Skip to main content Library Home Search OCtopus for Resources Research & Course Guides About the Library Help from the Library Kelowna Library Information Penticton Library Information Salmon Arm Library Information Vernon Library Information Library Home

Human Service Work: Evaluating Websites

This guide will help Human Service Work (HSW) students find research information in the OC Library collection and on the Internet.

CARS CHECKLIST

The CARS Checklist was originally developed at the University of California, San Francisco. 

    Credibility

    Accuracy
    Reasonableness
    Support              

    Evaluate every webpage you
use!

 

CRAP TEST

CRAP TEST

Currency
Reliability
Authority
Purpose/Point of View 

Take time to apply the
CRAP TEST!

Evaluating News

FAKE NEWS

Evaluating Online Information LibGuide  Rivier University (New Hampshire)

"Here is a brief roundup of resources that can help you spot fake, misleading, biased, or poorly reported news, including reports and images shared through social media. You can apply the CRAAP test to any news or social media post, too."

FAKE NEWS


(image source: Politifact.com )

Why Use Databases?

Why Use Databases? The open Internet only holds a small percentage of the information stored online. Using Library sources gives you access to private information such as: Book content / Original, primary, and historical documents / Subscribed content / Copyright protected material

Evaluating Web Sites

Authority

  • Who is the author and/or owner of the site?
  • Does the author have authority and expertise in the area?
  • What is the link's domain, .edu, .gov, or .com?
  • Are references or related links available?

Accuracy

  • Can you verify the information on the site elsewhere?
  • Is there a list of sources or references?
  • Has accuracy been proven through a review process?

Purpose

  • What is the purpose of the information? Is it fact, opinion, selling something?
  • Is there advertising on the site, or is something being sold?

Currency

  • When was the site last updated? Is a copyright date available? 
  • Do the links work?
  • Is the information up to date for your research?

Relevance

  • Is there enough coverage of the topic?  
  • Does the information support the research you have already found?
  • Are links provided to find more information?
  • Have you looked at a variety of sources?

Wikipedia etc.

Wikipedia can be great to find background information! 
 Wikipedia has an absence of accountability, people do not need to verify the truthfulness of the information 

"You see, any user can change any entry, and if enough other users agree with them, it becomes true."
Comedian Stephen Colbert 

The Internet vs. Databases

Examples

Internet

Databases

 Search engines, such as Google, websites Academic Search Premier, PsycINFO

Access 

 Any computer with Internet connection On-campus or off-campus with login

Cost

 Free Free to students, but Library pays subscription & licensing fees

Content by

 Anyone Scholars, professionals, experts, journalists

Content

 Anything and everything, pictures, personal opinions, blogs, articles, etc. Biased or often misleading to change visitors' opinion of site or organization. Full-text articles from reputable publications, often peer reviewed content. Full-text books and book chapters. References or links for related information. 

Appearance

 Personal pages, corporate pages, pages that look reliable but have no affiliation with reputable source, visually appealing pages to distract from content.  Little or no advertising, range of limiters available. Affiliated with reputable source, organization, individual or company. Contact information available. Often uses .org or .gov domains.

Publication

 Anytime by anyone, irregular schedule.

Typically published daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly, or bi-annually. Journal/periodical issues usually identified by volume and/or issue number.

This site is maintained by the librarians of Okanagan College Library.
If you wish to comment on an individual page, please contact that page's author.
If you have a question or comment about Okanagan College Library's LibGuides site as a whole, please contact the site administrator.