LibGuides: Therapy Assistant Diploma Program Sample of Books, E-Books and Media : Reference

Sample of Health Sciences Reference Collection

Books
E-Books

Bowes and Church's Food Values of Portions Commonly Used by Jean A. T. Pennington; Judith Spungen
Call Number: TX 551 .P385 2010
ISBN: 9780781781343
Publication Date: 2009-08-24
This classic guide to nutrition has helped put the "balance" in balanced diets since 1937! Now completely updated for the Nineteenth Edition, this bestseller continues to supply authoritative data on the nutritional value of foods in a form for quick and easy reference. The book's main table reflects the current food supply—listing more than 6,300 common foods—and contains data on the nutritional content of foods, organized by food groups.
Color Atlas of Physiology by Stefan Silbernagl; Agamemnon Despopoulos
Call Number: QP 34.5 .S5313 2015
ISBN: 9783135450070
Publication Date: 2015-05-13
The seventh edition of this classic atlas makes mastering large amounts of complex information much easier. It provides a thorough review of everything medical students need to know to pass their pre-clinical physiology exams. Section topics include the nerves and muscles, blood, respiration, the cardiovascular system, digestion, and reproduction. This revised and expanded edition also features entirely new material on ageing, obesity, the urinary bladder, and cell physiology of the skeletal muscles. The many user-friendly features of this book include: Almost 200 outstanding full-color illustrations and 10 new color plates Side-by-side images with callouts Visual highlighting of clinically relevant and pathophysiologic information with clinical key words on every page In a compact, user-friendly format, Color Atlas of Physiology, Seventh Edition, is an invaluable and ideal study guide and reference for medical students preparing for their physiology examinations.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5 by American Psychiatric Association Staff
ISBN: 9780890425541
Publication Date: 2013-05-22
This new edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5), used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders, is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health. Their dedication and hard work have yielded an authoritative volume that defines and classifies mental disorders in order to improve diagnoses, treatment, and research. The criteria are concise and explicit, intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings--inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care. New features and enhancements make DSM-5 easier to use across all settings: * The chapter organization reflects a lifespan approach, with disorders typically diagnosed in childhood (such as neurodevelopmental disorders) at the beginning of the manual, and those more typical of older adults (such as neurocognitive disorders) placed at the end. Also included are age-related factors specific to diagnosis. * The latest findings in neuroimaging and genetics have been integrated into each disorder along with gender and cultural considerations.* The revised organizational structure recognizes symptoms that span multiple diagnostic categories, providing new clinical insight in diagnosis. * Specific criteria have been streamlined, consolidated, or clarified to be consistent with clinical practice (including the consolidation of autism disorder, Asperger's syndrome, and pervasive developmental disorder into autism spectrum disorder; the streamlined classification of bipolar and depressive disorders; the restructuring of substance use disorders for consistency and clarity; and the enhanced specificity for major and mild neurocognitive disorders).* Dimensional assessments for research and validation of clinical results have been provided.* Both ICD-9-CM and ICD-10-CM codes are included for each disorder, and the organizational structure is consistent with the new ICD-11 in development. The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers of all orientations. The information contained in the manual is also valuable to other physicians and health professionals, including psychologists, counselors, nurses, and occupational and rehabilitation therapists, as well as social workers and forensic and legal specialists.
Dictionary of Developmental Disabilities Terminology by Pasquale J. Accardo; Barbara Y. Whitman; Jennifer A. Accardo; Joann N. Bodurtha; Anne Farrell; Toni Goelz; Jill Morrow-Gorton; Gale B. Rice; Ginger Smith
Call Number: RJ 135 .A26 2011
ISBN: 9781598570700
Publication Date: 2011-02-01
More than 4,000 disability terms, with the clearest, most accurate definitions, that's what professionals will get in this third edition of the bestselling dictionary, now fully updated and expanded just in time for its 15th anniversary. The go-to disability reference since its first edition was published in 1996, this comprehensive dictionary gives readers jargon-free definitions of disorders, diagnoses, interventions, programs, anatomical terms, medical equipment, behaviours, assistive technologies, and more, all the terms they'll need to know to work effectively with children, adults, and other professionals. A diverse team of experts carefully reviewed and revised every entry in this new edition, making each defintion as clear, user friendly, and up to date as possible. Readers will get: 800 all-new entries, streamlined, easy-to-use entries on assessment tools; more on rapidly changing topic areas such as autism, genetics, technology, and speech-language pathology; and definitions of new medications and their uses.
