This is the "Home" page of the "Indigenous Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Okanagan College Home Library Home Library Home About the Library Search Research Guides Help Kelowna Library Penticton Library Salmon Arm Library Vernon Library

Indigenous Studies  

Research help & resources
Last Updated: Jan 18, 2012 URL: http://libguides.okanagan.bc.ca/indigenous Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Aboriginal Research Resources in the Okanagan College Library

This page contains valuable information related to research that focuses on Aboriginal populations. The 2 following databases can be found on the Okanagan College Library webpage under "Find Articles".


Key Resources:

First Nations Periodical Index

The First Nations Periodical Index (FNPI) contains citations for newspaper, magazine, and journal articles with a Canadian First Nations focus. Some articles are full text. The periodicals it indexes are:

Aboriginal Voices
Alberta Sweetgrass
American Indian Culture and Research Journal
American Indian Quarterly
Arctic
Ayaangwaamizin
Canadian Journal of Native Education
Canadian Journal of Native Studies
Etudes Inuit Studies
First Nations Free Press
First Nations Gazette
Journal of Indigenous Studies
Native Social Work Journal
Native Studies Review
Native Youth News
The Northerner
Saskatchewan History
Saskatchewan Indian
Saskatchewan Indian Federated College Journal
Saskatchewan Sage


If articles are not full text they can be requested through the Interlibrary Loan Form available on the library webpage or ask a librarian for help.

It also has links to: Native Web, the Aboriginal Multi-Media Society and Purich Publishing Limited (based in Saskatchewan and specializing in Aboriginal Western Canadian issues) to name just a few. These sites have further links to newspapers, newsletters, ordering books and a lot more.

There is a wealth of information in this database and in the hundreds of links available through it.


Bibliography of Native North Americans

The Bibliography of Native North Americans indexes over 100,000 items, inlcuding books, newspapers, magazine and journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. Some items are full text.

Users can limit a search in numerous ways by: date, newspaper, journal, subject, cover story...to full text and more. The material included ranges from the sixteenth century to present day and inlcudes all aspects of Native North American life.

If articles are not full text they can be request through the Interlibrary Loan Form available on the library webpage or ask a librarian for help.

This is an easy to use database, particularly for finding very specific information on a topic.


Did you know you have a number of librarian devoted to helping students? Taryn Schmid, Reference Librarian, Kalamalka and Salmon Arm Campuses, is available if you have any questions about library services or these databases. You can contact Taryn at tschmid@okanagan.bc.ca or you can drop by the Library.

 

Get Help Now!

Contact an OC Librarian


 By E-Mail By Phone  In Person  Contact a librarian online

 

 

Chat with a Librarian


 

Chat online with a librarian and find answers to your questions.

AskAway

AskAway hours:
Sunday-Thursday 10 a.m - 9 p.m.
Friday & Saturday 11 a.m. - 5 p.m.

 

This site is maintained by the librarians of Okanagan College Library.
If you wish to comment on an individual page, please contact that page's author.
If you have a question or comment about Okanagan College Library's LibGuides site as a whole, please contact the site administrator.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip