Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

E-Books at Okanagan College

Database FAQ

What Database am I in?

If you got to the database by following a link on the library website, like the ones in the A-Z Database List, the name of the link is the name of the database. If you're not sure how you got there, you can usually find out which database you are in by checking the top left corner of the page. Check out the examples to the right.

Is OCtopus a Database?

OCtopus is a Discovery Service; it searches the different databases for you, and gives you a list of results that come from the individual databases. While it will search most of the databases that the library has access to, some are not included. The name of the database that the item (article, e-book, etc.) came from is provided on the item's page.

What do names like EBSCOhost and ProQuest mean?

EBSCOhost and ProQuest are examples of database platforms. These are the companies that provide access to the databases. This is why several databases have the same look and feel; for example, Academic Search Complete and CINAHL are both provided by EBSCOhost so they look very similar.

This site is maintained by the librarians of Okanagan College Library.
If you wish to comment on an individual page, please contact that page's author.
If you have a question or comment about Okanagan College Library's LibGuides site as a whole, please contact the site administrator.