Encyclopedia of Aging
Call Number: HQ 1061 .E534 2002
ISBN: 0028654722
Publication Date: 2002-07-03
This four-volume academic set covers the subject of aging from a social, cultural, sociological, biological, medical, anthropological, religious/philosophical, and economic point of view. Special attention has been paid to cross-national differences in policies and approaches related to aging. For example, the inclusion of an article on euthanasia, listing the various approaches to this practice in different countries.
The Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders and Birth Defects by James Wynbrandt; Mark D. Ludman
Call Number: RB 155.5 .W96 2008
ISBN: 9780816063963
Publication Date: 2008-04-30
In recent years, doctors and scientists have made great strides in increasing our knowledge of hundreds of genetic disorders. Many serious disorders have now been identified as having a genetic basis, and treatment for birth defects has improved substantially.""The Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders and Birth Defects, Third Edition"" offers lay readers and professionals alike the most comprehensive single-volume reference to congenital disorders and birth defects. This accessible volume contains more than 1,000 expertly written entries - including more than 135 new entries and more than 60 revised entries, extensive appendixes providing updated tables of statistics and directories of service and support groups, and a concise introductory history of human genetics. This new edition has been extensively updated to reflect the most current research.
Grant's Atlas of Anatomy by Anne M. R. Agur; Arthur F. Dalley
Call Number: QM 25 .A38 2017
ISBN: 9781469890685
Publication Date: 2016-02-24
Real-world guidance for today's anatomy lab. Illustrations drawn from real specimens, presented in surface-to-deep dissection sequence, set Grant's Atlas of Anatomy apart as the most accurate reference available for learning human anatomy. These realistic representations provide students with the ultimate lab resource. For more than seventy years, Grant's Atlas of Anatomy has continually adapted to meet the needs of each generation of students, while maintaining the Grant's tradition of excellence. The meticulously updated fourteenth edition is a visually stunning reference that delivers the accuracy, pedagogy, and clinical relevance expected of this classic atlas, with new features that make it even more practical and user-friendly: Recolorization of the original Grant's Atlas images from high-resolution scans add a new level of organ luminosity and tissue transparency, and enable the formation of 3D constructs for each body region. This lavish visual enhancement ensures a vastly improved experience in learning the structure and function of the human body. See the enhanced color and detail here: https://youtu.be/KdLzQUoG54Y Schematic illustrations now feature a uniform style and consistent coloring , clearly showing the relationships of structures and clarifying anatomical concepts. Newly revised legends with highlighted clinical applications describe the anatomic features and provide context for health care practice. Enhanced medical imaging includes more than 100 clinically significant MRIs, CT images, ultrasound scans, and corresponding orientation drawings. Updated and improved tables help organize muscles, vessels, and other anatomic information in an easy-to-use format ideal for review and study.
Gray's Anatomy by Susan Standring (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: QM 23.2 .G73 2016
ISBN: 9780702052309
Publication Date: 2015-09-25
In 1858, Drs. Henry Gray and Henry Vandyke Carter created a book for their surgical colleagues that established an enduring standard among anatomical texts. After more than 150 years of continuous publication, Gray's Anatomy remains the definitive, comprehensive reference on the subject, offering ready access to the information you need to ensure safe, effective practice. This 41st edition has been meticulously revised and updated throughout, reflecting the very latest understanding of clinical anatomy from field leaders around the world. The book's traditional lavish art programme and clear text have been further honed and enhanced, while major advances in imaging techniques and the new insights they bring are fully captured in new state-of-the-art X-ray, CT, MR, and ultrasonic images. The completely reconfigured accompanying eBook version is richly enhanced with additional content and media, covering all the body regions, cell biology and embryogenesis. This unlocks a whole new level of related information, interactivity and understanding, in keeping with the spirit of innovation that has characterized Gray's Anatomy since its inception. Presents the most detailed and dependable coverage of anatomy available anywhere. Regional organization collects all relevant material on each body area together in one place, making access to core information easier for clinical readers. Anatomical information is matched with key clinical information where relevant. Numerous clinical discussions emphasize considerations that may affect medical care. Each chapter has been edited by experts in their field, ensuring access to the very latest evidence-based information on that topic. More than 1,000 completely new photographs, including an extensive electronic collection of the latest X-ray, CT, MR, and histological images. The downloadable Expert Consult eBook version included with your purchase allows you to search all of the text, figures, references and videos from the book on a variety of devices. Carefully selected electronic enhancements include additional text, tables, illustrations, labelled imaging and videos - as well as 24 specially invited 'Commentaries' on new and emerging topics related to anatomy. Your purchase entitles you to access the web site until the next edition is published, or until the current edition is no longer offered for sale by Elsevier, whichever occurs first. If the next edition is published less than one year after your purchase, you will be entitled to online access for one year from your date of purchase. Elsevier reserves the right to offer a suitable replacement product (such as a downloadable or CD-ROM-based electronic version) should access to the web site be discontinued.
