LibGuides: Open Education Resources: Sciences

Pathways to an Associate of Science Diploma or Degree

The common requirements of an Associate of Science two-year degree or diploma at all institutions that offer this credential in B.C. have basic requirements that fit most institutions. BCcampus aligned the known OER adoptions to the requirements of the Associate of Science credential to develop the recommendations at the below link.

Pathways to Associate of Science Diploma/Degree through OER
Knowing Home: Braiding Indigenous Science with Western Science, Book 1 Since Indigenous peoples have developed time-proven approaches to sustaining both community and environment, Elders and young people are concerned that this rich legacy of Indigenous Science with its wealth of environmental knowledge and the wisdom of previous generations could disappear if it is not respected, studied and understood by today's children and youth. A perspective where relationships between home place and all other beings that inhabit the earth is vitally important to all residents—both inheritors of ancient Indigenous Knowledge and wisdom, and newcomers who can experience the engagement, joy and promise of science instilled with a sense of place. This book takes a step forward toward preserving and actively using the knowledge, stories, and lessons for today and future generations, and with it a worldview that informs everyday attitudes toward the earth. Knowing Home: Braiding Indigenous Science with Western Science is far more than a set of research papers or curriculum studies. The project outputs include both, but they are incorporated into a theoretical structure that can provide the methodological basis for future efforts that attempt to develop culturally responsive Indigenous Science curricula in home places. It is not just one or two angels to organize, but multiple interwoven approaches and cases that give this project its exceptional importance. Thus, the project outputs have been organized into two books. Book 1 provides an overview of why traditional knowledge and wisdom should be included in the science curriculum, a window into the science and technologies of the Indigenous peoples who live in Northwestern North America, Indigenous worldview, culturally responsive teaching strategies and curriculum models, and evaluative techniques. It is intended that the rich examples and cases, combined with the resources listed in the appendices, will enable teachers and students to explore Indigenous Science examples in the classroom; and in addition, support the development of culturally appropriate curriculum projects.
Knowing Home: Braiding Indigenous Science with Western Science, Book 2 Knowing Home attempts to capture the creative vision of Indigenous scientific knowledge and technology that is derived from an ecology of a home place. The traditional wisdom component of Indigenous Science—the values and ways of decision-making—assists humans in their relationship with each other, the land and water, and all of creation. Indigenous perspectives have the potential to give insight and guidance to the kind of environmental ethics and deep understanding that we must gain as we attempt to solve the increasingly complex problems of the 21st century. This book provides a window into the vast storehouse of innovations and technologies of the Indigenous peoples who live in Northwestern North America. It is our hope that the Indigenous Science examples, research, and curriculum models will inspire deep reflection regarding the under-representation of Aboriginal students in the sciences. It is intended that the rich examples and cases, combined with the resources listed in the appendices, will enable teachers and students to explore Indigenous Science examples in the classroom, and in addition, support the development of curriculum projects in home places.
The Mission, the Message, and the Medium This textbook covers many of the principles of science communication, as well as the theory and practice of risk communication, specifically. The content is divided into three main sections: 1) the ‘mission’ (why you are communicating), 2) the ‘message’ (what you are communicating), and 3) the ‘medium’ (how you are communicating). We have tried to include enough diversity of ideas to give you something to ‘chew on’ regardless of your background, education, or experience in communication. However, the textbook is, and will always be, a work in progress. It will expand and mature each year as we continue our communication journey, learning from our students and the world around us.
Body Physics Remote Lab Manual This remote learning lab manual was created to guide students in 100-level physical science courses toward meeting the first outcome in the science category of the Associate of Arts Oregon Transfer Degree:

Biology

Open Textbooks

Concepts of Biology – 1st Canadian Edition
This text also includes 80 interactive H5P activities that can be used.
Human Biology: Human Anatomy and Physiology This textbook is ideal for an introductory-level human biology course. It is aligned with the British Columbia Adult Basic Education learning outcomes for Provincial Level Biology, which is the equivalent of Grade 12 Anatomy and Physiology. This textbook begins with an introduction to sciences and the scientific method, and then addresses the human body in increasing scale: from biological molecules, to cells and tissues, to organs and all eleven organ systems, all with an overarching focus on health. The text employs clear writing, case studies for each chapter, interactive self-marking study activities, highlights of Indigenous knowledge and examples, a pop-up glossary, and links to resources for extending learning.
Anatomy and Physiology Anatomy and Physiology is a dynamic textbook for the two-semester human anatomy and physiology course for life science and allied health majors. The book is organized by body system and covers standard scope and sequence requirements. Its lucid text, strategically constructed art, career features, and links to external learning tools address the critical teaching and learning challenges in the course. The web-based version of Anatomy and Physiology also features links to surgical videos, histology, and interactive diagrams.
Douglas College Human Anatomy & Physiology II (2nd ed.) This textbook is a project under development by our Biology faculty to ultimately provide students with all the factual information they need to succeed in the BIOL 1203 and BIOL 1209 courses at Douglas College in BC, Canada. If you have technical difficulty downloading this textbook, copy & paste the following direct link into your browser's address bar to allow you download the print .pdf version: https://pressbooks.bccampus.ca/dcbiol120312092nded/open/download?type=print-pdf
Body Physics Remote Lab Manual This remote learning lab manual was created to guide students in 100-level physical science courses toward meeting the first outcome in the science category of the Associate of Arts Oregon Transfer Degree:
Virtual Human Anatomy Lab Manual
Human Anatomy Lab Manual
A Primer for Computational Biology This book aims to teach these basics of scientific computing: skills that even in fields such as computer science are often gained informally over a long period of time. This book is intended for readers who have passing familiarity with computing. While these concepts will likely be useful to researchers in many fields, I frame most of the discussion and examples in the analysis of biological data, and thus assume some basic biological knowledge, including concepts such as genes, genomes, and proteins.
Applied Bioinformatics From Oregon State University. Please note that this is the first edition of the text. Applied Bioinformatics is frequently updated, and the current edition may be downloaded from the Applied Bioinformatics site.
College Human Biology CK-12's College Human Biology FlexBook® covers cell biology, genetics, evolution, physiology, disease, nutrition, and ecology.
Biology of Aging Includes the study of the gross and microscopic structure of the systems of the human body with special emphasis on the relationship between structure and function. Integrates anatomy and physiology of cells, tissues, organs, the systems of the human body, and mechanisms responsible for homeostasis.
Evolutionary Developmental Biology Freely available for reading, printing and "consuming." Most, but not all, pages have licenses that may allow individuals to make changes, save, and print this book.
An Interactive Introduction to Organismal and Molecular Biology This "textbook" is interactive, meaning that although each chapter has text, they also have interactive HTML5 content, such as quizzes, simulations, interactive videos, and images with clickable hotspots. Students receive instant feedback when they complete the interactive content, and therefore, can learn and check their understanding all in one place. The first unit introduces students to the nature of science, including scientific controversies, and information literacy, including how to analyze literature and identify stakeholders. Unit 2 is organismal biology, including carbon cycling and population growth, and unit 3 is molecular biology with a focus on gene expression.
List of Open Biology texts from BCcampus
Biological Sciences Open Textbooks & Lab Manuals Fundamentals of Cell Biology, Fundamentals of Microbiology Lab Manual, General Zoology Laboratory Manual, Microbiology for Allied Health Students, Microbiology for Allied Health Students: Lab Manual, Principles of Biology II Lab Manual, Principles of Biology I Lab Manual, UGA Anatomy and Physiology 1 Lab Manual, 3rd Edition, UGA Anatomy and Physiology 2 Lab Manual, 3rd Edition, UGA Laboratory Manual for Functional Human Anatomy, and more.
Biology LibreTexts Library A collection of open textbooks, assignments, and other educational resources on biology subjects.
Open Biology Texts

