Therapy Assistant Diploma Program Sample of Books, E-Books and Media

There is increasing pressure on therapists to provide details of structured assessments and to report therapy outcomes to funders, employers and co-workers. This edited volume provides a series of case studies, with varied client groups, giving arts therapists an accessible introduction to assessment and outcome measures that can be easily incorporated into their regular practice. The book provides demonstrations, within a practice-based evidence framework, of how measures can be tailored to the individual client's needs. The case studies show assessment and outcome models for music therapy, art therapy and dramatherapy used with a range of client groups including people with intellectual disabilities, Autism Spectrum Disorders, Multiple Sclerosis and Parkinson's Disease and those suffering from depression, Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder or coping with bereavement.

Providing people with dementia with opportunities to engage in creative activity can play a crucial role in maintaining and enhancing communication, and in reinforcing personhood and identity. This thoughtful book describes how people with dementia, and the people who work with and care for them, can foster and develop a creative approach, and provides rich and varied ideas for creative activities. The authors explore the concept of creativity - what exactly it is, its particular relevance for people with dementia and how to get into the creative 'flow'. They introduce a range of creative art forms, including poetry and story-telling, collage, drama, music-making, photography, textiles and working with wood and metal, and suggest possibilities for employing them in a range of settings, and with people of all abilities. Consideration is given to the practicalities of facilitating such creative work, including how to organise and run sessions, how to involve people with dementia and their carers, and how to reflect upon the experience. Practice examples are included throughout the book, as well as the comments and observations of people with dementia, and many examples of the artwork and poetry the authors have created with people with dementia over the years. Brimming with ideas, suggestions and helpful guidance, this is an essential resource for all those who work with people with dementia, and an inspiring read for people with dementia and their families.

Art and the therapeutic uses of art provide older adults with valuable ways in which to express and share their feelings, needs and fears, and with a resource for coping with life's major changes. This practical book is filled with step-by-step exercises for art therapists and other professionals to use in work with older adults, either individually or in groups. The author provides brief, imaginative warm-ups, which encourage participants to become more at ease expressing themselves creatively. She offers ideas for engaging and innovative creative projects across a range of media, including art, music, movement, poetry and creative writing, all of which can be adapted, personalised or combined to meet the particular needs of individual participants. Points to consider when working with this client group are explored, and case study examples, with participants' artwork, are included throughout. Appropriate for use with all relatively able older adults, including those with depression, anxiety or in the early stages of dementia, this will be an invaluable tool for art therapists as well as counsellors, psychotherapists, social workers and carers.

This text weaves clinical applications of object relations-based art therapy with the Kestenberg Art Profile to depict art from a developmental perspective with the intent of applying this knowledge to support best art therapy practice. Through examples of developmental art theorists' contributions, case illustrations offer a focus on the use of art therapy with children who have varying needs including emotional disturbance, developmental delay or social adjustment needs due to genetic or environmental factors, developmental or learning disabilities, neurological impairment, physical disabilities, cultural disadvantage, sexual and/or physical abuse, severe trauma or medical illness.

Art Therapy, Trauma, and Neuroscience combines theory, research, and practice with traumatized populations in a neuroscience framework. Recognizing the importance of understanding both art therapy and trauma studies as brain-based interventions, some of the most renowned figures in art therapy and trauma use translational and integrative neuroscience to provide theoretical and applied techniques. Therapists will come away from this book with tools for a refined understanding of brain-based interventions in a dynamic yet accessible format.

Foundations of Therapeutic Recreation, Second Edition, introduces students to the many career possibilities in the field of therapeutic recreation. Drawing on the combined wisdom and expertise of editors Terry Long and Terry Robertson, as well as 20 contributing authors who represent a broad spectrum of experiences within the discipline, the text provides the foundational concepts that are essential for understanding the profession. One of the more significant updates to the second edition of Foundations of Therapeutic Recreation is a more contemporary description of models of practice, including significant attention to strength-based models and approaches to practice. In addition, the second edition has been updated to reflect current National Council for Therapeutic Recreation Certification (NCTRC) requirements for obtaining the Certified Therapeutic Recreation Specialist (CTRS) credential. Other updates to this edition include the following: Integration of more global perspectives on therapeutic recreation Greater emphasis of evidence-based practice for designing and delivering enjoyable and beneficial therapeutic recreation interventions Streamlined content and reorganized chapters to facilitate a natural progression throughout the semester Each chapter contains a summary and discussion questions to help assess and promote retention of key concepts. In addition, case studies provide students with a glimpse of client issues they may face in the future, and professional profiles highlight outstanding professionals in the field. Students will discover potential areas in which therapeutic recreation can be practiced--including mental health centers, programs for those with developmental disabilities, physical rehabilitation facilities, youth development programs, and programs for the aging population--and will also be exposed to potential changes and uses of therapeutic recreation as technology innovations, public policy, and service demand trends evolve. Plus, instructors will find a suite of ancillaries to assist in managing their course. The instructor guide includes learning objectives for each chapter along with sample classroom activities and assignments. The test bank has been expanded, and the presentation package has undergone significant revisions to reflect the content of the text. Foundations of Therapeutic Recreation, Second Edition, provides students with evidence-based information on fundamental concepts in the field of therapeutic recreation. With a reader-friendly format and engaging style, this text will help students explore the various career possibilities in the field.

This book provides information that connects to health and human service competencies in the field of geriatric, gerontology, and interprofessional practice. It also provides an overview of gerontology and geriatric topics in addition to best practices in recreational therapy.

This book gives therapists a comprehensive resource of fun and therapeutic activities and games to use in a variety of settings with people of all ages and abilities. It consolidates activities from top publications and resources, including Harbin's The fun Encyclopedia, and from practitioners working in the field. The activities in this book have been designed to focus on specific goals and objectives for use as therapeutic tools. Most activities include debriefing questions and some have discussion built into their procedure. Recreational therapists, as well as other therapists, can directly adopt and employ the activities and games in this book or simply use these to spark their creativity.

This work discusses the ATRA Code of Ethics for practicing therapists.

This book explores the wide range of illnesses, conditions, and disorders that therapeutic recreation specialists (TRSs) commonly encounter as they provide professional services. While it is impossible to include every disorder to which TRSs may be exposed, the authors have drawn from their combined 40 years of professional experience to select the conditions and disorders most relevant to the therapeutic recreation profession.

Exercise and exercise therapy for older people.

Recreational Therapy for Specific Diagnoses and Conditions offers detailed descriptions of 39 diagnoses and conditions that are treated by recreational therapists. Each diagnosis chapter has a description of the diagnosis or condition, including the incidence or prevalence and the ages most affected. This is followed by the causes of the condition; social, emotional, and bodily systems affected; secondary problems that may be found; and information about the patient's prognosis. The next section of the chapter is devoted to the assessment process for the whole treatment team and, in more detail, what the recreational therapist must do to assess the status of the patient. Specific assessment tools and connections to the categories of the World Health Organization's International Classification of Functioning, Disability, and Health are provided.