LibGuides: AskAway Policy Page: AskAway Policy Page

General Information

Library homepage: https://www.okanagan.bc.ca/library

General Library Information
Library Branches	There are 4 campus libraries at Okanagan College: Kelowna Campus Library Penticton Campus Library Salmon Arm Campus Library Vernon (Kalamalka) Campus Library
Service Hours	Library Hours
Library Policies	Library policies are available from the Library's About Us page .
Circulation/ Checkout/ Loans Phone Numbers	Kelowna Library: 250-862-5452 Penticton Library: 250-490-3951 Salmon Arm Library: 250-804-8851 Vernon Library: 250-503-2654
Email Address for Reference Questions	Email
Resources & Services
Library Catalogue	FOLIO Access through EDS/OCtopus
Indexes & Databases	https://libguides.okanagan.bc.ca/az.php?a=all Search Google Scholar as OC student using 'Scholar Settings'.
Database Authentication	Off-campus authentication is via EZproxy. Students use their myOkanagan login information.
Discovery Service	EBSCO Discovery Service (a.k.a. OCtopus) Accessible from library home page search box, under "Find" section on website. Should automatically detect mobile devices.
Subject Guides	https://libguides.okanagan.bc.ca/index.php
Local Citation Guides	APA, Chicago and MLA
Instruction	Librarians provide library orientations and research instruction primarily during class time. Schedules vary. Librarians are available by appointment through LibCal.
List of Subject Librarians	Liaison librarians
Reserves	Each campus library has some textbooks on reserve for short term loan. Online reserves may be available through the Library's Talis Aspire resource list system.
Interlibrary Loans	ILL Information Interlibrary loan requests must be placed online.
Ejournals	E-journals, e-books, and streaming media can be found through Publication Finder.
Print Journals	Check OCtopus for holdings and campus library location. Journals are shelved alphabetically by title.
Technical Help	IT Services
Mobile Site	Responsive website layout should adapt to variable screen sizes and devices.
E-Resources Emergency Contact	Greg Hutton Contact if college website, library website, databases or proxy login are unavailable. Please confirm system-wide outage, and not an issue with an individual computer prior to contacting. Clear your browser's cache, test the issue yourself, and ask your colleagues in Campfire to confirm. In your report, include the browser(s) used to access the resource, the name of the resource, the date you tried accessing, screenshots, and the search or process you took to arrive at the error page. Contact: ghutton@okanagan.bc.ca / 250-762-5445 x.4490(office)
Borrowing Information
Library Cards	Cards are available or staff, students, community members & alumni
Loan Periods	Loan periods vary based on borrower type
Holds/ Recalls/ Requests	Requests can be placed online via OCtopus when logged in. Users are notified by phone or e-mail when holds have arrived. Holds are available for pick-up at campus circulation desks.
Renewals	Renew online through OCtopus. Renewals may also be placed in person or by phoning the Circulation Desk of any campus library. Community users need to phone or email campus libraries to renew or request items.
Fines/ Penalties	Loan periods, fines & fees information
Borrowing Policies	Borrowing policies are available from the library policies section.
Library Account Information	Login and access through OCtopus (EDS)
After Hours Returns	Book Drops Kelowna Book drop to the right of the main library entrance Book drop in the staff parking area at the rear Centre for Learning entrance Penticton Book drop to the right of the Ashnola (Library) building entrance Salmon Arm Book drop to the left of the main campus building entrance Vernon Book drop to the right of the library building (building C) entrance
Equipment & Facilities
Internet Access	OC students and employees have access to the Internet by logging onto a library computer. Students and staff use their myOkanagan credentials to login. If it is the first login for a student, the default password is their birthdate, in mmddyy format. Students will be prompted to change their password on their first login.
Wireless Access	Wireless networks available include OCStaff, OCStudent, and OCGuest. Password is provided as part of new student orientation.
Photocopiers	Photocopiers are available in each campus library. Black and white: 10 cents single / 18 cents double Colour: 40 cents single / 78 cents double Purchase print vouchers using cash at any campus library ($2, $5, or $10) or add money to a PayPerPrint account using PayPal.
Printers	Black and white: 10 cents single / 18 cents double Colour: 40 cents single / 78 cents double Pay by adding money to a PayPerPring account using PayPal or purchasing a print voucher using cash at any campus library ($2, $5, or $10). All campus library Information Commons workstations are linked to a laser printer. All campus library offers double-sided printing as the default.
Scanners	Save scanned items to USB or email them to a @myokanagan.bc.ca email account.
Microfilm/ Microfiche	Search OCtopus/EDS for microfilm/microfiche holdings and campus library location. Microform is stored in cabinets alphabetically by title.
Meeting/ Study Rooms	One or more group study rooms are available in each campus library. Rooms can be booked at the campus library circulation desk in Salmon Arm, and bookings can be made online for Kelowna, Penticton or Vernon campus. Rooms are limited to student use. The library website has further information.
Computer Labs	Click the links below for computer lab schedules for: Kelowna Penticton Vernon Lab schedules for Salmon Arm are not available online. Please call the campus at (250) 832-2126. Software available on library and Information Commons workstations varies by campus.
Campus Information
Academic Calendar	https://www.okanagan.bc.ca/calendar/
Class Timetable	https://www.okanagan.bc.ca/classfinder
Exam Schedules	Final exam schedules
Campus Maps	Campus Maps
Other Resources
Index to the Annual Reports of the Okanagan Historical Society	https://open.library.ubc.ca/collections/ohs
Local Area Files	Check the catalogue for clippings from local newspapers. File contents may vary by campus library.
Local Interest Collection (Special Collection)	Collection of books, periodicals, and other materials of interest to the Okanagan region. Located on the Kelowna Campus. Advanced booking recommended. More information available here.
AskAway Local Administrators	Greg Hutton (Systems & Technical) ghutton@okanagan.bc.ca / 250-762-5445, x.4490 Eva Gavaris (Scheduling) egavaris@okanagan.bc.ca / 250-492-4305, x.3224