Open Supplementary Resources

Animal Dissection Images
Created by BCIT faculty and instructors. Includes dissection images of bony fish, clam, dogfish, frog, pigeon, rat and squid.
Atlas of Comparative Anatomy The Atlas of Comparative Anatomy began as a class project at SUNY Oneonta in 2017 because of the lack of a comprehensive freely-accessible photographic atlas. The majority of entries in this atlas were produced by students including dissection, photography, and identification. It is a work in progress, but we hope that students of anatomy find this a useful tool for studying anatomy outside of the lab.
Virtual Lab and Science Resource Directory The BCcampus Open Education Virtual Lab and Science Resource Directory lists free science resources designed to support remote science education. This directory is updated as new resources are identified. Note that, while all resources in this directory are free, not all are open. Resources that carry Creative Commons or otherwise open licences are clearly labelled.
Anatomy Laboratory Manual (Second Edition) This laboratory manual is designed for undergraduate anatomy labs. It includes self-assessment resources and examination set up guides.
Human Anatomy DigiGUIDE (LQB187) QUT Anatomy and Physiology Team
Fundamentals of Biology: Student Lab Manual
Biology Ancillary Materials Includes video sets, open courses, etc.
Library Skills for 2nd Year Biological Sciences This tutorial covers the library skills required for students in 200-level Biological Sciences courses with these objectives: Understand the difference between popular and scholarly sources and know the different types of scholarly sources Know how to read a scholarly article Learn how to effectively search for articles and access library material from home Know how to properly cite sources and avoid plagiarism
Biology textbook playlist A YouTube playlist containing a collection of biology-related videos.
iBiology Open-access free videos that convey the excitement of modern biology and the process by which scientific discoveries are made. The aim is to let you meet the leading scientists in biology, so that you can find out how they think about scientific questions and conduct their research, and can get a sense of their personalities, opinions, and perspectives.
Bioscience Image Library The Biology Image Library is a growing collection of over 900 text-supported microscopic and macroscopic images and videos drawn from commercially prepared slide collections and live specimens commonly used in the study of Biology, Botany, Zoology, Histology and Microbiology.
Pacific Open Images These open images were created by faculty at the University of the Pacific.
BLOSSOMS Video Library BLOSSOMS Video Library contains over 100 math and science lessons, all freely available to teachers as streaming video and Internet downloads and as DVDs and videotapes.
Animated Tutorials for Biology Sumanas develops custom tutorials and animations in a variety of formats for a variety of disciplines including; astronomy, biology and statistics.
GBIF: Global Biodiversity Information Facility GBIF—the Global Biodiversity Information Facility—is an international network and research infrastructure funded by the world's governments and aimed at providing anyone, anywhere, open access to data about all types of life on Earth.
National Science Digital Library (NSDL) Open Educational Resources - Creative Commons licensed teaching and learning resources for all levels of science, technology, engineering, & math education. From the OER Commons.
Macauly Library The Macaulay Library is the world’s premier scientific archive of natural history audio, video, and photographs. Although the Macaulay Library’s history is rooted in birds, the collection includes amphibians, fishes, and mammals, and the collection preserves recordings of each species’ behavior and natural history.
PhET: Free Online Physics, Chemistry, Biology, Earth Science Free interactive simulations covering a diverse topics designed by the University of Colorado available in various languages.
Open Ancillary Resources for Biology

Open Courses

Biology Course Hub Site Links to the course sites for Biology courses taught at Keene State College in Keene, NH.
Introduction to OER for Biology OERI Resource Page for Biology. Provides faculty in the discipline with a collection of resources that have been subject to a peer-review process and/or that have been selected for use by faculty in the California community colleges. Includes biology webinars, open courses, other resources, and convening disciplines resources.
Introduction to Biology This introductory course defines biology and its relationship to other sciences. We examine the overarching theories of life from biological research and also explore the fundamental concepts and principles of the study of living organisms and their interaction with the environment. We will examine how life is organized into hierarchical levels; how living organisms use and produce energy; how life grows, develops, and reproduces; how life responds to the environment to maintain internal stability; and how life evolves and adapts to the environment.
Modern Biology The Modern Biology course covers specialized and somewhat advanced topics in the fields of cellular biology, molecular biology, biochemistry, and genetics. It does not cover organismal biology or taxonomy. The course is carefully planned to provide the background that biology students will need for advanced biology classes. Non-biology majors will also find this course useful as it explains many of the concepts and techniques currently discussed in the popular press.
The Story of the Wooly Mammoth A resource pack consisting of three lessons, set out over three detailed presentations accompanied by student worksheets, that focus on the extinction of the Woolly Mammoth as a means of teaching students about Biodiversity and Interdependence.

Chemistry

Chemistry: Atoms First - 2e The intention of “atoms-first” involves a few basic principles: first, it introduces atomic and molecular structure much earlier than the traditional approach, and it threads these themes through subsequent chapters. This approach may be chosen as a way to delay the introduction of material such as stoichiometry that students traditionally find abstract and difficult, thereby allowing students time to acclimate their study skills to chemistry. Additionally, it gives students a basis for understanding the application of quantitative principles to the chemistry that underlies the entire course. It also aims to center the study of chemistry on the atomic foundation that many will expand upon in a later course covering organic chemistry, easing that transition when the time arrives. The second edition has been revised to incorporate clearer, more current, and more dynamic explanations, while maintaining the same organization as the first edition. Substantial improvements have been made in the figures, illustrations, and example exercises that support the text narrative.
Introductory Chemistry - 1st Canadian Edition The goal of this textbook is not to make you an expert. True expertise in any field is a years-long endeavor. Here I will survey some of the basic topics of chemistry. This survey should give you enough knowledge to appreciate the impact of chemistry in everyday life and, if necessary, prepare you for additional instruction in chemistry. Throughout each chapter, I present two features that reinforce the theme of the textbook—that chemistry is all around you. The first is a feature titled, appropriately, “Chemistry Is Everywhere.” Chemistry Is Everywhere” focuses on the personal hygiene products that you may use every morning: toothpaste, soap, and shampoo, among others. These products are chemicals, aren’t they? Ever wonder about the chemical reactions that they undergo to give you clean and healthy teeth or shiny hair? I will explore some of these chemical reactions in future chapters. But this feature makes it clear that chemistry is, indeed, everywhere. The other feature focuses on chemistry that you likely indulge in every day: eating and drinking. In the “Food and Drink App,” I discuss how the chemistry of the chapter applies to things that you eat and drink every day. Carbonated beverages depend on the behavior of gases, foods contain acids and bases, and we actually eat certain rocks. (Can you guess which rocks without looking ahead?) Cooking, eating, drinking, and metabolism—we are involved with all these chemical processes all the time. These two features allow us to see the things we interact with every day in a new light—as chemistry.
Analytical Chemistry 2.0 Analytical chemistry is more than a collection of analytical methods and an understanding of equilibrium chemistry; it is an approach to solving chemical problems. Although equilibrium chemistry and analytical methods are important, their coverage should not come at the expense of other equally important topics. The introductory course in analytical chemistry is the ideal place in the undergraduate chemistry curriculum for exploring topics such as experimental design, sampling, calibration strategies, standardization, optimization, statistics, and the validation of experimental results. Analytical methods come and go, but best practices for designing and validating analytical methods are universal. Because chemistry is an experimental science it is essential that all chemistry students understand the importance of making good measurements.
Inorganic Chemistry for Chemical Engineers This open access book has been specifically adapted for CHEM 250, an interdisciplinary inorganic chemistry course at UBC-V, for Chemical Engineering students. The main objective of this book is to introduce students to the basic principles of inorganic chemistry and link them with current applications relevant to a chemical engineer. It is a comprehensive online resource for 2nd year undergraduate students everywhere as it will be available under the creative commons license and will be widely available in OER catalogues.
First Year General Chemistry Short succinct explanation of the basics of chemistry in easy to use language and examples
Introductory Chemistry – 1st Canadian / NSCC Edition The goal of this textbook is not to make you an expert. True expertise in any field is a years-long endeavor. Here I will survey some of the basic topics of chemistry. This survey should give you enough knowledge to appreciate the impact of chemistry in everyday life and, if necessary, prepare you for additional instruction in chemistry.
OCLUE: Organic Chemistry, Life, the Universe & Everything Organic chemistry is the chemistry of carbon and carbon-containing compounds. Since the core structural, catalytic, information storage, and retrieval systems of organisms are carbon-based macromolecules, organic chemistry is of direct relevance to the life sciences. Just as importantly, the properties of carbon make possible an amazing range of molecules with unique properties, from small molecules to complex plastics and even more complex biomolecules.
CLUE: Chemistry, Life, the Universe and Everything CLUE was designed to help students attain a confident, competent, and coherent understanding of basic chemistry, in particular of the chemistry associated with organisms and their origins.
Chem 103/104 Resource Book Although some content is adapted from the original OpenStax General Chemistry OER from Rice University, the organization follows the Module/Quantum sequence of the Chem 103/104 curriculum. Content that lies outside of the UW-Chem 103/104 learning objectives has been stripped and some new content (e.g., mass spectrometry) has been added. The purpose of this condensed education resource is to support the activities of the pre-class, whole class, discussion, and laboratory gatherings of Chem 103/104.
Introduction to Chemistry: General, Organic, and Biological This text includes content for both the Chemistry 101 and Chemistry 102 C-ID descriptors. The text provides end-of-chapter problems.
Beginning Chemistry v 1.0 This text includes content for preparatory chemistry courses. Version 2 of the text is available commercially.
Introduction to Chemistry: General, Organic, and Biological v 1.0 This text includes content for both the Chemistry 101 and Chemistry 102 C-ID descriptors. The text provides end-of-chapter problems.
Chemistry and Global Awareness This text covers underlying chemistry for topical subjects in society.
Introductory Chemistry Online The text is accompanied by lecture slides, exam review slides, and algorithmic tutorials. Text at first link provides traditional format (including figures that accompany and expand upon text).
List of Open Chemistry Texts from BCcampus
Bookshelf of open chemistry textbooks There are two classes of texts found in the Bookshelves: "Textbooks" and "Textmaps". Textbooks are the central spot for integrated content into our library and are identified by "Book:" in their titles. Textmaps are specialized remixes that are constructed to follow the organization of existing commercial textbooks. Textmaps facilitate adoption by faculty that are unable to switch from a commercial textbook to an OER alternative; these texts are identified by "Map:" in their titles. For details on how to have a text added to the bookshelves or how to remix content into your customized remix contact us at info@libretexts.org.
Resources for Environmental Chemistry
Resources for General Chemistry Majors

