Adult Upgrading English 80

Statistics Canada is the national statistical office. The agency ensures Canadians have the key information on Canada's economy, society and environment that they require to function effectively as citizens and decision-makers.

The Consumer Price Index (CPI) represents changes in prices as experienced by Canadian consumers. It measures price change by comparing, through time, the cost of a fixed basket of goods and services. The goods and services in the CPI basket are divided into 8 major components: Food; Shelter; Household operations, furnishings and equipment; Clothing and footwear; Transportation; Health and personal care; Recreation, education and reading, and Alcoholic beverages, tobacco products and recreational cannabis. CPI data are published at various levels of geography including Canada, the ten provinces, Whitehorse, Yellowknife and Iqaluit.

In September, the Consumer Price Index (CPI) rose 3.8% on a year-over-year basis, down from a 4.0% gain in August. The year-over-year deceleration was broad-based, stemming from lower prices for some travel-related services, durable goods and groceries.

For governments, businesses, and individuals alike, every change in the price of a barrel of oil, a month's rent, or even a loaf of bread has an impact on how we spend—and earn—our money. Statistics Canada tracks these and many other price movements using a number of key indexes.

The Consumer Price Index (CPI) represents changes in prices as experienced by Canadian consumers. It measures price change by comparing, through time, the cost of a fixed basket of goods and services.

Producer prices are the prices at which businesses sell their products or services to others (for example, the government, consumers or other businesses).
Producer Price Indexes (PPI) track the average change in prices Canadian producers receive or pay for goods and services over time.

Bringing together data, tools and analytical papers to provide you with the latest information on retail and wholesale in Canada.

The Survey of Household Spending (SHS) is a national survey that gathers information on the spending habits of Canadians and allows us to measure changes in these spending patterns. It looks at how much households pay for, among others, food, clothing, shelter, and transportation. Data comes as an Excel Spreadsheet that you download. Includes BC and Canada SHS data.

This portal offers free, easy-to-use access to the latest housing market data for Kelowna. and Canada.

Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation (CMHC) is Canada’s national housing agency.

This housing data provides a comprehensive picture of housing credit payments in Canada. This covers small, medium and large Census Metropolitan Areas (CMAs). You’ll find a wide range of data calculated for average monthly scheduled payments for mortgages, HELOCs, lines of Credit, Auto loans, credit cards, etc. Includes data for Kelowna Census Metropolitan Area (CMA).

The Bank of Canada is the nation's central bank. Our main role is “to promote the economic and financial welfare of Canada,” as defined in the Bank of Canada Act.

The inflation section contains a brief description of the measures of inflation the Bank of Canada monitors, and provides links to inflation data, the agreement on the inflation-control target, and related research and publications and explainers.

This calculator uses monthly consumer price index (CPI) data from 1914 to the present to show changes in the cost of a fixed "basket" of consumer purchases. These include food, shelter, furniture, clothing, transportation, recreation, education, etc.

People who work for low wages face impossible choices—buy groceries or heat the house, keep up with bills or pay the rent on time. The result can be spiraling debt, constant anxiety and long-term health problems. In many cases it means working long hours, often at multiple jobs, just to pay for basic necessities. Parents end up having little time to spend with their families, much less to help their children with school work or participate in community activities and we are all poorer for it.