After you've chosen a topic to research, you will need to search for information that will introduce you to the topic. Background sources provide you with:
Global Issues In Context supports global awareness and provides a global perspective while tying together a wealth of authoritative content, empowering learners to critically analyze and understand the most important issues of the modern world.
Integrating news, global viewpoints, reference materials, country information, primary source documents, videos, statistics, and more in a single search—Global Issues In Context is updated daily and offers 250 different country topic pages and more than 400 Issue pages. Exclusive to Global Issues In Context, Global Issues Viewpoints contains more than 3,000 exclusive commentaries that provide background and guidance on significant topics.
Access to online specialized subject encyclopedias and other reference works.
Specialized subject encyclopedias, including: Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics & Philosophy, Encyclopedia of Sociology, Environmental Encyclopedia, Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Beliefs, Customs, Tales, Music, & Art, New Dictionary of the History of Ideas, and St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture.
Online dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks & other reference works in subjects areas such as science, nursing, psychology, sociology and other social sciences, business and languages.
Published annually since 1978, this report is an invaluable guide to the economic, social, and environmental state of the world today.
The World Banks World Development Report, published annually since 1978, is an invaluable guide to the economic, social, and environmental state of the world today. Each report provides in-depth analysis and policy recommendations on a specific and important aspect of developmentfrom agriculture, the role of the state, transition economies, and labor to infrastructure, health, the environment, and poverty. Through the quality and timeliness of the information it provides, the report has become a highly influential publication that is used by many multilateral and bilateral international organizations, national governments, scholars, civil society networks and groups, and other global thought leaders to support their decision-making processes. This corporate flagship undergoes extensive internal and external review and is one of the key outputs of the World Bank's Development Economics unit.
A collection of treaties and international agreements registered or filed, and recorded with and published by the Secretariat since 1946. 1946 to present.
2000+ Books, articles, reports, and research papers from 2009-2012 in various fields and from all around the world, including the World Development Report and two World Bank journals, the World Bank Economic Review (WBER) and the World Bank Research Observer (WBRO). More content being added regularly.
Prepared with the assistance of the American Political Science Association (APSA), TEPS brings together a distinguished editorial board and over 600 distinguished and rising scholars to chronicle and assess the core issues that have long concerned students of politics. This comprehensive, multi-volume work traces the evolution of political theories, concepts, research frameworks, and political practices from across the world. As it examines the interplay of political ideas and processes, the encyclopedia also conveys the vitality and excitement of politics in practice.
Contains over 600 entries exploring an extensive range of historical and modern social and political movements throughout the world, protests, and topics that reflect a diversity of social contexts and theoretical perspectives, concepts, processes, and methods.
This site is maintained by the librarians of Okanagan College Library. If you wish to comment on an individual page, please contact that page's author. If you have a question or comment about Okanagan College Library's LibGuides site as a whole, please contact the site administrator.
Hyperpolitics: An Interactive Dictionary of Political Science Concepts by