Skip to main content Library Home Search OCtopus for Resources Research & Course Guides About the Library Help from the Library Kelowna Library Information Penticton Library Information Salmon Arm Library Information Vernon Library Information Library Home

Human Service Work: Articles & Databases

This guide will help Human Service Work (HSW) students find research information in the OC Library collection and on the Internet.

Find Articles

To find journal articles and professional magazine articles use the article databases.  HSW is a multidisciplinary program therefore you may need to search more than one database.   Try using OCtopus insteadOCtopus searches these databases simultaneously.

Top Article Databases

Academic Search Premier (multidisciplinary)
PsycINFO (Psychology + mental disorders)
CBCA Complete (Canadian multidisciplinary)
CPI-Q (Canadian multidisciplinary)
ERIC (Education)
 
Tip: Many article databases help you draft citations when you print, save or email them. Article databases are not perfect and can make mistakes. ALWAYS double check the citations created by databases against the appropriate style guide.

Key Journals + Magazines

Browse these journals and  professional magazines for current information in your field.

Families in Society [print]
 
Remember many e-journals are licensed by OC Library for student and employee use.  You may be prompted to login to authenticate as an OC user.

Find Periodical Databases

At the Library webpage under FIND choose Articles & E-Resources 
Then under SUBJECT select Human/Social Services in the dropdown menu.

OCtopus (Library Search Engine)

Search OCtopus: Find Books, Articles, & More!

You will also be able to find articles and other e-resources when searching OCtopus, the Library's search engine.

Find journals by title

Search the list of e-journals  

Or search the catalogue for print and e-journal titles

This site is maintained by the librarians of Okanagan College Library.
If you wish to comment on an individual page, please contact that page's author.
If you have a question or comment about Okanagan College Library's LibGuides site as a whole, please contact the site administrator.