Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CMNS 122 - Professional Writing Il - Vernon

Annual Reports

Company annual reports are often found on the internet or potentially in the following databases.  Annual reports will often have information on company strategies, target market, legal issues and future directions.  

SEDAR  The official electronic filing system for the disclosure documents of public companies and investment funds across Canada

EDGAR   Public access to corporate information. All companies, foreign and domestic, are required to file registration statements, periodic reports, and other forms electronically.

Hoovers Company Records

Hoovers Company Records is a directory of current profiles on over 40,000 public and private companies and 225,000 key executives worldwide. 

Using Hoovers you can answer the following questions about your company:

  • Name of CEO or other key directors?
  • Where is it located?
  • Main competitors?
  • Number of employees?

 

SWOT Analysis

1-Business Source Complete   Comprehensive business research database including indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886. Includes articles from newspapers, magazines, journals, and trade magazines), books, book chapters & e-books, company profiles, conference proceedings, films/videos.


a. Using  Business Source Complete  find the latest SWOT Analysis for your company  (e.g. Fortis AND SWOT)

       List your company’s:

  • Strengths
  • Weaknesses
  • Opportunities
  • Threats

 


 

Hoovers Company Records is a directory of current profiles on over 40,000 public and private companies and 225,000 key executives worldwide.  Using Hoovers you can answer the following questions about your company:

Hoovers Company Records is a directory of current profiles on over 40,000 public and private companies and 225,000 key executives worldwide. Using Hoovers you can answer the following questions about your company:

Industry Profiles

b. Using Business Source Complete  find an industry profile related to your company’s industry

(eg. search the database using keywords such as westjet AND industry profile)

  • How many hits?
  • What is the NAICS code for this industry?  (NAICS=North American Industry Classification System)

 

c.  Using Business Source Complete  find a recent article discussing strategic planning for this company.

(eg. search the database using keywords such as westjet AND strategic planning)

  • How many hits?

 

b. Using ABI/Inform Complete  find an industry profile related to your company’s industry

  • What keywprds did you use?
 

How many hits were there?

 

This site is maintained by the librarians of Okanagan College Library.
If you wish to comment on an individual page, please contact that page's author.
If you have a question or comment about Okanagan College Library's LibGuides site as a whole, please contact the site administrator.