It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
List of Research Databases by Name (A-Z)
Find the best library databases for your research.
New & Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Brings together two methodological streams: Indigenous methodologies and participatory methodologies. The aim is to promote and expand the field of Collaborative Indigenous Research. Functions like a virtual community archive, showcasing examples of participatory Indigenous research which novice and experienced researchers alike will be able to access and learn from.
Under the research tab, you will find profiles highlighting collaborative Indigenous research projects. Each profile includes a short abstract of the project as well as demographic information about the project such as locations, authors, years and related disciplines. Beyond this basic information, each profile also contains notes about the methodological and ethical frameworks of the project, the theory of change, the kinds of evidence and knowledge mobilization, as well as significant quotes.
Alternate Name(s):Statistics Canada Rich Data Services
Statistics Canada’s analytical platform for Public Use Microdata files (PUMFs) and their metadata. The Explorer and Tabulation Engine's interfaces allow users to easily browse, interact, and download data and metadata for online or offline analysis.
This platform is currently in beta and more PUMP files will continue be added and functionalities improved as more users try it out and provide feedback. OC users are welcome to send their feedback to the data & statistics subject librarian, Can Li.
InterLibrary Loan: Not specified in licence
Walk-in access: Allowed
Remote access: Allowed
Inclusion in Course Packs: Allowed
Post to Moodle/LMS: Allowed
Confidentiality: Not specified in licence
Fair Dealing: Allowed
Perpetual Access: Not specified in licence
Linking through Talis: Allowed
Popular & featured databases recommended by the Library
A comprehensive streaming video collection. More than 62,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Curated for the educational experience with in-depth content such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc.
More information on this resource can be found here: http://proquest.libguides.com/academicvideoonline
Streaming access to almost 800 popular and classic movies. All videos have Public Performance Rights and can be legally shown in a college setting or viewed from home. Titles are available in HD multi-lingual streaming formats. Requested movies may be added if available, contact your liaison librarian to request titles. Click 'more' to see the full list of studios covered. Chrome browser is recommended for viewing. Swank Media Player is required for viewing on mobile devices (free through app store).
Studios: NBC Universal Studios, Sony Pictures Entertainment, Lionsgate Studios, DreamWorks Animation, Walt Disney Studios, Marvel Studios, Illumination Entertainment, MGM Studios, Sony Pictures Animation, Pixar Animation, Columbia Pictures, and Tri-Star Pictures.
Search for listings and titles using the quick search or advanced search. Results are displayed alphabetically and can be exported to PDF format.
Coverage from 1985-Present. Articles from the major Canadian newspapers including the National Post, the Globe & Mail, Times Colonist, Montreal Gazette, and the Vancouver Sun. Usually a 2-7 day delay in newspaper article updates.
This database will time-out after 30 minutes of inactivity. To avoid losing your research, please save your results within that time period. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity.
Online video streaming service distributing films from BBC, PBS, Media Education Foundation, and many others. Provides an excellent selection of classic and contemporary educational documentaries and theatrical films.
Kanopy was founded in 2007 with a single-minded idea: to change the way students learn through the power of film, while generating a sustainable economy for filmmakers. Kanopy is an aggregator of video content between filmmakers and academic libraries.
Okanagan College Library respectfully acknowledges that our Penticton, Kelowna and Vernon campuses are located on the unceded territory of the Syilx Okanagan people, and our Salmon Arm campus is located on the unceded territory of the Secwepemc people.
We thankfully acknowledge meeting and learning together on their territory. Powered by Springshare. All rights reserved.
This site is maintained by the librarians of Okanagan College Library. If you wish to comment on an individual page, please contact that page's author. If you have a question or comment about Okanagan College Library's LibGuides site as a whole, please contact the site administrator.