Canadian Literature

OCtopus searches the Library's catalogue and most of the Library's databases in one search.

Enter keywords in the OCtopus search box on the Library's website

"canadian literature" "canadian identity"

"canadian literature" national*

"canadian literature" regional*

"canadian literature" "magic realism"

You may Refine your search results √ Peer Reviewed & Scholarly 

or  limit your search results by Resource types √ Academic Journal

Too many results? Try Limit by Database, MLA International Bibliography, 

or try  Refine your search by Subject

For more results, remove the limiter √ Available in OC Collection

Articles which are not available in full-text  and are not in print in the OC Library collection may be requested by clicking on the link Where can I get this article?

Note: OCtopus searches several but not all of the Library's databases; some additional databases e.g. CBCA can be selected under the "Expand Your Search" section to the right of the search results list

Canadian Literature (1959-current)

Studies in Canadian Literature (1976-current)

Essays on Canadian Writing (1977-2009) 

Canadian Poetry (1977-2012 full-text via Canadian Poetry website, 1989-current in Kelowna Library Periodicals Collection/Storage)

“Book reviews are usually written shortly after a book is published and discuss it as a whole, from the perspective of whether it is worth reading or acquiring. They appear in magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals for the specific purpose of keeping their readers up-to-date on books likely to be of interest to them. Similarly, … film reviews follow openings and help audiences decide what to attend. Criticism, unlike reviews, is usually written some period of time after the work is made public…. Critical books or articles often focus on specific aspects or themes in a book [or] film ….” 

(Baker, Nancy L. and Nancy Huling. A Research Guide for Undergraduate Students: English and American Literature. New York: Modern Language Association of America, 2006, p. 45)

Gale Literary Sources is a platform that provides simultaneous searching of the Literature Resource Center and Literature Criticism Online databases, and selected content from Gale Virtual Reference Library related to literature e.g. Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film

MLA International Bibliography is a comprehensive database for finding scholarly journal articles in the field of language and literature as well as finding book articles/chapters, or critical essays, in edited books. Articles which are not available in full-text may be requested.

Limit your result:    Exclude dissertations √    Language English