It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
List of Research Databases by Name (A-Z)
Find the best library databases for your research.
New & Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Search over numerous datasets and reconstruct the lives of people involved in the historical slave trade. Browse interconnected data, generate visualizations, and explore short biographies of enslaved and freed peoples.
The primary focus of Enslaved.org is people—individuals who were enslaved, owned slaves, were connected to the slave trade, and worked to emancipate slaves. Read short biographical sketches about people associated with the historical slave trade–both prominent figures and also those lesser known. Presents the variety and scope of the lives of the enslaved through interactive, narrative biographies, written for student and general audiences. Enslaved.org is building an inclusive community of researchers and scholarly communications informed and guided by the principles of an ethical, anti-racist approach to the peoples of the historical slave trade and their descendants.
There are two components to the HBP Student Success Package: Core Curriculum (76 Core Curriculum Readings cover entrepreneurship, finance, accounting, marketing, operations management, organizational behavior and strategy) & HBS Select Case Study Collection (2,000+ Harvard Business School case studies provide immersive real-world scenarios and commentary to help students examine issues related to the dynamics of business).
Provides access to news and business periodicals, company information, and law reviews.
Access over 10,000 news, business, and legal sources. The outstanding news coverage includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources. Nexis UNI also contains all the content of Quicklaw Core.
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage:1894 - 2010.
Current Province newspaper access can be found through this link (1 day delay).
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Content from 1993 - current (1 day delay) is available here.
InterLibrary Loan: Allowed
Walk-in access: Allowed
Remote access: Allowed
Inclusion in Course Packs: Allowed
Post to Moodle/LMS: Allowed
Confidentiality: Not specified in licence
Fair Dealing: Allowed
Perpetual Access: Allowed
Linking through Talis: Allowed
Popular & featured databases recommended by the Library
A comprehensive streaming video collection. More than 62,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Curated for the educational experience with in-depth content such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc.
More information on this resource can be found here: http://proquest.libguides.com/academicvideoonline
Streaming access to almost 800 popular and classic movies. All videos have Public Performance Rights and can be legally shown in a college setting or viewed from home. Titles are available in HD multi-lingual streaming formats. Requested movies may be added if available, contact your liaison librarian to request titles. Click 'more' to see the full list of studios covered. Chrome browser is recommended for viewing. Swank Media Player is required for viewing on mobile devices (free through app store).
Studios: NBC Universal Studios, Sony Pictures Entertainment, Lionsgate Studios, DreamWorks Animation, Walt Disney Studios, Marvel Studios, Illumination Entertainment, MGM Studios, Sony Pictures Animation, Pixar Animation, Columbia Pictures, and Tri-Star Pictures.
Search for listings and titles using the quick search or advanced search. Results are displayed alphabetically and can be exported to PDF format.
Coverage from 1985-Present. Articles from the major Canadian newspapers including the National Post, the Globe & Mail, Times Colonist, Montreal Gazette, and the Vancouver Sun. Usually a 2-7 day delay in newspaper article updates.
This database will time-out after 30 minutes of inactivity. To avoid losing your research, please save your results within that time period. Browsing/marking results does not constitute activity.
Online video streaming service distributing films from BBC, PBS, Media Education Foundation, and many others. Provides an excellent selection of classic and contemporary educational documentaries and theatrical films.
Kanopy was founded in 2007 with a single-minded idea: to change the way students learn through the power of film, while generating a sustainable economy for filmmakers. Kanopy is an aggregator of video content between filmmakers and academic libraries.
Okanagan College Library respectfully acknowledges that our Penticton, Kelowna and Vernon campuses are located on the unceded territory of the Syilx Okanagan people, and our Salmon Arm campus is located on the unceded territory of the Secwepemc people.
We thankfully acknowledge meeting and learning together on their territory. Powered by Springshare. All rights reserved.
This site is maintained by the librarians of Okanagan College Library. If you wish to comment on an individual page, please contact that page's author. If you have a question or comment about Okanagan College Library's LibGuides site as a whole, please contact the site administrator.