Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Resource Guide for Literacy Tutors at Okanagan College

Finding reference sources

Find online reference sources at the Library webpage under FIND:
           Click on:  Reference (Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, etc.)

Then:  Go to NARROW YOUR SEARCH in the right hand column
          (Note: you may have to look through the drop-down menu) .

Then:  ADD A SUBJECT by choosing a subject that best defines
           your subject area such as:    SCIENCES or SOCIOLOGY or...

You may also use Okanagan College Library's new SEARCH ENGINE which will include in your search not only reference materials but also books, media, selected periodical databases in one go!

Online Reference Sources - General

Canadian Encyclopedia    The Canadian Encyclopedia comprises the complete text and multimedia of the indispensable reference work originally published in 1985. Since the encyclopedia appeared online in 2001, it has been continuously updated and expanded. James H. Marsh has been editor in chief of The Canadian Encyclopedia since 1980.

Encyclopedia of British Columbia  All Subjects; British Columbia (B.C.) focus; More than 4,000 articles on British Columbia including historic photographs, statistics, maps, tables, charts & diagrams, sound clips, video clips and website links.

Oxford English Dictionary  The OED online provides definitions and historical & etymological analysis on english language words. Also includes variant spellings and phonetic pronunciations.

Oxford Reference Online  General/All subjects; A variety of full-text online reference works including dictionaries, encyclopedias & handbooks.

Reference Sources for English Literature - Print Format

To find relevant print reference sources in the library ASK YOUR LIBRARIAN for assistance.

Canadian Oxford dictionary
edited by Katherine Barber.
Electronic-check Voyager              
PE 3235 .C36 2004            KVSP

Critical Terms for Literary Study.
Edited by F. Lentricchia & T.McLaughlin.                        
PN 81 .C84 1995                 VS

A dictionary of literary terms
J. A. Cuddon
PN 41 .C83 1982                 SA

Encyclopedia of Contemporary Literary Theory: Approaches, Scholars, Terms.
IR Makaryk
PN 81 .E43 1993                 VSP

A Glossary of Literary Terms
by M. H. Abrams.                                                                
PN 41.A2 2011                 KVSP

A Handbook to Literature.
C. Hugh Holman and William Harmon                                         
PN 41 .H355 2003            KVSP

The new Fowler’s modern English usage
First edited by H.W. Fowler.                              
PE 1628 .F65 1996             KVSP

Pocket Fowler's Modern English Usage .
Electronic-check Voyager

The Oxford dictionary of allusions
Delahunty, Dignen, and Stock.                                        
PE 1580 .D45 2001            KVSP

Oxford dictionary of current English /                                                                                              
PE 1628 .O867 2006          VS

The Penguin Dictionary of Critical Theory.
David Macey,  2000                                           
PN 44.5 .M27 2001             VS

“Note: the terminology and the definitions have different emphases in each book, so it is useful to examine multiple definitions, to consider differences and to corroborate information.”  (McLuckie) 

This site is maintained by the librarians of Okanagan College Library.
If you wish to comment on an individual page, please contact that page's author.
If you have a question or comment about Okanagan College Library's LibGuides site as a whole, please contact the site administrator.