Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Therapist Assistant

This guide will help Therapist Assistant students find research information in the OC Library collections and on the Internet.

OC Alumni

Okanagan College Alumni Library Card

An Okanagan College  Alumni Library Card allows in-person borrowing of many print materials as well as renewals and requests. Go to the OC Alumni website and complete an email request for an Alumni Library Card. The Alumni office will contact you when your Library card is ready for pickup on the campus you selected.  Your card can be renewed annually at any OC campus library.  Your Alumni Library card is free.

Your OC Alumni Library card gives you these privileges including loans of circulating books from the OC Library campus collections as well as online renewals.   Books can be requested from any OC campus library.  

You can also request help from OC research librarians. 

Please continue to use this Therapist Assistant LibGuide as it is updated frequently by the TAD librarian.

Alumni borrower privileges do not provide off-campus access to Library databases.  You can search the OCtopus search engine off-campus and obtain a list of references, although not the full-text as linked. Many OC Library licensed resources including those in results from the OCtopus search engine can be used and full-text accessed in-person on-campus. Ask for help as below with guest access in the Library.

For more information call an OC campus library:

Kelowna 250-862-5452
Penticton 250-490-3951
Salmon Arm 250-804-8851
Vernon 250-503-2654         

Other College & University Libraries

Some BC college and university libraries provide Community Borrower privileges.   Many charge a fee for these borrowing privileges.  Also ask about in-library guest login to computers and on-site database access.

Students registered at BC public college or university may request a free community borrower card at most BC public post-secondary libraries.  Refer to the Council of Post-Secondary Library Directors (CPSLD) webpage on reciprocal borrowing for a list of participating libraries.  Access may allow in-library computer usage and in-library guest access to databases.  

Note: Most BC academic libraries have a discovery-style search engine like OCtopus (e.g. UBC Summon) that can be readily searched on their library websites, for access to research literature references. Then full-text will need to be sourced by other means.

Health Authority Libraries

Most British Columbia Health Authorities provide Library services for their employees. These services often include online access to licensed databases such as CINAHL, Medline, PsycINFO, Evidence Based Medicine Reviews and other resources.

 

Interior Health Authority (IHA)

IHA employees can apply for a password to access the Interior Health Authority 'Library services for physicians and staff'

IHA Library also provides open access links to reliable sources of 'Information for patients'.

Start at the Your Health tab then on left menu, click Health Library: two options

- for Patients (Patient Health Library)

- for Health Professionals  (Library Services)        Find the library near you and the hours of operations.


Check for Library services at other BC health authorities:

Fraser Health Authority

Northern Health Authority

Vancouver Coastal Health Authority

Vancouver Island Health

Public Libraries

Many public libraries provide general health information.   BC public libraries may be part of regional library systems such as  Okanagan Regional Library or Cariboo Regional District Library.  Other public libraries are part of a larger library federation including Kootenay Library Federation, North East Library Federation, North Central Library Federation, North Coast Library Federation, IslandLink Library Federation, and Public Library Interlink (Greater Vancouver public libraries). 

Find your closest public library at the provincial government BC Libraries website.

At your home public library, register for a BC OneCard decal so you can use your public library card at any participating public library in BC.  OneCard decals are available from participating BC libraries. You can also return materials to any participating library in BC.

Okanagan Regional Library (ORL)   

free ORL membership gives access to both print borrowing and access to a range of digital resources and services.  Check E-Library page. Librarians can provide information and reference services (including research and inter-library loans) by calling 1-844-649-8127 or emailing help@orl.bc.ca

An ORL Library card can be obtained in-person at any branch or by registering for a card online. You can access online resources from home after setting up your card PIN.  For more information go to the Okanagan Regional Library website.

Penticton Public Library

Serving the municipality of Penticton, this public library is not included in the Okanagan Regional Library system.   For more information and access to digital resources and services go to the Penticton Public Library website.

Websites

Select reliable online health resources from the Websites tab in this LibGuide

Find Articles (Free Databases)

ERIC (Public edition) [Education]

PubMed (Medline) [US National Library of Medicine]

This site is maintained by the librarians of Okanagan College Library.
If you wish to comment on an individual page, please contact that page's author.
If you have a question or comment about Okanagan College Library's LibGuides site as a whole, please contact the site administrator.