Library Home Search OCtopus for Resources Research & Course Guides About the Library Help from the Library Kelowna Library Information Penticton Library Information Salmon Arm Library Information Vernon Library Information Library Home

Copyright Guidelines

For clarification of a specific copyright-related question or answers to questions not covered by this guide, please contact:
 
Okanagan College Copyright Officer:
Ross Tyner
Director of Library Services
Local 4665
 
Lindsay Willson
Public Services/Business Liaison Librarian
Local 4624
 
Or contact

What is a course reserve?

Can I put copies of print materials on course reserve?

Can I put electronic materials on course reserve?

Can I or my students photocopy items from the Library's collection?

Can I scan items from the Library's collection?


What is a course reserve?

Upon request, the Library will place materials on course reserve for reduced loan periods to maximize access for students. Examples of course reserve materials include complete books from the Library collections, instructors' books, articles, and copies of articles and portions of books. Loan periods range from 2 hours to 1 week. Copyright and licensing conditions apply copies that are considered for course reserve. Learn more about OC Library's course reserve service here.

 

Can I put copies of print materials on course reserve?

Copies of print materials can be placed on course reserve as long as they meet the Act's fair dealing exception, or are covered by the College's license with Access Copyright.

 

Can I put electronic materials on course reserve?

Where licenses permit, the Library can create a Reserve record in its online catalogue that contains a link to an article or other item contained within a licensed database or collection of materials. It is not currently possible for the Library to store digital items locally and place them on Reserve. If you want to place an article retrieved from a Library database on Reserve, you must ensure that database licence allows for such use. For more information and to learn how to appropriately use articles retrieved from a Library database, visit the Licensing section of this guide.

 

Can I or my students photocopy items from the Library's collection?

Items from the Library's collection can be photocopied as long as you meet the Act's fair dealing exception, or the Access Copyright licensing  conditions.

 

Can I scan items in the Library's collection?

Items from the Library's collection can be scanned as long as you meet the Act's fair dealing exception, or the Access Copyright licensing  conditions.

Return to top

This site is maintained by the librarians of Okanagan College Library.
If you wish to comment on an individual page, please contact that page's author.
If you have a question or comment about Okanagan College Library's LibGuides site as a whole, please contact the site administrator.