Open Supplementary Resources

Virtual Lab and Science Resource Directory The BCcampus Open Education Virtual Lab and Science Resource Directory lists free science resources designed to support remote science education. This directory is updated as new resources are identified. Note that, while all resources in this directory are free, not all are open. Resources that carry Creative Commons or otherwise open licences are clearly labelled.
Animated Tutorials for Chemistry Sumanas develops animated tutorials in a variety of formats for many scientific disciplines. Click on the subject headings below to view samples of our animations.
PhET: Free Online Physics, Chemistry, Biology, Earth Science Free interactive simulations covering a diverse topics designed by the University of Colorado available in various languages.
National Science Digital Library (NSDL) Open Educational Resources - Creative Commons licensed teaching and learning resources for all levels of science, technology, engineering, & math education. From the OER Commons.
Selected Case Studies from the National Center for Case Study Teaching in Science The National Center for Case Study Teaching in Science holds the copyright for all material but allows instructors to use and modify the activities to fit their classroom.
Selected activities from Chem Ed Xchange The Division of Chemical Education, Inc. of the American Chemical Society holds the copyright for all content on the Chem Ed X website. Instructors are allowed to use the activities for their classrooms. The activities can be used to supplement a text with specific concepts. Several activities adapted for remote classrooms are available.
Selected ChemCollective Virtual Lab Activities, Tutorials, and Scenario-based activities These activities can be used to supplement a lecture text by giving the students an interactive learning experience. For virtual labs, a goal is introduced in a one paragraph description.
Chemistry 101 Lab Manual This lab manual includes a semester-long set of wet chemistry experiments designed for a preparatory chemistry course. It is continually maintained by faculty at Santa Monica College.
Chemistry Learning Objects Content items, practice items, and assessment items such as lab experiments, demos and techniques, and more. These resources are self-contained, digital or non-digital resources that can be used for learning, education or training. Learning objects can be organized to easily form collections of themed content, including traditionally designed courses.

Computer Science

OER & Information Technology and Information Systems (ITIS)
Delftse Foundations of Computation Delftse Foundations of Computation is a textbook for an introductory course in theoretical computer science. It includes topics from propositional and predicate logic, proof techniques, set theory and the theory of computation, along with practical applications to computer science. It has no prerequisites other than a general familiarity with computer programming.
A brief introduction to engineering computation with MATLAB A Brief Introduction to Engineering Computation with MATLAB is specifically designed for students with no programming experience. However, students are expected to be proficient in First Year Mathematics and Sciences and access to good reference books are highly recommended. Students are assumed to have a working knowledge of the Mac OS X or Microsoft Windows operating systems. The strategic goal of the course and book is to provide learners with an appreciation for the role computation plays in solving engineering problems. MATLAB specific skills that students are expected to be proficient at are: write scripts to solve engineering problems including interpolation, numerical integration and regression analysis, plot graphs to visualize, analyze and present numerical data, and publish reports.
Key Concepts of Computer Studies If you are looking for a quick study guide in Computer Studies, this book is an excellent resource. Skip the lengthy and distracting books and instead use this book to guide your studies, review your knowledge, or help with tutoring. This book quickly gets to the heart of each particular topic, helping students with a quick review before doing homework or preparing for a test.
IoT Use Cases and Technologies The phrase “Internet of Things" (IoT) alludes to the billions of physical devices connected to the Internet in order to exchange raw data and analyze the information. This book introduces the IoT use cases and technologies. It uses practical examples to demonstrate the effect of IoT and its potential to change our world, and it discusses the existing wired and wireless communication technologies that have enabled IoT. The book also includes multiple choice and review questions to support student learning and reflection.
Open Data Structures There are plenty of books that teach introductory data structures. Some of them are very good. Most of them cost money, and the vast majority of computer science undergraduate students will shell out at least some cash on a data structures book.
Database Design - 2nd Edition Database Design - 2nd Edition covers database systems and database design concepts. New to this edition are SQL info, additional examples, key terms, and review exercises at the end of each chapter.
Algorithms and Data Structures with Applications to Graphics and Geometry This is a textbook for first year computer science. It covers programming environments for motion, graphics, and geometry; programming concepts (beyond notation); objects, algorithms, and programs; complexity of problems and algorithms; data structures; and the interaction between algorithms and data structures (case studies in geometric computation).
Web Accessibility Texts Professional Web Accessibility Auditing Made Easy, Introduction to Web Accessibility, & Web Accessibility for Developers
Cellular Internet of Things for Practitioners This book describes the simplified architecture of an IoT network from the core functional perspective and then presents step-by-step procedures to establish a connection between the IoT device and platform. It practically shows how to connect a cellular IoT module to the Microsoft Azure IoT Hub using the LTE-M technology.
Artificial Intelligence: Foundations of Computational Agents (2nd ed.) This modern AI textbook book is published by Cambridge University Press. The complete text is available here with permission of Cambridge University Press. Please consider buying the book. This online version is free to view and download for personal use only. The text is not for re-distribution, re-sale or use in derivative works. ©David L. Poole and Alan K. Mackworth 2017. Please create links to this site rather than redistributing parts.
Matrix Algebra with Computational Applications Matrix Algebra with Computational Applications is a collection of Open Educational Resource (OER) materials designed to introduce students to the use of Linear Algebra to solve real-world problems. These materials were developed specifically for students and instructors working in a "flipped classroom" model that emphasizes hands-on problem-solving activities during class meetings, with students watching lectures and completing readings and assignments outside of the classroom.
Python for Everybody An excellent book on introductory computer programming topics. The book’s website has a great deal of additional information and resources. The book itself has great vocabulary words, it has exercises, and includes the use of Jupyter Notebooks, where you can edit and run code right in the LMS environment. The material has been translated into several different languages, see the book’s website for a complete list.
Think Python 2e Think Python is an introduction to Python programming for beginners. It starts with basic concepts of programming and is carefully designed to define all terms when they are first used and to develop each new concept in a logical progression. Larger pieces, like recursion and object-oriented programming, are divided into a sequence of smaller steps and introduced over the course of several chapters.
A Byte of Python This book serves as a guide or tutorial to the Python programming language. It is mainly targeted at newbies. It is useful for experienced programmers as well. The aim is that if all you know about computers is how to save text files, then you can learn Python from this book. If you have previous programming experience, then you can also learn Python from this book.
Introduction to Computer Science and Programming in Python This is part of MIT’s OpenCourseware website. It includes a course syllabus, reading list, lecture videos, Powerpoint slides and code, in-class questions and video questions as well as assignments – all available for download. The course is intended for students with little or no programming experience. It aims to provide students with an understanding of the role computation can play in solving problems and to help students, regardless of their major, feel justifiably confident of their ability to write small programs that allow them to accomplish useful goals. The class uses the Python 3.5 programming language.
Open Data Structures (in C++) This resource is a well-written text that covers the material quite well. It is a bit older than other material, but it is still a very valid resource. The main website has some other variations of this text. It is intended to teach the design and analysis of basic data structures and their implementation in an object-oriented language. In this edition, the language happens to be C++. This book is not intended to act as an introduction to the C++ programming language. Readers of this book need only be familiar with the basic syntax of C++ and similar languages. Those wishing to work with the accompanying source code should have some experience programming in C++.
Open DSA OpenDSA is infrastructure and materials to support courses in a wide variety of Computer Science-related topics such as Data Structures and Algorithms (DSA), Formal Languages, Finite Automata, and Programming Languages. OpenDSA materials include many visualizations and interactive exercises. Our philosophy is that students learn best when they engage the material and then practice it until they have demonstrated their proficiency. OpenDSA provides a place for students to practice skills and develop knowledge with a variety of exercises including small code writing problems, proficiency exercises where students demonstrate knowledge of an algorithm by interacting with a data structure, and questions about knowledge.
Below C Level This book is NOT about assembly language programming. There is assembly language sprinkled throughout the book, so you will in fact learn assembly language—but only as a means to a different end, the latter being understanding of computer systems. Specifically, you will learn about high-level hardware, the large differences between one machine and the next, and low-level software, meaning operating systems and to some degree compilers.
Introduction to MIPS Assembly Language Programming This book was written to introduce students to assembly language programming in MIPS. As with all assembly language programming texts, it covers basic operators and instructions, subprogram calling, loading and storing memory, program control, and the conversion of the assembly language program into machine code.
Programmed Introduction to MIPS Assembly Language This is a course in assembly language programming of the MIPS processor. It emphasizes the topics needed for the study of computer architecture: bits, bit patterns, operations on bit patterns, and how bit patterns represent instructions and data. This course is equivalent to a semester-long junior college or university course (except, perhaps, for the emphasis on bit patterns). The emphasis of the course is on understanding how computers work. This will provide a basis for further study of computer architecture and computer software. The MIPS processor, the subject of this course, has a well-designed architecture and is particularly fruitful to study.
x86-64 Assembly Language Programming with Ubuntu The purpose of this text is to provide a reference for university-level assembly language and systems programming courses. Specifically, this text addresses the x86-641 instruction set for the popular x86-64 class of processors using the Ubuntu 64-bit Operating System (OS). While the provided code and various examples should work under any Linux-based 64-bit OS, they have only been tested under Ubuntu 14.04 LTS (64-bit).
Mathematics for Computer Science This text explains how to use mathematical models and methods to analyze problems that arise in computer science. Proofs play a central role in this work because the authors share a belief with most mathematicians that proofs are essential for genuine understanding. Proofs also play a growing role in computer science; they are used to certify that software and hardware will always behave correctly, something that no amount of testing can do.
Applied Discrete Structures – Website This is an amazing resource…another one of those cool websites with a plethora of resources and tools.
Discrete Mathematics: An Open Introduction This is a new open textbook version of the material mentioned above. Applied Discrete Structures is designed for use in a university course in discrete mathematics spanning up to two semesters. Its original design was for computer science majors to be introduced to the mathematical topics that are useful in computer science. It can also serve the same purpose for mathematics majors, providing a first exposure to many essential topics.
A Spiral Workbook for Discrete Mathematics This text covers the standard topics in a sophomore-level course in discrete mathematics: logic, sets, proof techniques, basic number theory, functions, relations, and elementary combinatorics, with an emphasis on motivation. It explains and clarifies the unwritten conventions in mathematics, and guides the students through a detailed discussion on how a proof is revised from its draft to a final polished form. Hands-on exercises help students understand a concept soon after learning it. The text adopts a spiral approach: many topics are revisited multiple times, sometimes from a different perspective or at a higher level of complexity. The goal is to slowly develop students’ problem-solving and writing skills.
Computer Science Open Textbooks Tons of open comp sci textbooks, used at post-secondary institutions across the US and Canada.

