Skip to main content Library Home Search OCtopus for Resources Research & Course Guides About the Library Help from the Library Kelowna Library Information Penticton Library Information Salmon Arm Library Information Vernon Library Information Library Home

Human Service Work: Media

This guide will help Human Service Work (HSW) students find research information in the OC Library collection and on the Internet.

There are a number of ways to access videos at Okanagan College:

1- Visit Quick Links on the Library Webpage and click on Streaming Videos
2 - Initiate a search in OCtopus on the Library Webpage then on the left column of the SEARCH RESULTS page under REFINE RESULTS > RESOURCE TYPES, select VIDEOS to limit the results by media only.  
3 - To locate videos in the Library's collection you can search the Library Catalogue, and use the location limit "Video Collection"
or include the phrase 'streaming video' in your catalogue search.  Use the click here to access (OC students, faculty and staff only) link in the detailed item record screen.     For example:   disabilities streaming video

Many of OC Library's online resources are licensed for use by students and employees. You may be prompted to log in with your student or employee number and last name if you are off-campus.

Streaming Video Collections at OC

Health
Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination (Lippincott Williams & Wilkins)
Gerontology Streaming Videos (Distribution Access)
Health & Medicine Streaming Videos (Films on Demand)
Primal Pictures Interactive Anatomy
Taylor's Video Guide to Clinical Nursing Skills (Lippincott Williams & Wilkins)

Cross-Disciplinary 
Criterion on Demand (Criterion Pictures)
Curio.ca (CBC - Documentaries, News, TV shows)
Ethnographic Video Online: Volume 1 (Alexander Street Press)
Ethnographic Video Online: Volume 2 (Alexander Street Press)
Filmakers Library Online (Alexander Street Press) 
Footprints: Environment and the way we live (NFB - Public collection)
Images of a Forgotten War (NFB - Public collection)
Kanopy Streaming Videos (BBC, PBS, Media Education Foundation, Documentary Educational Resources, & more)
National Film Board Campus Edition (also available in french)

Media (with description)

Criterion-on-Demand
A streaming media service offering access to 2000+ major motion pictures, largely popular feature films and documentaries.
Connect

Curio.ca
The new Curio.ca platform provides streaming access to the best in educational content from CBC and Radio-Canada. Find documentaries from TV and radio, news reports, archival material, excerpts and more — thousands of programs and resources available.
Internet browsers Firefox, Chrome, or Internet Explorer v. 9 or higher are recommended for viewing videos.
Connect

Filmakers Library Online
Award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum—race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more.
Connect

Food Cultures of the World Encyclopedia (E-book)
Introduces food culture from numerous countries and cultures around the world
Connect

Kanopy Videostreaming
Online video streaming service distributing films from BBC, PBS, Media Education Foundation, and many others. Provides an excellent selection of classic and contemporary educational documentaries and theatrical films.
Connect

National Film Board CAMPUS
Watch hundreds of NFB films online, including documentaries, animation and alternative dramas with additional content only available to educators
Connect

This site is maintained by the librarians of Okanagan College Library.
If you wish to comment on an individual page, please contact that page's author.
If you have a question or comment about Okanagan College Library's LibGuides site as a whole, please contact the site administrator.