Skip to Main Content

Practical Nursing

Key Resources

The Library's search engine OCtopus simultaneously searches for books, media, journal articles, and other resources in many of the Library's databases. It's a good place to start your research.

Textbooks & Books

Nursing Leadership, Management, and Professional Practice for the LPN/LVN by Tamara R. Dahlkemper
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9781719641487
Publication Date: 2021
Journey Across the Life Span by Elaine U. Polan; Daphne R. Taylor
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9781719645911
Publication Date: 2023
Medical-Surgical Nursing in Canada (4th ed.) by Sharon L. Lewis; Shannon Ruff Dirksen; Margaret M. Heitkemper; Linda Bucher; Maureen A. Barry (Editor); Sandra Goldsworthy (Editor); Jana Lok (Editor); Jane Tyerman (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781771720489
Publication Date: 2018
*Limited to 12 simultaneous users
Required textbook for PNSG courses, freely available online through the Library.
Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing and Health Professions
(10th ed.) 2017. EBSCO copy has 3 user limit. Access through eBook Central for additional 4 user copies: click here.
Davis's Canadian Drug Guide for Nurses, 18th ed. by April Hazard Vallerand; Cynthia A. Sanoski
Call Number: ONLINE
ISBN: 9780803669468
Publication Date: 2022
Required textbook for PNSG. Freely available to you in electronic format.

Databases & Online Resources

Taylor's Video Guide to Clinical Nursing Skills Streaming video series. Module 1. Vital signs Module 2. Physical assessment Module 3. Asepsis Module 4. Oral and topical medications Module 5. Injectable medications
More about this database...less...
Module 6. Intravenous medications
Module 7. Perioperative nursing
Module 8. Hygiene
Module 9. Skin integrity and wound care (44 min.) ; Module 10. Activity (48 min.) ; Module 11. Comfort (22 min.) ; Module 12. Nutrition (30 min.) ; Module 13. Urinary elimination (30 min.) ; Module 14. Urinary catheters (42 min.) ; Module 15. Bowel elimination (25 min.) ; Module 16. Oxygenation (23 min.) ; Module 17. Tracheostomy care (41 min.) ; Module 18. Intravenous therapy (56 min.) ; Module 19. Central venous access devices (29 min.).

CPS Full Access This link opens in a new window
Online version of the Compendium of Pharmaceuticals and Specialties (CPS). Also includes CTC Compendium of Therapeutic Choices, CTMA Compendium of Therapeutics for Minor Ailments, and CPMA Compendium of Products for Minor Ailments.
The online version of the CPS (Compendium of Pharmaceuticals and Specialties) contains information on commonly used drug products available in Canada. e-CPS is one of Canada's most authoritative sources for prescription and OTC drug information, providing information on drug pharmacology, pharmacokinetics, indications, contraindications, warnings, precautions, adverse effects and dosage. Also included are the latest drug updates, clinical tools, directories, and a product identification tool.
Elsevier Clinical Skills (formerly Mosby's Skills) This link opens in a new window
1200+ evidence-based skills and procedures together with with competency management functionality.
Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
Information about diseases and conditions, evidence-based care sheets, content on nursing best practices and skills, robust drug information, and videos and images to aid in patient care. Download the Nursing Reference Center Plus app for mobile access.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive nursing & allied health research database, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL.

This site is maintained by the librarians of Okanagan College Library.
If you wish to comment on an individual page, please contact that page's author.
If you have a question or comment about Okanagan College Library's LibGuides site as a whole, please contact the site administrator.