LibGuides: Animation: Streaming Video

Searching for Streaming Video and DVDs

At Okanagan College Library, we use OCtopus to search for library materials. You can start your search here: okanagan.bc.ca/library

Combine keywords related to your area of interest.

For example:

Animation or Animated or Anime	"Musical Films"
"Animated Films"	"Streaming Video"
"Feature Films"	Theme: e.g. mystery, family, comedy, fantasy, history, robots

Search result example for search terms: robot AND "animated film*" and using limiter Catalog Only (Books & Media)

Search Tips:

Use quotation marks to search for a phrase (e.g. "Character Development").
Use an asterisk to search for words with the same stem (e.g. Animat* retrieves Animate, Animated, Animating, Animation, Animator).

Want to restrict your search to DVDs or Media? Once you have performed your search you can use the limiters in the "Refine Results" column to the left of your search results. There are a couple of limiters that you can use:

Limit To: select "Catalog Only (Books & Media)"
Resource Types: select "Video"

Animation students can request to pick up books or DVDs at the Innovation Centre by emailing libraryref@okanagan.bc.ca and including:

300xxxxxx student number
the item's title and call number (e.g. WALL-E, PN 1995.9 .F36 W3554 2008 DVD)
that you are an Animation student and would like to pick up the item(s) at the Innovation Centre

OC Databases with Streaming Video

Audio Cine Films This link opens in a new window
Includes movies from studios such as DreamWorks Animation, Walt Disney Studios, Sony Pictures Animation, Pixar Animation. Cannot search for "animation" as a subject area. Try filtering by "Family".
Studios: NBC Universal Studios, Sony Pictures Entertainment, Lionsgate Studios, DreamWorks Animation, Walt Disney Studios, Marvel Studios, Illumination Entertainment, MGM Studios, Sony Pictures Animation, Pixar Animation, Columbia Pictures, and Tri-Star Pictures.
Search for listings and titles using the quick search or advanced search. Results are displayed alphabetically and can be exported to PDF format.

Curio.ca
Provides streaming access to the best in educational content from CBC and Radio-Canada. Link takes you to Animated shorts from CBC Animation.

Criterion-on-Demand This link opens in a new window
Represents a large number of feature film producers, including, but not limited to: 20th Century Fox, Fox Searchlight, Paramount Pictures, Paramount Vantage, DreamWorks SKG, Mongrel Media, Sony Pictures Classics, Alliance Films, Miramax Films, Warner Brothers, Lionsgate Films, The Weinstein Company, as well as a smaller number of independent producers. Select the category "Animated".
As a digital and online delivery feature film platform. Criterion-on-Demand represents a large number of feature film producers, including, but not limited to: 20th Century Fox, Fox Searchlight, Paramount Pictures, Paramount Vantage, DreamWorks SKG, Mongrel Media, Sony Pictures Classics, Alliance Films, Miramax Films, Warner Brothers, Lionsgate Films, The Weinstein Company, as well as a smaller number of independent producers. The title selection includes 1920 classics, new releases, foreign films, literary adaptations, documentaries, animated titles, and independent films. 1500+ English titles and 1100+ French titles Approximately 135 Foreign Language Films with English Subtitles More than 100 Documentary Features Closed Captioned Titles when Available Streaming Capabilities with unlimited 24-7 Access.

Kanopy
Online video streaming service distributing films from BBC, PBS, Media Education Foundation, and many others. Provides an excellent selection of classic and contemporary educational documentaries and theatrical films. Link takes you to search results for Animation.
National Film Board of Canada
Watch hundreds of NFB films online, including documentaries, animation and alternative dramas. Link takes you to Animation category.

Online Resources

Film Chest Vintage Cartoons
Watch classic animated cartoons from the 1930's and 1940's! These cartoons are from the Film Chest collection, a leading source of film and video programming and stock footage. All these cartoons have been transferred from original 35 film prints and digitally remastered. The collection includes classics such as Bugs Bunny, Woody Woodpecker, Popeye, Porky Pig, The Three Stooges, and others.
Vimeo
The best animated craft, style and character design on Vimeo.