Supplementary & Ancillary Resources

Visual Studio Code An IDE for programming in all languages.
repl.it An online tool for writing computer code.
Online GDB An online compiler and debugger for C/C++
Virtual Box VirtualBox is a powerful x86 and AMD64/Intel64 virtualization product for enterprise as well as home use. Not only is VirtualBox an extremely feature rich, high performance product for enterprise customers, it is also the only professional solution that is freely available as Open Source Software under the terms of the GNU General Public License (GPL) version 2.
OS Boxes OSBoxes offers you ready-to-use Linux/Unix virtual machine operating systems to run as a guest on VirtualBox
Packet Tracer A powerful network simulation tool built by Cisco. You need to sign up for free. Each time Packet Tracer starts up you need Internet connectivity to allow an authorized user to sign in.
R Tutorials R is a programming language and free software environment for statistical computing and graphics supported by the R Foundation for Statistical Computing. The R language is widely used among statisticians and data miners for developing statistical software and data analysis.

Geology, Geography & EESC

Physical Geology - 2nd Edition Physical Geology is a comprehensive introductory text on the physical aspects of geology, including rocks and minerals, plate tectonics, earthquakes, volcanoes, glaciation, groundwater, streams, coasts, mass wasting, climate change, planetary geology and much more. It has a strong emphasis on examples from western Canada, especially British Columbia, and also includes a chapter devoted to the geological history of western Canada. The book is a collaboration of faculty from Earth Science departments at Universities and Colleges across British Columbia and elsewhere.
Nature of Geographic Information The purpose of this text is to promote understanding of the Geographic Information Science and Technology enterprise (GIS&T, also known as "geospatial").
Geographic Information System Basics Essentials of Geographic Information Systems integrates key concepts behind the technology with practical concerns and real-world applications. Recognizing that many potential GIS users are nonspecialists or may only need a few maps, this book is designed to be accessible, pragmatic, and concise. Essentials of Geographic Information Systems also illustrates how GIS is used to ask questions, inform choices, and guide policy. From the melting of the polar ice caps to privacy issues associated with mapping, this book provides a gentle, yet substantive, introduction to the use and application of digital maps, mapping, and GIS.
Environmental Biology Environmental Biology enables students to develop a nuanced understanding of today’s most pressing environmental issues. This text helps students grasp the scientific foundation of these issues so that they can better understand the world around them and their impact upon it. This open textbook covers the most salient environmental issues, from a biological perspective. The text is designed for an introductory-level college science course. Topics include the fundamentals of ecology, biodiversity, pollution, climate change, food production, and human population growth.
Environmental Science: A Canadian Perspective This textbook is intended to provide the core elements of a curriculum for teaching environmental science at the introductory level in Canadian colleges and universities. This book is suitable for students beginning a program in environmental science, environmental studies, or sustainability. It is also appropriate for arts students who require a science elective, and for science students who require a non-major elective. This book was written from the ground-up to provide Canadian information and examples. This national context is integrated throughout the text, along with North American and global data that provide a broader perspective.
Sustainability: A Comprehensive Foundation With “Sustainability: A Comprehensive Foundation”, first and second-year college students are introduced to this expanding new field, comprehensively exploring the essential concepts from every branch of knowledge – including engineering and the applied arts, natural and social sciences, and the humanities. As sustainability is a multi-disciplinary area of study, the text is the product of multiple authors drawn from the diverse faculty of the University of Illinois: each chapter is written by a recognized expert in the field.
British Columbia in a Global Context This first year geography textbook takes a holistic approach to geography by incorporating elements of physical, human and regional geography, as well as bringing in methods and perspectives from spatial information science.. This textbook applies a fundamental geographical approach to understanding our globally changing world by looking at local processes which are linked to larger global processes and events. For example, mining and its effects are a global issue and we can see how these unfold in BC. A further example is the recent apology to First Nation peoples on the residential school treatment, as similar events occur in the US, Ireland and Australia. Processes of urbanization, a phenomenon which people all over the globe are experiencing, can be seen in Vancouver with our discussion of the city’s development. Geography students, indeed all first-year students, need to be able to critically assess their own contexts and environments in order to properly engage with our continually globalizing world.
World Regional Geography World Regional Geography presents an overview of the discipline by introducing students to key themes and concepts in the discipline of geography through a study of the world’s regions. This text approaches geography as experts understand the discipline, focusing on connections and an in-depth understanding of core themes. This thematic approach, informed by pedagogical research, provides students with an introduction to thinking geographically. This text emphasizes depth over breadth by arranging each chapter around a central theme and then exploring that theme in detail as it applies to the particular region. In addition, while chapters are designed to stand alone and be rearranged or eliminated at the instructor’s discretion, the theme of globalization and inequality unites all of the regions discussed. This core focus enables students to draw connections between regions and to better understand the interconnectedness of our world. This text was written with the backward course design model in mind and the content of each chapter was structured around these learning objectives. Because of this backward design focus, the length of each chapter is considerably shorter than most traditional textbooks. The intention is for the instructor to supplement the text with problems, case studies, and news articles and to use the text as a springboard for discussing deeper issues.
Forest Measurements: An Applied Approach This is a forest measurements textbook written for field technicians. Silvicultural applications and illustrations are provided to demonstrate the relevance of the measurements. Special “technique tips” for each skill are intended to help increase data collection accuracy and confidence. These include how to avoid common pitfalls, effective short cuts, and essentials for recording field data correctly. The emphasis is on elementary skills; it is not intended to be a timber cruising guide.
Introduction to Oceanography Introduction to Oceanography is a textbook appropriate to an introductory-level university course in oceanography. The book covers the fundamental geological, chemical, physical and biological processes in the ocean, with an emphasis on the North Atlantic region.
Mineralogy Free Textbook for College-Level Mineralogy Courses
Practical Meteorology: An Algebra-based Survey of Atmospheric Science The author designed this book for students and professionals who want to understand and apply basic meteorological concepts, but who don’t need to derive equations. To make this book accessible to more people, the author converted the equations into algebra. With algebraic approximations to the atmosphere, you can see the physical meaning of each term and you can plug in numbers to get usable answers. No previous knowledge of meteorology is needed — the book starts from the basics. Your background should include algebra, trig, and classical physics. This book could serve the fields of Atmospheric Science, Meteorology, Environmental Science, Engineering, Air Quality, Climatology, and Geography. Readers like you asked to see solved examples, to enhance your understanding and speed your ability to apply the concepts to your own situations. To fill this need, the author added “Sample Application” boxes for almost every equation in the book. This book is designed to be both a textbook and a reference. As a textbook, the end of each chapter includes extensive homework exercises in categories inspired by Bloom’s taxonomy of learning actions: “Broaden Knowledge & Comprehension”; “Apply”; “Evaluate & Analyze”; and “Synthesize”.
Introduction to Environmental Science: 2nd Edition This course uses the basic principles of biology and earth science as a context for understanding environmental policies and resource management practices. Our planet is facing unprecedented environmental challenges, from oil spills to global climate change. Learn about the science behind these problems; preparing you to make an informed, invaluable contribution to Earth’s future.
Processing UAS Photogrammetric Images in Agisoft Photoscan Professional A comprehensive manual describing the process of preparing the DJI Phantom 3 Professional for photogrammetric image capture using a pre-programmed mission plan.
Introduction to Ocean Science This textbook provides an introduction to topics in ocean science, including water, coasts, ocean ecosystems, the ocean floor, tides, life in the ocean, human impact on the ocean, and more.
The Story of Earth: An Observational Guide
The Ecosphere and Environmental Issues
Cornell Open Science Titles
Open Geography eTextbook Resources Includes Geospatial Technology OER eTextbooks, Geography OER Lab Manuals, and Geography OER eTextbooks.

