LibGuides: Practical Nursing: Streaming Videos & Media

Explore Videos
Search + Locate Videos

The Library has DVDs that include both feature films and educational material. Streaming videos can be viewed online and are also available. Videos can be found in the library catalogue, OCtopus, and E-Journals, or by searching in specific databases.

Find DVDs and Videos

There are different ways to search for items. For example:

by keywords
by subject heading (a specific word or phrase from a defined list)
by title

There are different ways to refine or limit your search results. For example:

limit to: videos/DVD/streaming videos on basic search page
by location (video collection or online)
by format (motion picture or video recording)

Library Catalogue

Basic Search
- Use the "limit to" drop down and select: Videos/DVD/ Streaming Videos
Advanced Search: Use limiters such as:
- Location: Online, Internet or Video Collection
- Format: Videorecording or Motion Picture

OCtopus search icon OCtopus

Use the advanced search limiter: Internet
Run your initial search, then use the resource type limiter: Videos and/or electronic resources

Databases & E-Resources Listing

Go to the home page
- Click ALL, under "Find databases by title"
- On the results page, choose 'Videos', under "Add Content Type"

OC Website Videos Page

Find all the Library's video collections listed
Browse the databases that include videos

A few examples of subject headings you can use in the The Library's search engine OCtopus.

Transcultural nursing
Alzheimer's disease
Communication in nursing
Dementia
Evidence based medicine
Geriatric nursing
Homecare nursing
Infection prevention
Nurse and patient
Nursing care
Palliative treatment
Patient education
Practical nursing
Wounds and injuries

Primal Pictures Interactive Anatomy
Comprehensive selection of dynamic, interactive modules featuring more than 6,500 highly accurate, three-dimensional anatomy models. Modules focus on individual organs, regions of the body, or anatomical systems.

Streaming Videos through the Library

Watch from home or on-campus. Many databases have apps available to watch videos from your phone or tablet.

Elsevier Clinical Skills (formerly Mosby's Skills) This link opens in a new window
Elsevier Clinical Skills brings over 1,200 evidence-based skills and procedures together with competency management functionality to meet your learning and reference needs.
Films on Demand - Health & Medicine This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of streaming videos in the fields of health, nursing, medicine, psychology, and more.
Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive streaming video collection. More than 62,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Curated for the educational experience with in-depth content such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc.
More information on this resource can be found here: http://proquest.libguides.com/academicvideoonline
Audio Cine Films This link opens in a new window
Streaming access to hundreds of popular and classic movies. All videos have Public Performance Rights and can be legally shown indoors in a college setting. Please contact your subject librarian regarding screenings outside the classroom, or outdoors, as a separate PPR license is required. Multiple language options are available. Titles can be added upon request (please contact your subject librarian).
Studios: NBC Universal Studios, Sony Pictures Entertainment, Lionsgate Studios, DreamWorks Animation, Walt Disney Studios, Marvel Studios, Illumination Entertainment, MGM Studios, Sony Pictures Animation, Pixar Animation, Columbia Pictures, and Tri-Star Pictures.
Search for listings and titles using the quick search or advanced search. Results are displayed alphabetically and can be exported to PDF format.
Criterion-on-Demand This link opens in a new window
A streaming media service offering access to 2000+ major motion pictures, largely popular feature films and documentaries.
*Works best in Chrome Internet browser*
As a digital and online delivery feature film platform. Criterion-on-Demand represents a large number of feature film producers, including, but not limited to: 20th Century Fox, Fox Searchlight, Paramount Pictures, Paramount Vantage, DreamWorks SKG, Mongrel Media, Sony Pictures Classics, Alliance Films, Miramax Films, Warner Brothers, Lionsgate Films, The Weinstein Company, as well as a smaller number of independent producers. The title selection includes 1920 classics, new releases, foreign films, literary adaptations, documentaries, animated titles, and independent films. 1500+ English titles and 1100+ French titles Approximately 135 Foreign Language Films with English Subtitles More than 100 Documentary Features Closed Captioned Titles when Available Streaming Capabilities with unlimited 24-7 Access.
Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
Online video streaming service distributing films from BBC, PBS, Media Education Foundation, and many others. Provides an excellent selection of classic and contemporary educational documentaries and theatrical films.
Kanopy was founded in 2007 with a single-minded idea: to change the way students learn through the power of film, while generating a sustainable economy for filmmakers. Kanopy is an aggregator of video content between filmmakers and academic libraries.
Curio.ca This link opens in a new window
The new Curio.ca platform provides streaming access to the best in educational content from CBC and Radio-Canada. Find documentaries from TV and radio, news reports, archival material, excerpts and more thousands of programs and resources available.
Internet browsers Firefox, Chrome, or Internet Explorer v. 9 or higher are recommended for viewing videos.
National Film Board Campus This link opens in a new window
Watch hundreds of NFB films online, including documentaries, animation and alternative dramas.

Taylor's Video Guide to Clinical Nursing Skills Module 1. Vital signs, Module 2. Physical assessment, Module 3. Asepsis, Module 4. Oral and topical medications, Module 5. Injectable medications, Module 6. Intravenous medications, Module 7. Perioperative nursing, Module 8. Hygiene, Module 9. Skin integrity and wound care, Module 10. Activity, Module 11. Comfort, Module 12. Nutrition, Module 13. Urinary elimination, Module 14. Urinary catheters, Module 15. Bowel elimination, Module 16. Oxygenation, Module 17. Tracheostomy care, Module 18. Intravenous therapy, Module 19. Central venous access devices
Call Number: RT 73 .T39 2011 DVD (all campuses) + Streaming Video
Publication Date: 2011

Practical Nursing

The Library has DVDs that include both feature films and educational material. Streaming videos can be viewed online and are also available. Videos can be found in the library catalogue, OCtopus, and E-Journals, or by searching in specific databases.

Find DVDs and Videos

There are different ways to search for items. For example:

by keywords

by subject heading (a specific word or phrase from a defined list)

by title

There are different ways to refine or limit your search results. For example:

limit to: videos/DVD/streaming videos on basic search page

by location (video collection or online)

by format (motion picture or video recording)

A few examples of subject headings you can use in the The Library's search engine OCtopus.

Transcultural nursing

Alzheimer's disease

Communication in nursing

Dementia

Evidence based medicine

Geriatric nursing

Homecare nursing

Infection prevention

Nurse and patient

Nursing care

Palliative treatment

Patient education

Practical nursing

Wounds and injuries

Streaming Videos through the Library

Watch from home or on-campus. Many databases have apps available to watch videos from your phone or tablet.