Skip to main content Library Home Search OCtopus for Resources Research & Course Guides About the Library Help from the Library Kelowna Library Information Penticton Library Information Salmon Arm Library Information Vernon Library Information Library Home

Local Interest Collection: Welcome

Information about the resources within Okanagan College Library's Local Interest Collection and how to access this collection.

Okanagan College Library selects and acquires materials relating to the people and communities of the Okanagan/Similkameen/Shuswap region to preserve and make available the local historical record.

This includes materials about the region, materials by faculty of Okanagan College, annual reports of local and BC businesses, magazines and newspapers of local historic importance, and maps of BC. See About the Collection for further information.


The Local Interest Collection is open to OC students, staff, and faculty, as well as members of the community. Make an appointment or come by the library to access the collection.


This collection is located in the Kelowna Campus Library (building L on the map). It is behind the Research Help Desk on the 2nd floor in room L200. To access the collection, you will need to check in at the Circulation Desk, which is immediately to your right upon entering the library. See Accessing the Collection above for more information.


Inside the space, you will also find our microform reader, which is used to view copies of newspapers and other materials stored on microfilm.


Read the Local Interest Collection Policy here.


 

View of library building from outside

The books of the collection

The periodicals of the collection

The slips inside the book contain the call number, rather than putting a sticker on the spines

Some of the older books

Okanagan College's past calendars

Microform shelving

Microform rolls

The microform reader and computer

OUC Students' Association newspaper, 1989-2005

One of the many magazines in the collection, Canada West

Using This Guide

Okanagan College students, staff, and alumni may be familiar with LibGuides, or online library guides with research help. If you are a member of the community, or have never used one of these guides before, you can follow the tabs at the top of the page to access the information about the Local Interest Collection. You will encounter PDFs, interactive slideshows, links to library databases, and more. If you have any questions about the material in this guide or about the collection, feel free to contact us and ask!

In This Guide:

About the Collection: A brief overview of what types of materials and information you can find in the Local Interest Collection.

Accessing the Collection: How you can go about visiting the collection and rules and guidelines for its use.

Researching in the Special Collection: How to find the materials you want online so you are prepared for your research.

Featured Items: Some examples of items you can find in the collection.

Donation Information: Have an item for us? Check here to learn more.

Contact: some key people to get in touch with for more information.

This site is maintained by the librarians of Okanagan College Library.
If you wish to comment on an individual page, please contact that page's author.
If you have a question or comment about Okanagan College Library's LibGuides site as a whole, please contact the site administrator.