Open Education Resources

SERC (Science Education Resource Center) SERC is a grant-funded office at Carleton College in Minnesota, founded to improve education in the Earth sciences and beyond. Today we are a team of 14 educators, researchers and technical specialists who have worked with over 100 award winning education projects across the STEM disciplines and allied fields. Engaging participants from more than 1,000 institutions of higher education, as well as K-12 curriculum developers and teachers, we have created one of the world’s largest collections of pedagogic resources.
Earth Exploration Toolbook Developed by teams of scientists and educators, the Earth Exploration Toolbook (EET) is a collection of online Earth system science activities. Each activity, or chapter, introduces one or more scientific data sets and analysis tools that enables users to explore some aspect of the Earth system.
Geosciences LibreTexts Library A collection of open textbooks, assignments, and other educational resources on the subject of geosciences.
Animated Tutorials: Environmental Science Sumanas develops animated tutorials in a variety of formats for many scientific disciplines. Click on the subject headings below to view samples of our animations.
Virtual Soil Science Learning Resources Virtual Soil Science Learning Resources (VSSLR) group is focused on developing innovative, open access educational resources for a variety of undergraduate and graduate natural resource courses and programs. The group was initiated by Dr. Maja Krzic (UBC, Vancouver) in 2004 and it has become the focal point for collaborative educational efforts among scientists, students, and multimedia experts from 12 post-secondary and 3 research institutions in Canada and internationally.
Collecting and Mapping Data: For Environmental Applications Learn how to collect and import spatial features from the field, use web-based map tools to engage citizens, and incorporate the best available spatial data from public domain sources.
Show Me Earth Science: A Curated Collection of Earth Science Videos An Edited Collection of Resources Built by Learners, for Learners
Physical Geography Lab Manual: The Atmosphere and Biosphere
Laboratory Manual for Earth History This EESC 121 lab manual represents a collaborative effort by the teaching faculty / staff of the University of British Columbia Okanagan, Okanagan College, and Okanagan University College. The contributions of the many teaching assistants who have taught labs over the years are also gratefully acknowledged.
R Tutorials R is a programming language and free software environment for statistical computing and graphics supported by the R Foundation for Statistical Computing. The R language is widely used among statisticians and data miners for developing statistical software and data analysis.

Open Courses

GEOG 110: Introduction to Physical Geography Selected for use by faculty in the California community colleges
GEOG 111: Physical Geography, Laboratory Selected for use by faculty in the California community colleges
GEOG 115: Introduction to Physical Geography, with Lab Selected for use by faculty in the California community colleges.
GEOG 120: Introduction to Human Geography Selected for use by faculty in the California community colleges.
GEOG 125: World Regional Geography Selected for use by faculty in the California community colleges.
GEOG 130: Introduction to Weather and Climate Selected for use by faculty in the California community colleges.
GEOG 150: Map Interpretation and Analysis Selected for use by faculty in the California community colleges.
GEOG 155: Introduction to Geographic Information Systems and Techniques, with Lab Selected for use by faculty in the California community colleges.
GEOG 160: Regional Field Studies Selected for use by faculty in the California community colleges.

Human Kinetics

Human Nutrition - 2020 Edition The book covers basic concepts in human nutrition, key information about essential nutrients, basic nutritional assessment, and nutrition across the lifespan.
Human Biology: Human Anatomy and Physiology This textbook is ideal for an introductory-level human biology course. It is aligned with the British Columbia Adult Basic Education learning outcomes for Provincial Level Biology, which is the equivalent of Grade 12 Anatomy and Physiology. This textbook begins with an introduction to sciences and the scientific method, and then addresses the human body in increasing scale: from biological molecules, to cells and tissues, to organs and all eleven organ systems, all with an overarching focus on health. The text employs clear writing, case studies for each chapter, interactive self-marking study activities, highlights of Indigenous knowledge and examples, a pop-up glossary, and links to resources for extending learning.
Anatomy and Physiology Anatomy and Physiology is a dynamic textbook for the two-semester human anatomy and physiology course for life science and allied health majors. The book is organized by body system and covers standard scope and sequence requirements. Its lucid text, strategically constructed art, career features, and links to external learning tools address the critical teaching and learning challenges in the course. The web-based version of Anatomy and Physiology also features links to surgical videos, histology, and interactive diagrams.
UGA Anatomy and Physiology 1 Lab Manual, 3rd Edition This lab manual was created for Anatomy and Physiology I at the University of Georgia under a Textbook Transformation Grant and revised through a Scaling Up OER Pilot Grant. Contains a huge number of labs.
UGA Anatomy and Physiology 2 Lab Manual, 3rd Edition This lab manual was created for Anatomy and Physiology II at the University of Georgia under a Textbook Transformation Grant and revised through a Scaling Up OER Pilot Grant. Covers a large number of lab topics.
UGA Laboratory Manual for Functional Human Anatomy This lab manual was created for Functional Human Anatomy at the University of Georgia under a Textbook Transformation Grant and revised through a Scaling Up OER Pilot Grant. Covers: Introduction to Anatomical Terminology Back: Skeletal Framework Back Muscles Skeletal Framework of the Upper Limb Muscles of the Upper Limb Skeletal Framework of the Lower Limb Skeletal Framework of the Thorax Body Cavities and Mesenteries
Body Physics Remote Lab Manual This remote learning lab manual was created to guide students in 100-level physical science courses toward meeting the first outcome in the science category of the Associate of Arts Oregon Transfer Degree:
Neural Control of Movement
Human Anatomy Lab Manual
Virtual Human Anatomy Lab Manual
Douglas College Human Anatomy & Physiology II (2nd ed.) This textbook is a project under development by our Biology faculty to ultimately provide students with all the factual information they need to succeed in the BIOL 1203 and BIOL 1209 courses at Douglas College in BC, Canada. If you have technical difficulty downloading this textbook, copy & paste the following direct link into your browser's address bar to allow you download the print .pdf version: https://pressbooks.bccampus.ca/dcbiol120312092nded/open/download?type=print-pdf
Body Physics 2.0 Body Physics sticks to the basic functioning of the human body, from motion to metabolism, as a common theme through which fundamental physics topics are introduced. Related practice, reinforcement and Lab activities are included. See the front matter for more details. Additional supplementary material, activities, and information can be found at: https://openoregon.pressbooks.pub/bpsupmat/. Order a print copy: http://www.lulu.com/content/paperback-book/body-physics-motion-to-metabolism/26081318
Wellness Provides a study of fitness and wellness and their relationship to a healthy lifestyle. Defines fitness and wellness, evaluates the student's level of fitness and wellness, and motivates the student to incorporate physical fitness and wellness into daily living.
Human Anatomy DigiGUIDE (LQB187) QUT Anatomy and Physiology Team
Contemporary Health Issues Student Learning Outcomes Assess health behavior choices, apply that information to everyday life for the improvement of individual, family, and community well-being. Identify preconceived ideas about knowledge, values, and behavior that affect health and compare with established research and accepted scientific evidence. This course was developed by Judy Baker, Ph.D., Dean of Foothill Global Access at Foothill College.
Anatomy and Physiology for KINS 1100
Capacity to Connect: Supporting Students’ Mental Health and Wellness "Capacity to Connect: Supporting Students’ Mental Health and Wellness" includes a facilitator’s guide with handouts and a PowerPoint presentation. This adaptable training resource covers foundational mental health and wellness knowledge for post-secondary faculty and staff and ways to support students in distress. It can be used for two-hour online or in-person training or for self-study.

