Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Careers

A brief guide to library technician and librarian education and careers.

What does a Library Technician do?

"Library and archive technicians and assistants help users to access library and archive resources, do records management, processing and storage, assist in describing new acquisitions, do archive processing and storage and provide general support for client information needs.

Library technicians and archive technicians are two distinct occupations. In addition to the duties described above, library technicians also help users with interlibrary loans and online reference searches, as well processing the checkout and return of books and other library materials. Archive technicians also assist archivists in a number of other professional capacities."

Library technicians often work in public and special libraries, including libraries of schools, colleges, universities, law firms, and medical offices.

Archive technicians and assistants work in the documentation centres of municipal, provincial and federal departments.

Library and Public Archive Technicians (WorkBC)

Titles/positions include:

  • Cataloguing technician
  • Acquisitions technician
  • Bibliographic services technician
  • Public services/circulation technician
  • Library clerk
  • Library assistant

Other common job titles include: reference assistant, customer service assistant, archives technician, archives assistant, and records management clerk.

 

For more information check this website Library and Public Archive Technicians (WorkBC) :

Duties

Work environment

Work-related skills

Earnings and Outlook (BC)

Insights from industry

Career Paths and Resources

 

 

How do I become a Library Technician?

Typically, you will complete a two-year diploma program at a post-secondary institution (see links below to programs). To be eligible to apply to a library technician program, you will need a high school diploma or equivalent, at minimum. See individual post-secondary institution Library and Information Technology (LIT) program websites for detailed admission requirements and notes.

This site is maintained by the librarians of Okanagan College Library.
If you wish to comment on an individual page, please contact that page's author.
If you have a question or comment about Okanagan College Library's LibGuides site as a whole, please contact the site administrator.