Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Anthropology

This guide is an introduction to resources and research tips that may be helpful to students in Anthropology courses at Okanagan College http://libguides.okanagan.bc.ca/anthropology

WELCOME

Welcome to the LibGuide for Anthropology https://libguides.okanagan.bc.ca/Anthropology
This guide will help familiarize you with finding, evaluating, and citing relevant research results for your course work in anthropology and archaeology. 

NEED HELP?  For additional research assistance:

> Please contact Estelle Frank (Anthropology liaison librarian) by email: efrank@okanagan.bc.ca
> Book an appointment
> ASKAWAY Live Chat  

.

ANTH 103-3-3
Introduction to Archaeology

The material in this course examines what archaeologists do, as well as how and why they do it. Archaeological techniques such as stratigraphy, sampling, dating, and excavation are defined and their applications investigated. Discussions will include the importance of the past to the modern world, recognition of different stakeholder’s viewpoints, and the ethics of preserving and studying archaeological remains. (3,0,0)

ANTH 111-3-3
Introduction to Biological Anthropology

The basic concepts and ideas in biological anthropology are covered in a survey of evolutionary theory, genetics, non-human primates, and their behavior, hominin evolution, population dynamics and variations, medical anthropology, and the evolution of human behavior. This course includes the application of anthropological analysis, concepts, and theories, and evaluation of different theoretical approaches and interpretations. (3,0,0)

 

ANTH 121-3-3
Introduction to Cultural Anthropology

This course is an overview of cultural anthropology and its specializations. Examples, drawn from around the world, illustrate the diversity, similarities, and differences existing in gender, kinship and marriage, and social, economic, political, and religious systems. The methods, theories, and empirical findings discussed and examined will lead to a greater understanding of our own cultural background from a comparative perspective.

REQUIRED TEXTS

Perspectives: An Open Invitation to Cultural Anthropology Edited by Nina Brown, Laura Tubelle de González, and Thomas McIlwraith

Small Places, Large Issues: An Introduction to Social and Cultural Anthropology, Eriksen, Thomas Hylland.

ANTH 170-3-3
Introduction to Linguistic Anthropology

Verbal and nonverbal communication systems are explored, with an emphasis on the variety which exists in human cultures. Analytical tools used by linguistic anthropologists to document and study languages will be introduced. The impact of colonialism on traditional languages, language loss, and revitalization will lead to critical analysis of what happens when cultures come into contact with one another. (3,0,0)

ANTH 227-3-3
Culture, Health and Illness

This course is an introduction to the discipline of Medical Anthropology and provides an overview into the relationship of ecology, evolution, biology, and culture as each contributes to issues such as what it means to be healthy, why people become ill, and how people respond to sickness and disease. The course examines health as a human adaptation to the environment. (3,0,0)

Prerequisites: ANTH 121

ANTH 230-3-3
Anthropology of Art

This course provides an introduction to the anthropological study of visual arts, including pictorial and sculptural arts, verbal arts, music, dance and theatre. Through lectures, discussions and films, students will be introduced to the forms and meanings of art across a wide variety of cultures. (3,0,0)

Prerequisites: ANTH 121

ANTH 245-3-3
Culture and the Environment

This course addresses contemporary and historical environmental issues arising from the relationship of human societies to the physical landscapes in which they live. Foraging adaptations, agriculture, fishing, trade, industrialization, urbanization, tourism, conservation and biotechnology are examined in their global and local contexts. Environmentalism is examined as a global social movement. (3,0,0)

Prerequisites: ANTH 121

ANTH 251-3-3
World Prehistory

This is a general-interest survey course of the peoples and cultures of prehistory. Topics include the Paleolithic, Mesolithic, and Neolithic as well as the dispersal of humans over the world and resultant cultural diversity. The course concludes with the transition to civilization at the emergence of state level societies. (3,0,0)

Prerequisites: ANTH 103

Resources

Background Sources - lists resource like encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks that are often online and can help you find lots of background information - facts, definitions, overview articles etc. (that can be especially helpful when you are learning about a new topic)

Books - lists eBooks and print books about Anthropology

Articles - lists databases where you can search for articles in your field and tips for searching for articles in these databases and also in OCtopus

Media - lists relevant videos and ways to access streaming video

Evaluating sources - provides some helpful information about how to identify scholarly resources

Citation - points you to the rules for Chicago Manual of Stle (Author-Date system) 

To find resources go to the Okanagan College Library webpage and start your search.  
You can also scroll down to the FIND RESOURCES heading  on the Library Webpage for more databases and e-journals.  

This site is maintained by the librarians of Okanagan College Library.
If you wish to comment on an individual page, please contact that page's author.
If you have a question or comment about Okanagan College Library's LibGuides site as a whole, please contact the site administrator.