Math & Statistics

Introduction to OER for Math This space is intended to provide Math faculty with a collection of resources that have been subject to a peer-review process and/or that have been selected for use by faculty in the California community colleges. The content of this site is generally organized by subject (C-ID Descriptors (Links to an external site.)). As an example, the page for College Algebra for STEM (MATH 151) lists OER textbooks and highlights recommended course templates for online homework and other course materials.
College Mathematics for Everyday Life - Second Edition This text was written for a college-level liberal arts math class. It addresses math concepts that most people will encourter as part of their everyday life, including statistics, probablility, growth, finance, graph theory, voting systems, fair division, apportionment, and geometric symmetry and the golden ratio. Each chapter includes a set of homework questions for practice.
Math Exam / Education Resources wiki Past exams with fully worked-out and reviewed solutions, video lectures & pencasts by topic, and much more. A place to learn about mathematics created by the UBC mathematical community
Notes on Diffy Qs: Differential Equations for Engineers A first course on differential equations, aimed at engineering students. The prerequisite for the course is the basic calculus sequence. This free online book (OER more formally) should be usable as a stand-alone textbook or as a companion to a course using another book such as Edwards and Penney, Differential Equations and Boundary Value Problems: Computing and Modeling or Boyce and DiPrima, Elementary Differential Equations and Boundary Value Problems (section correspondence to these two is given). There is enough material to run a two-quarter course, and even a two-semester sequence depending on lecturer speed.
American Institute of Mathematics Approved Open Textbooks Open textbooks grouped by course title. All the books have been judged to meet the evaluation criteria set by the AIM editorial board. Also includes links to supplemental course materials to support the approved textbooks or serve as resources for reading courses and independent study.
Technical Mathematics This developmental-level mathematics textbook is intended for career-technical students.
Elementary Differential Equations with Boundary Value Problems Written for students in science, engineering, and mathematics who have completed calculus through partial differentiation. If your syllabus includes Chapter 10 (Linear Systems of Differential Equations), your students should have some preparation in linear algebra. In writing this book, the author aimed to make the language easy to understand. As an elementary text, this book is written in an informal but mathematically accurate way, illustrated by appropriate graphics. The author has tried to formulate mathematical concepts succinctly in language that students can understand and has minimized the number of explicitly stated theorems and definitions, preferring to deal with concepts in a more conversational way, copiously illustrated by 299 completely worked out examples. Where appropriate, concepts and results are depicted in 188 figures. This text also includes 2041 numbered exercises, many with several parts. They range in difficulty from routine to very challenging.
Combinatorics: Enumeration, Graph Theory, and Design Theory Combinatorics provides an introduction to enumeration, graph theory, and design theory. It is aimed at upper-level undergraduate students and the exercises expect some mathematical sophistication, including a reasonable ability to construct proofs. The text is designed to be used in an undergraduate course, but could be suitable for independent study by a student with some mathematical background and understanding of proofs. It does not assume any background knowledge of combinatorics.
Book of Proof (3rd ed.) This book is an introduction to the standard methods of proving mathematical theorems. It has been approved by the American Institute of Mathematics' Open Textbook Initiative.
Business Math: A Step-by-Step Handbook

Algebra Titles

Elementary Algebra - 2e Elementary Algebra - 2e is designed to meet scope and sequence requirements for a one-semester elementary algebra course. The book’s organization makes it easy to adapt to a variety of course syllabi. The text expands on the fundamental concepts of algebra while addressing the needs of students with diverse backgrounds and learning styles. Each topic builds upon previously developed material to demonstrate the cohesiveness and structure of mathematics. The second edition contains detailed updates and accuracy revisions to address comments and suggestions from users. Dozens of faculty experts worked through the text, exercises and problems, graphics, and solutions to identify areas needing improvement. Though the authors made significant changes and enhancements, exercise and problem numbers remain nearly the same in order to ensure a smooth transition for faculty.
Intermediate Algebra - 2e ntermediate Algebra - 2e is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of a one-semester intermediate algebra course. The book’s organization makes it easy to adapt to a variety of course syllabi. The text expands on the fundamental concepts of algebra while addressing the needs of students with diverse backgrounds and learning styles. The material is presented as a sequence of clear steps, building on concepts presented in prealgebra and elementary algebra courses. The second edition contains detailed updates and accuracy revisions to address comments and suggestions from users. Dozens of faculty experts worked through the text, exercises and problems, graphics, and solutions to identify areas needing improvement. Though the authors made significant changes and enhancements, exercise and problem numbers remain nearly the same in order to ensure a smooth transition for faculty.
College Algebra College Algebra provides a comprehensive exploration of algebraic principles and meets scope and sequence requirements for a typical introductory algebra course. The modular approach and richness of content ensure that the book meets the needs of a variety of courses. College Algebra offers a wealth of examples with detailed, conceptual explanations, building a strong foundation in the material before asking students to apply what they’ve learned.
Linear Algebra with Applications - 2021A Linear Algebra with Applications by W. Keith Nicholson, traditionally published for many years is now being released as an open educational resource and part of Lyryx with Open Texts! Supporting today’s students and instructors requires much more than a textbook, which is why Dr. Nicholson opted to work with Lyryx Learning. Overall, the aim of the textbook is to achieve a balance among computational skills, theory, and applications of linear algebra. It is a relatively advanced introduction to the ideas and techniques of linear algebra targeted for science and engineering students who need to understand not only how to use these methods but also gain insight into why they work. The contents have enough flexibility to present a traditional introduction to the subject, or to allow for a more applied course. Chapters 1–4 contain a one-semester course for beginners whereas Chapters 5–9 contain a second semester course. The textbook is primarily about real linear algebra with complex numbers being mentioned when appropriate (reviewed in Appendix A).
CK-12 Elementary & Intermediate College Algebra
Introduction to Linear Algebra During the summer of 2018, I worked as an intern at the CK-12 Foundation supporting the data science team. Under CK-12's guidance, I started this Flexbook with the goal of developing a guide to Linear Algebra that would help my fellow students. I've always loved math, but began to dive more deeply into the subject in 2016. I taught myself Linear Algebra through a series of books, videos and other resources. With this book, I bring together the techniques and resources I found most helpful while learning. My framework centered around how I felt students would learn these extremely difficult concepts in the most efficient way possible. This Flexbook starts with an introduction to matrices and vectors and then moves to topics such as determinants and vector spaces, followed by an introduction to orthogonality and inner product spaces. Finally, the end of this Flexbook touches on applications of Linear Algebra, such as Markov Chains, Quantum Computing and Dynamical systems.
A First Course in Linear Algebra - 2021A A First Course in Linear Algebra, originally by K. Kuttler, has been redesigned by the Lyryx editorial team as a first course for the general students who have an understanding of basic high school algebra and intend to be users of linear algebra methods in their profession, from business & economics to science students. All major topics of linear algebra are available in detail, as well as justifications of important results. In addition, connections to topics covered in advanced courses are introduced. The textbook is designed in a modular fashion to maximize flexibility and facilitate adaptation to a given course outline and student profile. Each chapter begins with a list of student learning outcomes, and examples and diagrams are given throughout the text to reinforce ideas and provide guidance on how to approach various problems. Suggested exercises are included at the end of each section, with selected answers at the end of the textbook.
Matrix Algebra with Computational Applications Matrix Algebra with Computational Applications is a collection of Open Educational Resource (OER) materials designed to introduce students to the use of Linear Algebra to solve real-world problems. These materials were developed specifically for students and instructors working in a "flipped classroom" model that emphasizes hands-on problem-solving activities during class meetings, with students watching lectures and completing readings and assignments outside of the classroom.
Open Algebra Texts

