Step 3 - Primary Sources - Adult Upgrading English 70

Primary Sources

Once you have a basic grasp of the subject area and where your research topic fits in, you can begin to review primary sources to see if they should be included in your research. Primary sources include original manuscripts, case studies, first-person accounts from news articles, broadcast media, the Internet, field study interviews, etc.

Newspapers
Coverage from the major Canadian and International newspapers..
Curio
The new Curio.ca platform provides streaming access to the best in educational content from CBC and Radio-Canada. Find documentaries from TV and radio, news reports, archival material, excerpts and more thousands of programs and resources available.
News in Review
Full access to 23 years of CBC News video and audio archives. Archive version is available here.
Internet browsers Firefox, Chrome, or Internet Explorer v. 9 or higher are recommended for viewing videos.
Government of Canada Web Archive
The Government of Canada Web Archive provides access to Canadian web content collected and preserved by Library and Archives Canada.
National Film Board Campus
Watch hundreds of NFB films online, including documentaries, animation and alternative dramas.
Kanopy Streaming Video
Online video streaming service distributing films from BBC, PBS, Media Education Foundation, and many others. Provides an excellent selection of classic and contemporary educational documentaries and theatrical films.
Filmakers Library Online
Award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculumrace and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more.
Audio Cine Films
Streaming access to almost 800 popular and classic movies. All videos have Public Performance Rights and can be legally shown in a college setting or viewed from home. Titles are available in HD multi-lingual streaming formats. Requested movies may be added if available, contact your liaison librarian to request titles. Click 'more' to see the full list of studios covered. Chrome browser is recommended for viewing. Swank Media Player is required for viewing on mobile devices (free through app store).
Criterion-on-Demand
A streaming media service offering access to 2000+ major motion pictures, largely popular feature films and documentaries.
*Works best in Chrome Internet browser*