Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Gender, Sexuality, & Women's Studies Research Guide

Why Use Databases?

The open Internet only holds a small percentage of the information stored online. Using Library sources gives you access to private information, such as:

  • Book content
  • Original, primary, and historical documents
  • Subscribed content
  • Copyright protected material

Databases

Find the Full-Text

HTML Full Text    PDF Full Text

Many databases contain the entire text (full text) of articles. If you see HTML Full Text or PDF Full Text, click the link to go to the full-text of your article.

Don't forget! Double-check all the citation information you need for referencing (author, title, journal, volume, issue, publication info, etc.) is with the full-text. 

Where Can I Get This?

If you do not see a full-text option, click the Where Can I Get This? link. The system will try to find your article in another OC Library database. If it finds the article, click on the article link for the full-text.

The system may indicate that the journal or magazine is located in OC Library. Print journals or magazines are shelved alphabetically by title in each campus library periodical collection. If the print journal or magazine is not in your campus library or in storage it may be requested.

If your article is not available in full-text from another OC Library database or in the OC Library, you may check for it in other libraries and request it.

InterLibrary Loan

InterLibrary Loans (ILLs) are free for students and employees of OC.  If you cannot get your article using a database, fill out the form and library staff will get it from another library. Articles are usually sent by e-mail.

Google Scholar

Search for journal articles, conference papers, and other scholarly works from a variety of sources. Look for the Where Can I Get This? link to connect directly to the item you want, via the OC Library.

Off-campus OC users must have library links set to "Okanagan College" under Scholar Preferences. Browsers must be set to accept Cookies.

Google Scholar Search

This site is maintained by the librarians of Okanagan College Library.
If you wish to comment on an individual page, please contact that page's author.
If you have a question or comment about Okanagan College Library's LibGuides site as a whole, please contact the site administrator.