Calculus Titles

Calculus: Early Transcendentals (2021A) Calculus: Early Transcendentals, originally by D. Guichard, has been redesigned by the Lyryx editorial team. Substantial portions of the content, examples, and diagrams have been redeveloped, with additional contributions provided by experienced and practicing instructors. This approachable text provides a comprehensive understanding of the necessary techniques and concepts of the typical Calculus course sequence, and is suitable for the standard Calculus I, II and III courses. To practice and develop an understanding of topics, this text offers a range of problems, from routine to challenging, with selected solutions. As this is an open text, instructors and students are encouraged to interact with the textbook through annotating, revising, and reusing to your advantage. Suggestions for contributions to this growing textbook are welcome.
Calculus: Volume 1 Calculus is designed for the typical two- or three-semester general calculus course, incorporating innovative features to enhance student learning. The book guides students through the core concepts of calculus and helps them understand how those concepts apply to their lives and the world around them. Due to the comprehensive nature of the material, we are offering the book in three volumes for flexibility and efficiency. Volume 1 covers functions, limits, derivatives, and integration.
Calculus: Volume 2 Calculus is designed for the typical two- or three-semester general calculus course, incorporating innovative features to enhance student learning. The book guides students through the core concepts of calculus and helps them understand how those concepts apply to their lives and the world around them. Due to the comprehensive nature of the material, we are offering the book in three volumes for flexibility and efficiency. Volume 2 covers integration, differential equations, sequences and series, and parametric equations and polar coordinates.
CK-12 College Precalculus
APEX Calculus This text comprises a three–volume series on Calculus. The first part covers material taught in many “Calculus 1” courses: limits, derivatives, and the basics of integration, found in Chapters 1 through 6. The second text covers material often taught in “Calculus 2”: integration and its applications, along with an introduction to sequences, series and Taylor Polynomials, found in Chapters 7 through 10. The third text covers topics common in “Calculus 3” or “Multivariable Calculus”: parametric equations, polar coordinates, vector–valued functions, and functions of more than one variable, found in Chapters 11 through 15. All three are available separately for free.
CLP Calculus Textbooks Free PDF and web-based calculus textbooks and problem books. Includes: CLP-1 Differential Calculus, CLP-2 Integral Calculus, CLP-3 Multivariable Calculus, CLP-4 Vector Calculus, CLP Bug Bounty, & CLP Source files
Active Calculus Multivariable In Active Calculus Multivariable, we endeavor to actively engage students in learning the subject through an activity-driven approach in which the vast majority of the examples are completed by students. Where many texts present a general theory of calculus followed by substantial collections of worked examples, we instead pose problems or situations, consider possibilities, and then ask students to investigate and explore. Following key activities or examples, the presentation normally includes some overall perspective and a brief synopsis of general trends or properties, followed by formal statements of rules or theorems. While we often offer plausibility arguments for such results, rarely do we include formal proofs. It is not the intent of this text for the instructor or author to demonstrate to students that the ideas of calculus are coherent and true, but rather for students to encounter these ideas in a supportive, leading manner that enables them to begin to understand for themselves why calculus is both coherent and true.
Differential Calculus for the Life Sciences Calculus arose as a tool for solving practical scientific problems through the centuries. However, it is often taught as a technical subject with rules and formulas (and occasionally theorems), devoid of its connection to applications. In this textbook, the applications form an important focal point, with emphasis on life sciences. This places the techniques and concepts into practical context, as well as motivating quantitative approaches to biology taught to undergraduates. While many of the examples have a biological flavour, the level of biology needed to understand those examples is kept at a minimum. The problems are motivated with enough detail to follow the assumptions, but are simplified for the purpose of pedagogy.
Open Calculus Texts

Statistics Titles

Introductory Statistics Introductory Statistics follows the scope and sequence of a one-semester, introduction to statistics course and is geared toward students majoring in fields other than math or engineering. This text assumes students have been exposed to intermediate algebra, and it focuses on the applications of statistical knowledge rather than the theory behind it. The foundation of this textbook is Collaborative Statistics, by Barbara Illowsky and Susan Dean, which has been widely adopted. Introductory Statistics includes innovations in art, terminology, and practical applications, all with a goal of increasing relevance and accessibility for students. We strove to make the discipline meaningful and memorable, so that students can draw a working knowledge from it that will enrich their future studies and help them make sense of the world around them. The text also includes Collaborative Exercises, integration with TI-83,83+,84+ Calculators, technology integration problems, and statistics labs.
Significant Statistics: An Introduction to Statistics Significant Statistics: An Introduction to Statistics is intended for the one-semester introduction to statistics course for students who are not mathematics or engineering majors. It focuses on the interpretation of statistical results, especially in real world settings, and assumes that students have an understanding of intermediate algebra. In addition to end of section practice and homework sets, examples of each topic are explained step-by-step throughout the text and followed by a 'Your Turn' problem that is designed as extra practice for students.
Introductory Statistics (Saylor) This book is meant to be a textbook for a standard one-semester introductory statistics course for general education students.Over time the core content of this course has developed into a well-defined body of material that is substantial for a one-semester course. The authors believe that the students in this course are best served by a focus on the core material and not by an exposure to a plethora of peripheral topics. Therefore in writing this book we have sought to present material that comprises fully a central body of knowledge that is defined according to convention, realistic expectation with respect to course duration and students’ maturity level, and our professional judgment and experience.
Introductory Business Statistics ntroductory Business Statistics is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the one-semester statistics course for business, economics, and related majors. Core statistical concepts and skills have been augmented with practical business examples, scenarios, and exercises. The result is a meaningful understanding of the discipline, which will serve students in their business careers and real-world experiences.
Introductory Business Statistics with Interactive Spreadsheets - 1st Canadian Edition An adaptation of Thomas K. Tiemann's book, "Introductory Business Statistics". In addition to covering basics such as populations, samples, the difference between data and information, and sampling distributions, descriptive statistics and frequency distributions, normal and t-distributions, hypothesis testing, t-tests, f-tests, analysis of variance, non-parametric tests, and regression basics, the following information has been added: the chi-square test and categorical variables, null and alternative hypotheses for the test of independence, simple linear regression model, least squares method, coefficient of determination, confidence interval for the average of the dependent variable, and prediction interval for a specific value of the dependent variable. This new edition also allows readers to learn the basic and most commonly applied statistical techniques in business in an interactive way -- when using the web version -- through interactive Excel spreadsheets. All information has been revised to reflect Canadian content.
Open Statistics Texts

Physics & Astronomy

Astronomy Titles

BCIT ASTRONOMY 7000: A SURVEY OF ASTRONOMY Astronomy is written in clear non-technical language, with the occasional touch of humor and a wide range of clarifying illustrations. It has many analogies drawn from everyday life to help non-science majors appreciate, on their own terms, what our modern exploration of the universe is revealing. The book can be used for either a one-semester or two-semester introductory course (bear in mind, you can customize your version and include only those chapters or sections you will be teaching.) It is made available free of charge in electronic form (and low cost in printed form) to students around the world.
Astronomy Astronomy is written in clear non-technical language, with the occasional touch of humor and a wide range of clarifying illustrations. It has many analogies drawn from everyday life to help non-science majors appreciate, on their own terms, what our modern exploration of the universe is revealing. Astronomy was written, updated, and reviewed by a broad range of astronomers and astronomy educators in a strong community effort. Astronomy has information and images from the New Horizons exploration of Pluto, the discovery of gravitational waves, the Rosetta Mission to Comet C-G, and many other recent projects in astronomy. The discussion of exoplanets has been updated with recent information—indicating not just individual examples, but trends in what sorts of planets seem to be most common. Black holes receive their own chapter, and the role of supermassive black holes in active galaxies and galaxy evolution is clearly explained. It is designed to meet scope and sequence requirements of introductory astronomy courses nationwide. Because there are many different ways to teach introductory astronomy, we have made the text as flexible as we could. Math examples are shown in separate sections throughout, so that you can leave out the math or require it as you deem best. Each section of a chapter treats a different aspect of the topic being covered; a number of sections could be omitted in shorter overview courses and can be included where you need more depth. This book is written to help students understand the big picture rather than get lost in random factoids to memorize. The language is accessible and inviting. Helpful diagrams and summary tables review and encapsulate the ideas being covered. Each chapter contains interactive group activities you can assign to help students work in teams and pool their knowledge.

