ENGL 151 Short Fiction and the Novel

OCtopus searches the Library's catalogue and most of the Library's databases in one search.

Enter keywords in the OCtopus search box on the Library's website

You may Refine your search results √ Peer Reviewed & Scholarly 

or  limit your search results by Resource types √ Academic Journal

Too many results? Try Limit by Database, MLA International Bibliography, 

or try  Refine your search by Subject

For more results, remove the limiter √ Available in OC Collection

Articles which are not available in full-text  and are not in print in the OC Library collection may be requested by clicking on the link Where can I get this article?

Note: OCtopus searches several but not all of the Library's databases; some additional databases e.g. CBCA Complete can be selected under the "Expand Your Search" section to the right of the search results list

You may want to use a specific article database instead of the OCtopus search engine for targeted searching. Some databases have a thesarus or subject guide to help with search terms or have search features which are not available if using the OCtopus search engine.

On the Library's webpage, click on the Articles & Databases tab and select English from the dropdown menu to browse databases relevant to English

MLA International Bibliography is a comprehensive database for finding scholarly journal articles in the field of language and literature as well as finding book articles/chapters, or critical essays, in edited books. Articles which are not available in full-text may be requested.

Search  the title of a literary work as subject and the author of the literary work as subject

e.g.      winter’s tale   SU Subjects—All   AND   shakespeare    SU Subjects--All

Limit your result:    Exclude dissertations √    Language English