Significant developments in mathematics are covered in science magazines; some examples of core science magazines are:
Scientific American is a magazine of scientific discovery and technological innovation for the general public. Available online 1948-current. The August 1985 issue cover story is on the Mandelbrot set.
Science News is a weekly newsmagazine covering important and emerging research in all fields of science. Available online 1975-current
Significant discoveries and research in mathematics are published in core science journals, for example:
OCtopussearches the Library catalogue and several (but not all) of Okanagan College Library's databases in one search. Most of the journal articles in the Library's databases are not freely available on the Web. Enter search terms in the OCtopus search box on the Library's website
You may Refine your search resuts √ Peer Reviewed & Scholarly or
limit your search results by Resource types√ Academic Journal or
limit your search results by Resource types √ Magazines
Not sure what are the differences between journals and magazines?
General Science Abstracts indexes over 300 English-language science periodicals published in the US and Great Britain. Periodical coverage includes popular science magazines as well as professional journals. Subject coverage includes Astronomy, Atmospheric Science, Biology, Botany, Chemistry, Conservation, Earth Science, Environment, Food & Nutrition, Genetics, Health & Medicine, Mathematics, Microbiology, Oceanography, Physics, Physiology and Zoology.
Maximum of 20 simultaneous users across BC ELN partner libraries
Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,650 journals, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 8,450 journals. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study, including computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and more.
In some cases, certain publishers do not grant certain rights specific to their content. Check content for any restrictions.
License definitions & additional information
Permission to include content in coursepacks is NOT included under the terms of this license.
CREATE PERSISTENT LINKS to individual articles for access by Authorized Users for Permitted Uses under this Agreement, from within secure authentication environments. ELECTRONIC RESERVES / VIRTUAL LEARNING: Members and Authorized Users may incorporate parts of the Licensed Material in resource lists and in any other material (including but not limited to multi-media works) to be used in the course of instruction and/or in virtual and managed environments (including but not limited to virtual learning environments, managed learning environments, virtual research environments and library environments) hosted on a Secure Network (only accessible to Authorized Users by Secure Authentication). Each item shall carry appropriate acknowledgment of the source, listing title and copyright owner.
INTERLIBRARY LOAN by paper or electronic means, a single copy of an individual document within the guidelines of traditional interlibrary loan practices and applicable copyright laws.
Full text collection of 400+ scholarly journals in all disciplines. For most journals, coverage begins with the first issue published (as far back as 1665) and ends 3 to 5 years back from the present. Searching JSTOR will often retrieve older articles not found by other sources.
Provides access to archival and current full-text issues of more than 1,400 scholarly journals across more than 50 academic disciplines. Search tips!
To increase precision, use Advanced and/or Expert search modes
By default, JSTOR looks for your search terms in the entire article. To reduce results, restrict your search to words in the Title and/or Author and/or Abstract as appropriate.
To restrict your search to research articles, check the box next to "Article" in the list of types.
JSTOR supports the use of wildcards for several different types of truncation. ? (question mark) replaces a single character, * (asterisk) replaces any number of characters, and & (ampersand) searches for singular and plural forms of a word, regardless of the number of characters.
Mathematics Association of America-Math in the News
Scientific American - Math
Chance (Official Magazine of the American Statistical Association)
Chance online (1997-present) + current and previous year print issues in Kelowna Library Periodicals Collection
This site is maintained by the librarians of Okanagan College Library. If you wish to comment on an individual page, please contact that page's author. If you have a question or comment about Okanagan College Library's LibGuides site as a whole, please contact the site administrator.