Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Resource Guide for Literacy Tutors at Okanagan College

How do I find articles databases for any topic?

To search specifically for periodical articles on any subject:

   
Go to the Library Homepage and under FIND click on:
    ARTICLES 
(Journals, Newspapers, Magazines) 

Then select the subject area relevant to your topic in the drop down menu and then hit BROWSE

You may also use Okanagan College Library's new SEARCH ENGINE which will allow you to search for books, media, reference materials, and select periodical databases in one go.

How do I find articles databases for English Literature as an example?

To search specifically for periodical articles on ENGLISH LITERATURE:

    G
o to the Library Homepage and under FIND click on:
    ARTICLES 
(Journals, Newspapers, Magazines) 

Then select ENGLISH and hit BROWSE

You may also use Okanagan College Library's new SEARCH ENGINE which will allow you to search for books, media, reference materials, and select periodical databases in one go.

Periodical Article Databases - English Literature

Top article databases for finding newspapers, magazines, and journals for literature studies.

Academic Search Premier - EBSCOhost
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for a multitude of journals, including many which are peer-reviewed.
CONNECT 

Offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Covers the subjects of language, literature, literary theory and criticism, linguistics, printing and publishing.
Contains biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines
Coverage of words from across the English speaking world. Provides etymological analysis, variant spellings, and pronunciation using the International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA).
  

Other Resources

This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for a multitude of journals, including many which are peer-reviewed.
 
This dictionary combines coverage of international English with information on English as it is particularly used in Canada.
 
A comprehensive Canadian database covering current events, policy, business, social issues, science, the arts, and Canadian academic information
 
Indexing and access to articles and reference sources from a comprehensive list of Canadian journals and resources.
 
Ebrary is a collection of thousands of online full text books and other materials in a variety of subject areas.
 
Online access to numerous encyclopedias (e-books), handbooks, dictionaries, almanacs, and manuals.
 
Master index to the Gale biographical & critical series.
 
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.
 
Citations for 400 popular and scholarly journals
 
A multi-disciplinary database of archived scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
 
A series of literary criticism titles representing a range of views on authors and their works. Includes literary commentary from a wide range of sources.
 
Access to collections of e-books
 
Online dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks & other reference works in subjects areas such as science, nursing, psychology, sociology and other social sciences, business and languages
 
Citations and abstracts for over 190 scholarly journals published by OUP, covering the fields of science, technical, professional, medical, humanities, arts and social sciences.
 
A comprehensive selection of arts, humanities and social sciences journals.
 
Citations and abstracts for 300+ popular magazines and book reviews.
 
An introduction to film and film studies, covering such aspects as production, national traditions, studios, genres, critical theory and film history.
 
More than 2,700 signed essays ranging from 500 to 2,500 words, written by subject experts.

This site is maintained by the librarians of Okanagan College Library.
If you wish to comment on an individual page, please contact that page's author.
If you have a question or comment about Okanagan College Library's LibGuides site as a whole, please contact the site administrator.