The Language of Mental Health by Narriman C. Shahrokh; Robert E. Hales; Katharine A. Phillips; Stuart C. Yudofsky
Call Number: RC 437 .L28 2011
ISBN: 9781585623457
Publication Date: 2011-03-07
For many years, the American Psychiatric Glossary has been the standard reference for psychiatrists, residents, psychiatric social workers, and other mental health professionals. Last published 8 years ago, it enjoyed unparalleled dominance in the mental health market. Now comes The Language of Mental Health: A Glossary of Psychiatric Terms, which is designed not only to replace its predecessor but also to improve upon its offerings and bring the content firmly into the twenty-first century. This comprehensive, user-friendly reference boasts an abundance of features, both time-tested and new, as follows: * The number of Glossary definitions has been increased by 25%, and coverage has been expanded to include terms specific to newer psychiatric subspecialties, such as geriatric psychiatry, addiction psychiatry, psychosomatic medicine, and child and adolescent psychiatry.* The section on "Medications Used in Psychiatry" is expanded and up to date. Medications are organized by drug class (e.g., antidepressants), subclass (e.g., selective serotonin reuptake inhibitors), trade name (e.g., Prozac), and generic name (e.g., fluoxetine).* The section on "Psychiatric Measures" is robust and detailed. For example, the entry under "Neuropsychiatric Measures for Cognitive Disorders" lists nearly a dozen assessments, along with their acronyms or abbreviations.* The section on "Mental Health Resources" includes vital descriptions and current contact information for dozens of organizations. The Web addresses are especially useful for those seeking immediate assistance or access to information. Although the reference maintains the level of theoretical, diagnostic, and therapeutic accuracy one would expect from a book for clinicians, it will also prove useful to advocacy groups, attorneys, and mental health patients and their families. Compact enough to slip into a pocket or briefcase, yet substantial enough to withstand frequent consultations and extended study, The Language of Mental Health is a worthy successor to the American Psychiatric Glossary and is the only reference of its caliber and completeness on the market.
The Penguin Atlas of Women in the World by Joni Seager
Call Number: G 1046 .E1 S4 2009
ISBN: 9780143114512
Publication Date: 2008-11-25
The most up-to-date global perspective on how women are living today across continents and cultures In this completely revised and updated fourth edition of her groundbreaking atlas, Joni Seager provides comprehensive and accessible analysis of up-to-the-minute global data on the key issues facing women today: equality, motherhood, feminism, the culture of beauty, women at work, women in the global economy, changing households, domestic violence, lesbian rights, women in government, and more. The result is an invaluable resource on the status of women around the world today.
Quick Reference Dictionary for Occupational Therapy by Karen Jacobs; Laela Simon
Call Number: RM 735 .J345 2015
ISBN: 9781617116469
Publication Date: 2014-08-30
Quick Reference Dictionary for Occupational Therapy has been a leading resource for more than 15 years and has provided occupational therapy professionals and students with pertinent information right at their fingertips. Now revised and updated into a Sixth Edition, this pocket-size resource includes the latest information in the field of occupational therapy. Quick Reference Dictionary for Occupational Therapy, Sixth Edition by Dr. Karen Jacobs and Laela Simon remains the only comprehensive dictionary available specifically for occupational therapy. The handy, conveniently sized dictionary provides a quick reference to words, their definitions, and important resources used in daily practice and academic training. The changes in diagnoses that have recently occurred, as well as changes in the U.S. health care system, have also been incorporated into this Sixth Edition. Nearly 4,000 terms are defined and more than 70 appendices are included. Some of the 70 new appendices include: Useful Apps for Occupational Therapy Evidence-Based Practice, Levels of Evidence, and Qualitative Research Stages of Alzheimer's Disease - Seven Stages From the Alzheimer's Foundation Energy Conservation Techniques Nutrition Safe Patient Handling and Movement Skills Thoracic Outlet Syndrome Grip Development and Stages of Writing Occupational therapy and occupational therapy assistants, clinicians, faculty, and students will benefit from the easy-to-use format and updated information that Quick Reference Dictionary for Occupational Therapy, Sixth Edition has to offer. This valuable tool can be used by students completing fieldwork and new practitioners just starting out, and also serves as a handy reference for seasoned practitioners.
