Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Trades - Plumbing - Library Orientation

Software on Computer Workstations

Computer lab software varies according to campus and the desktop chosen. IT Services maintains a searchable database of software currently available: Computer Lab Software Database. To request additional software be installed on library computers please send a request to the Library. 

Wifi

Eduroam (education roaming) is a wireless network service that provides students, staff, and faculty from Canadian educational institutions secure internet access. Okanagan College students, staff and faculty can use the eduroam wireless network at any member institution using their 9-digit Okanagan College Id followed by @okanagan.bc.ca (e.g. 300123456@okanagan.bc.ca ). The password is the same one you use to log in to any Okanagan College computer.

The eduroam wireless network is our preferred service for mobile device users at Okanagan College. Information on getting connected with your mobile device or laptop can be found on the IT services website. 

The IT Help Desk can be reached by phone (250-762-5445 local 4444), e-mail (support@okanagan.bc.ca), or by submitting a service request online. 

Printing & Copying

As part of its commitment to both financial and environmental sustainability, Okanagan College uses print management software to monitor, track, and charge for printing and copying on campus. The project is called Pay Per Print and uses software called PaperCut. 

Students can purchase credit online via PayPal, or they may purchase a cash voucher at any Campus Store and any Okanagan College Library.

More information about adding credit to your account and other information on Pay Per Print can be found on the Ancillary, Business and Rick Management Services website

Borrow a Laptop

Okanagan College students may borrow a laptop computer from the Library. Same day laptop loans are free, overnight loans are $5. Laptops can be borrowed up to one week for a charge of $25. 

Students must sign a library agreement on a yearly basis to borrow computers. Please fill out the Library Laptop Agreement and bring to a library circulation desk. Individuals will be asked for their student ID when presenting the form.

Troubleshooting

Most off-campus access issues are related to student accounts. Common login problems:

  • Hyphenated or two family/last names: If you have two surnames, join them with a dash instead of a space (i.e. Smith-Jones)
  • Browser autofill: If you have saved your password in Moodle, it may cause problems when trying to login from off-campus. Clear all saved passwords in your Internet Browser, turn OFF autofill, then restart your browser. 
  • Blocked library account: If you have outstanding fees or lost items, your library account may be blocked. Contact your campus library to resolve this issue.

Off-Campus Access

OC students, faculty and staff have access to licensed resources such as article databases from both on and off-campus. To connect to library resources from off-campus you need to begin your research from OC Library. When prompted, log in with a current OC ID number (student or employee) and your family/last name.

If you are using Google Scholar to access articles, you must set-up the 'Library Links' program or authenticate through OC Library prior to accessing articles in Google Scholar. 

If you encounter problems accessing the online databases through the Library Web Site, please contact the OC Web Services Librarian. Include the name of the online database you were trying to access, the error message you received and the date and time you tried to access the database.

This site is maintained by the librarians of Okanagan College Library.
If you wish to comment on an individual page, please contact that page's author.
If you have a question or comment about Okanagan College Library's LibGuides site as a whole, please contact the site administrator.