and online. Click title link to access PDF online

Nursing Reference Center Plus

Information about diseases and conditions, evidence-based care sheets, content on nursing best practices and skills, robust drug information, and videos and images to aid in patient care. Download the Nursing Reference Center Plus app for mobile access.

Tips!

Results of evidence-based care sheets (also tagged as patient education) from this Center may appear in an OCtopus search on your health topic. The Center also draws on the CINAHL Nursing Guide for its Quick Lessons on health conditions and diseases. You may use the OCtopus limit as a database, selecting Health Reference Center Plus to see just these results.

At opening page left, see Spotlight for credible EBSCO resource links to research & care best practices for COVID-19

CINAHL Complete

As well as excellent research-based journal articles, this database provides access on the menu bar above the database search box to

1) Evidence-based Care Sheets : enter or browse for a disease, health condition (for nursing or medical outcomes) PDF

2) Click More ... on Menu bar and select Quick Lessons: enter or browse for a disease or health condition (can be used as handouts for caregivers & patients). PDF.

Tip! results from CINAHL Nursing Guide (tagged as Quick Lessons) may appear in an OCtopus search on your health topic.

Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing & Health Professions
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2017
Online access: (10th ed.) 2017. EBSCO copy has 3 user limit. Access through eBook Central for additional 4 user copies: click here.
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary
Call Number: eBook. Click title link to access
Publication Date: 2017
Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary
Call Number: eBook. Click title link to access
Publication Date: 2012