Physics Titles

BCIT Physics 8400 Textbook
BCIT Physics 0312 Textbook College Physics is organized such that topics are introduced conceptually with a steady progression to precise definitions and analytical applications. The analytical aspect (problem solving) is tied back to the conceptual before moving on to another topic. Each introductory chapter, for example, opens with an engaging photograph relevant to the subject of the chapter and interesting applications that are easy for most students to visualize.
College Physics College Physics meets standard scope and sequence requirements for a two-semester introductory algebra-based physics course. The text is grounded in real-world examples to help students grasp fundamental physics concepts. It requires knowledge of algebra and some trigonometry, but not calculus. College Physics includes learning objectives, concept questions, links to labs and simulations, and ample practice opportunities for traditional physics application problems.
University Physics - Volume 1 University Physics is a three-volume collection that meets the scope and sequence requirements for two- and three-semester calculus-based physics courses. Volume 1 covers mechanics, sound, oscillations, and waves. Volume 2 covers thermodynamics, electricity and magnetism, and Volume 3 covers optics and modern physics. This textbook emphasizes connections between between theory and application, making physics concepts interesting and accessible to students while maintaining the mathematical rigor inherent in the subject. Frequent, strong examples focus on how to approach a problem, how to work with the equations, and how to check and generalize the result.
University Physics: Volume 2
University Physics - Volume 3 University Physics is a three-volume collection that meets the scope and sequence requirements for two- and three-semester calculus-based physics courses. Volume 1 covers mechanics, sound, oscillations, and waves. Volume 2 covers thermodynamics, electricity and magnetism, and Volume 3 covers optics and modern physics. This textbook emphasizes connections between between theory and application, making physics concepts interesting and accessible to students while maintaining the mathematical rigor inherent in the subject. Frequent, strong examples focus on how to approach a problem, how to work with the equations, and how to check and generalize the result.
Fields and Circuits In this book, each of the first 5 chapters is short and includes a laboratory exercise that can be completed in about an hour and a half. The approach I’ve taken is to introduce the electric and magnetic field on an equal footing (which is in fact the way the subject was developed historically). As empirically motivated postulates, we take some primitive ideas about relativity along with the expressions for the energy and momentum density of the fields.
Introduction to Electricity, Magnetism, and Circuits This textbook emphasizes connections between theory and application, making physics concepts interesting and accessible to students while maintaining the mathematical rigour inherent in the subject. Frequent, strong examples focus on how to approach a problem, how to work with the equations, and how to check and generalize the result.
Introduction to Physics – Adapted from Openstax College Physics College Physics is organized such that topics are introduced conceptually with a steady progression to precise definitions and analytical applications. The analytical aspect (problem solving) is tied back to the conceptual before moving on to another topic. Each introductory chapter, for example, opens with an engaging photograph relevant to the subject of the chapter and interesting applications that are easy for most students to visualize.
Modern physics: With waves, thermodynamics, and optics
Modern Physics with Numerical Methods This is an open-source, modern physics textbook typically for the third-semester students majoring in engineering, physics, or chemistry. An emphasis is placed on fundamental principles as well as numerical solutions to equations where no analytical solutions exist. The content begins with optics and uses that as a stepping stone to wave phenomena and quantum systems.
Classical Mechanics with Numerical Methods A book on introductory mechanics and numerical methods for lower-division undergraduate students in engineering or physical sciences. This resource was last updated in 2019.
Mechanics This is a calculus-based book meant for the first semester of the type of freshman survey course taken by engineering and physical science majors. A treatment of relativity is interspersed with the Newtonian mechanics, in optional sections. The book is designed so that it can be used as a drop-in replacement for the corresponding part of Simple Nature, for instructors who prefer a traditional order of topics. Simple Nature does energy before force, while Mechanics does force before energy. Simple Nature has its treatment of relativity all in a single chapter, rather than in parallel with the development of Newtonian mechanics.
Conceptual Physics For a semester-length course, all seven chapters can be covered. For a shorter course, the book is designed so that chapters 1, 2, and 5 are the only ones that are required for continuity; any of the others can be included or omitted at the instructor’s discretion, with the only constraint being that chapter 6 requires chapter 4.
Motion Mountain Explore the motion of plants, animals, lightning, satellites, charges, light and empty space itself! Be fascinated by molecular motors, black holes, the beauty of nature and the simplicity of how it works: Explore the principle of cosmic laziness – least action –, the maximum speed, the largest distance, the highest power, and gauge symmetry, the symmetry that explains electric motors, radioactivity and quarks!
Body Physics - Motion to Metabolism Body Physics sticks to the basic functioning of the human body, from motion to metabolism, as a common theme through which fundamental physics topics are introduced. Related practice, reinforcement and Lab activities are included. See the front matter for more details. Additional supplementary material, activities, and information can be found at: https://openoregon.pressbooks.pub/bpsupmat/
Light and Matter An intro text intended for a one-year introductory course of the type typically taken by biology majors, or for AP Physics 1 and 2. Algebra and trig are used, and there are optional calculus-based sections.
Spiral Physics - Algebra Based Spiral Physics is a research based introductory physics curriculum developed at Monroe Community College. There are several important features of this curriculum. It integrates text and workbook activities in a modular fashion, and arranges topics so that students receive repeated exposure to concepts with increased complexity. It makes use of alternative problem types, including goal-less problem statements, ranking tasks, and critical analysis tasks. It restricts the equation set available for student use and is designed to facilitate active learning.
List of Open Physics Texts from BCcampus

Ancillary & Supplementary Resources (Physics & Astronomy)

ComPADRE The Digital Library for the educational resources used by educators, researchers, and students in physics and astronomy. This service of the American Association of Physics Teachers is designed to help teachers and learners find, and use, high quality resources through web-based collections and services tailored to their specific needs.
The Physics Classroom An online, free to use physics website developed primarily for beginning physics students and their teachers. The website features a variety of sections intended to support both teachers and students in the tasks of learning and teaching physics.
PhysicsLAB A collection for introductory physics which integrates lessons, labs, practice problems, assessments, AP review exercises, simulations, and quizzes in one easily-searched location. Although there is no fee to access these materials, PhysicsLAB sage and copyright requirements are provided on the site’s PhysicsLab Directions page.
MyOpenMath An open platform for developing assessments. It has been used extensively to create homework sets for many math and physics courses. Online Question Banks and Course Templates for CCC Lower-Division Physics Courses (C-IDs: 105, 110, 205, 210, and 215) that Utilize OER Textbooks by OpenStax are as follows: PHYS 105 – Course ID: 77794, Enrollment Key: CollegePHYS1 PHYS 110 – Course ID: 86217, Enrollment Key: CollegePHYS2 PHYS 205 – Course ID: 93601, Enrollment Key: cid.205.template PHYS 210 – Course ID: 93976, Enrollment Key: cid.210.template PHYS 215 – Course ID: 75880, Enrollment Key: cid.215.template
Physics 103 and 104 Teaching Guide From the University of Wisconsin-Madison Department of Physics
Astronomy Animated Tutorials Sumanas develops animated tutorials in a variety of formats for many scientific disciplines. Click on the subject headings below to view samples of our animations.
Body Physics Remote Lab Manual This remote learning lab manual was created to guide students in 100-level physical science courses toward meeting the first outcome in the science category of the Associate of Arts Oregon Transfer Degree:
Virtual Lab and Science Resource Directory The BCcampus Open Education Virtual Lab and Science Resource Directory lists free science resources designed to support remote science education. This directory is updated as new resources are identified. Note that, while all resources in this directory are free, not all are open. Resources that carry Creative Commons or otherwise open licences are clearly labelled.
Astronomy Lab Florida State College at Jacksonville
Astronomy Animated Tutorials Sumanas develops animated tutorials in a variety of formats for many scientific disciplines. Click on the subject headings below to view samples of our animations.

WET (Water Engineering Technologies)

Virtual Soil Science Learning Resources Virtual Soil Science Learning Resources (VSSLR) group is focused on developing innovative, open access educational resources for a variety of undergraduate and graduate natural resource courses and programs. The group was initiated by Dr. Maja Krzic (UBC, Vancouver) in 2004 and it has become the focal point for collaborative educational efforts among scientists, students, and multimedia experts from 12 post-secondary and 3 research institutions in Canada and internationally.