Quick Reference Dictionary for Physical Therapy by Jennifer Bottomley
Call Number: RM 696.5 .Q53 2013
ISBN: 9781617110702
Publication Date: 2012-08-15
Quick Reference Dictionary for Physical Therapy has been revised and updated into a Third Edition to include the latest information in the field of physical therapy. This reference book, designed specifically for the physical therapy and physical therapist assistant student and practitioner, provides a magnitude of terms, definitions, guidelines, and references essential to the field. This Third Edition provides quick access to over 3400 words and their definitions that are encountered on a day-to-day basis (400 more than the previous edition). There are also 41 appendices in this user-friendly, pocket-sized reference where you can find information such as lists of general acronyms and abbreviations for words commonly used in physical therapy/rehabilitation; commonly used acronyms for evaluative tests and measures; and definitions of impairment, disability, and handicap as established and accepted by the World Health Organization. What is new inside the Third Edition: * More than 100 new abbreviations and acronyms * Updated Code of Ethics for the Physical Therapist * A new Drug Prescribing and Elimination Abbreviations appendix * Updates to suggested readings Quick Reference Dictionary for Physical Therapy, Third Edition is the perfect, pocket size, affordable companion for school, clinical affiliations, and physical therapy practice.

Atlas of Child Development by Paul Kershaw; Lori Irwin; Kate Trafford; Clyde Hertzman; Peter Schaub
Call Number: HQ 792 .C22 B75 2005
ISBN: 0919838308
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
The Human Early Learning Partnership (HELP) involves over 200 faculty, researchers, and graduate students from six of British Columbia's universities. Its mission is to create, promote, and apply new knowledge through promoting interdisciplinary research designed to help children thrive. The Early Development Mapping Project is a core research activity within HELP, and this Atlas represents one of its major achievements. It should be viewed as a community planning tool designed to help organizations and individuals who are involved in achieving the objectives of the National Children's Agenda.The first chapter of this Atlas outlines the geography of British Columbia. This is followed by a brief demographic survey of early childhood in the province, visually displaying where children live and their ethnic and language diversity. The third chapter reports on results obtained using the Early Development Instrument (EDI) and illustrates near future developmental opportunities and challenges. Chapter 4 focuses on the social and economic characteristics of neighbourhoods that co-occur with favourable and worrisome EDI trends. The Atlas concludes by discussing the implications of EDI and socioeconomic data for community planning and public policy. Print copies available at all campus libraries
Atlas of Human Anatomy by Frank H. Netter
ISBN: 9781416059516
Publication Date: 2010-05-03
Atlas of Human Anatomy uses Frank H. Netter, MD's detailed illustrations to demystify this often intimidating subject, providing a coherent, lasting visual vocabulary for understanding anatomy and how it applies to medicine. This 5th Edition features a stronger clinical focus-with new diagnostic imaging examples-making it easier to correlate anatomy with practice. Student Consult online access includes supplementary learning resources, from additional illustrations to an anatomy dissection guide and more. Netter. It's how you know. See anatomy from a clinical perspective with hundreds of exquisite, hand-painted illustrations created by, and in the tradition of, pre-eminent medical illustrator Frank H. Netter, MD. Join the global community of healthcare professionals who've mastered anatomy the Netter way! Expand your study at studentconsult.com, where you'll find a suite of learning aids including selected Netter illustrations, additional clinically-focused illustrations and radiologic images, videos from Netter's 3D Interactive Anatomy, dissection modules, an anatomy dissection guide, multiple-choice review questions, "drag-and-drop" exercises, clinical pearls, clinical cases, survival guides, surgical procedures, and more. Correlate anatomy with practice through an increased clinical focus, many new diagnostic imaging examples, and bonus clinical illustrations and guides online.
