LibGuides: Astronomy: Articles

Search for Articles Using OCtopus

Use Filters to Refine Your Results

Use Google Scholar to Find More Articles

Off-campus users must have library links set to "Okanagan College" under settings. Browsers must be set to accept Cookies.

Article Databases

You may want to use article databases instead of OCtopus or Google Scholar for more targeted searching. You can use the database thesarus or subject guide to help with search terms:

Astrophysics Data System (ADS) This link opens in a new window
A gateway to online Astronomy and Physics literature.
The SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a Digital Library portal for researchers in Astronomy and Physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory. The ADS maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 11.3 million records (Astronomy and Astrophysics Abstract Service, Instrumentation, Physics and Geophysics, Astrophysics Preprints, astronomical data catalogs and data archives, including those from NASA space missions). Each individual database contains abstracts from articles and monographs published in the different disciplines. The databases cover all the major journals, many minor journals, conference proceedings, several Observatory reports and newsletters, many NASA reports, and PhD theses.
General Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
General Science Abstracts indexes over 300 English-language science periodicals published in the US and Great Britain. Periodical coverage includes popular science magazines as well as professional journals. Subject coverage includes Astronomy, Atmospheric Science, Biology, Botany, Chemistry, Conservation, Earth Science, Environment, Food & Nutrition, Genetics, Health & Medicine, Mathematics, Microbiology, Oceanography, Physics, Physiology and Zoology.
Maximum of 20 simultaneous users across BC ELN partner libraries
AccessScience This link opens in a new window
A searchable version of the latest McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology Online.
Research updates from the McGraw-Hill Yearbooks, the latest Science News headlines, scientist biographies, illustrations and bibliographies. 110,000+ definitions from the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific & Technical Terms.

Astronomy Magazines

Astronomy
"Features articles on all aspects of the universe."
Sky & Telescope
"Written for the knowledgeable amateur astronomer. Articles on space science, astronomy, observatories, planetariums, telescopes and celestial events."

Annual Review

The Annual Review of Astronomy and Astrophysics synthesizes current research on hot topics in the field of Astronomy and Astrophysics, including: the sun; solar system and extrasolar planets; stars; the interstellar medium; galaxy and galaxies; active galactic nuclei; cosmology; and instrumentation and techniques, and the history of the development of new areas of research.

Annual Review of Astronomy and Astrophysics
Volumes 1996-2012 available online