Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 100 (Vernon)

Finding articles in OCtopus

Use Okanagan College Library's search engine OCtopus to find books, e-books, reference sources, streaming videos and artlcles from magazines, academic journals, and newspapers  Using a single search box, users can find multiple different resource types, with results delivered in a single, relevancy ranked list.

FINDING DATABASES ON ALL SUBJECTS

On the Library webpage scroll down to "Find resources".  Under the heading "Articles & Databases"  click on Research Databases A-Z  where you will find databases from a variety of subject areas in the dropdown menu "All Subjects".. 

For example, if you are looking for databases that contain information on about an author and their work, select in the dropdown menu the subject ENGLISH.  A list of "Recommended Databases" and other useful databases are listed under each heading.  

TOP LITERATURE DATABASES :O)

GALE LITERARY SOURCES Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: Artemis Literary Sources ; Gale Literature 
Gale Literary Sources is a platform that provides simultaneous searching across multiple literary resources including: Literature Resource Centre, Literature Criticism Online, and select Gale Virtual Reference titles.

Literature Resource Center Contains biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines.

Literature Criticism Online A series of literary criticism titles representing a range of views on authors and their works. Includes literary commentary from a wide range of sources.

JSTOR
Full text collection of 400+ scholarly journals in all disciplines. For most journals, coverage begins with the first issue published (as far back as 1665) and ends 3 to 5 years back from the present. Searching JSTOR will often retrieve older articles not found by other sources.

mla_bib_med.gif

MLA Bibliography with Full Text Offers a comprehensive collection of journal articles, books and dissertations. Covers the subjects of language, literature, literary theory and criticism, linguistics, printing and publishing.

PROJECT MUSE
Comprehensive selection of arts, humanities and social sciences journals and e-books. Also includes two Native American and Indigenous Studies e-book collections.

TIMES LITERARY SUPPLEMENT HISTORICAL ARCHIVES 
Since 1902, the Times Literary Supplement has forged a reputation for fine writing, literary discoveries and insightful debate. The TLS has attracted the contributions of the world's most influential writers and critics, from T.S. Eliot and Virginia Woolf in the 1920s and 1930s to A.N. Wilson and Christopher Hitchens in the 1990s and 2000s.

UNDERSTANDING SHAKESPEARE 
Understanding Shakespeare is a free resource that is open to the public. The Folger Digital Texts are free to use for all non-commercial uses. Each article title links to the full-text on the main JSTOR website, which is available to people at participating institutions or with individual access to JSTOR. Many articles in Understanding Shakespeare are also available for online reading with a free Register and Read account.
The site is expected to be especially useful to students. It may also be useful to educators teaching these plays, scholars writing about them, and even actors preparing their line-readings.

Periodicals ~ what are they? Newspapers, Popular Magazines and Scholarly Journals

  You may have heard librarians talk about "periodicals".  What is a periodical?
Periodicals are resources that are published periodically (daily, weekly, monthly, yearly).
Newspapers, magazines, and academic journals are all considered periodicals.
       
 
Newspapers   Magazines   Scholarly or Peer-Reviewed Journals
   

Word and World: A Critical Thinking Reader

For newspapers check out Canadian Major Dailies - this full-text database contains major daily Canadian newspapers including the Globe & Mail, the National Post, and the Vancouver Sun.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

   
                          

This site is maintained by the librarians of Okanagan College Library.
If you wish to comment on an individual page, please contact that page's author.
If you have a question or comment about Okanagan College Library's LibGuides site as a whole, please contact the site administrator.