Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Okanagan Votes 2019

What is a Federal Electoral District?

There are currently 338 federal electoral districts in Canada, British Columbia is made up of 42 federal electoral districts.  

Federal electoral districts are typically referred to a ridings.  The number of federal electoral districts directly corresponds to the the number of Members of Parliament (MPs) that serve in the House of Commons. 

Every 10 years, after the census is conducted, the number of electoral districts and their boundaries are revised to reflect population shifts and growth. The current federal electoral districts were last updated in 2014. For more information on how federal electoral districts are determined see Redistribution Federal Electoral Districts.


This site is maintained by the librarians of Okanagan College Library.
If you wish to comment on an individual page, please contact that page's author.
If you have a question or comment about Okanagan College Library's LibGuides site as a whole, please contact the site administrator.