The British Columbia atlas of wellness by Leslie T. Foster, C. Peter Keller, Brian McKee, Aleck Ostry
Call Number: RA 407.5 .C3 F68 2011eb
ISBN: 9780919838345
Publication Date: 2011
The BC Atlas of Wellness follows a distinguished tradition in health-related mapping to show variations and inequities in various wellness-related indicators. Topics included in the Atlas cover traditional indicators related to the determinants of health and wellness and healthy public policies. There are also many unique indicators. The material is grounded in the physical and demographic diversity of BC, and an important feature of the Atlas is that it uses the ActNow BC health promotion initiative as a framework to present the mapped indicators. Print editions available at all campus libraries.
Concise Medical Dictionary by Elizabeth Martin (Editor)
ISBN: 9780199687817
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Written by a team of medical experts, this market-leading illustrated dictionary contains 12,400 authoritative entries covering all aspects of medical science. The text has been fully revised and updated for this new edition to reflect the very latest in medical knowledge and practice. Entriesare accessible and jargon-free and are complemented by over 145 illustrations and diagrams.This brand new edition includes over 450 new entries and features up-to-date coverage of public health medicine and general practice, drugs and pharmacology, endocrinology (particularly diabetology), and cardiology, amongst other specialist areas. Recommended web links are provided for many entries,accessible and kept up to date via the Medical Dictionary Companion website, and appendices have been expanded to include units of alcohol and the calculation of alcohol by volume, and a table of inherited medical conditions.Selling over a million copies in previous editions, this is an essential A-Z for students and those working in the medical and allied professions, including nurses, pharmacists, physiotherapists, social workers, hospital administrators, and medical secretaries. It is also an invaluable homereference guide for the general reader.
A Dictionary of Nursing by Jonathan Law (Editor); Tanya A. McFerran
ISBN: 9780198864646
Publication Date: 2021-07-20
The new edition of this bestselling and trusted dictionary has been fully revised to take account of recent developments in nursing practice and related fields. Updates to this edition cover many areas, with a particular focus on radiography, public health and the NHS, theoretical concepts familiar in nursing education, and key vocabulary used in the 2018 Nursing and Midwifery Council (NMC) Standards of Proficiency for Registered Nurses.Written by medical and nursing specialists, and offering more than 10,500 clear and concise entries on nursing theory and practice, the dictionary provides comprehensive coverage of the ever-expanding vocabulary of the nursing professions. As well as nursing-specific terms, there are also many entries in the fields of medicine, anatomy, physiology, ethics, psychiatry, nutrition, dentistry, statistics, and pharmacology. Almost 100 helpful illustrations and tables, and 16 appendices covering the calculation of drug dosages, religion and nursing practice, recommended alcohol intake, and much more, help to make this an essential reference tool for all nursing students and professionals.
Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary by Dorland
ISBN: 9781416062578
Publication Date: 2011-05-02
Understand and correctly use all the latest terminology in today's ever-evolving medical field with the 32nd Edition of the comprehensive, highly respected Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary! Thoroughly updated, this user-friendly reference-trusted for more than a century by healthcare personnel at every professional level-allows you to grasp the meanings of all medical terms in current usage. It delivers more total entries than in any other dictionary of its kind, including several thousand new words, as well as 500 new illustrations to aid your understanding. Plus, with the bonus CD-ROM, you can listen to 35,000 audio pronunciations! And you can consult the dictionary anytime, anywhere online with free access to www.Dorlands.com. Easily stay up with the changing terminology in your field by depending on Dorland's-the most reliable medical dictionary available today! Enhance your understanding of all the current medical terminology in your field by relying on the most comprehensive and highly respected medical dictionary, bringing you more than 120,000 well-defined entries and 1500 clear illustrations. Listen to 35,000 audio pronunciations. Search www.Dorlands.com on the Internet anytime, anywhere for all of the language integral to contemporary medicine. Make sure you're familiar with the very latest medical terms used today with more than 5,500 new entries drawn from current sources. Complement your understanding of new words and ideas in medicine with 500 new illustrations Get more information in a smaller amount of space as the revised entry format includes related parts of speech. Dorland's: The first and last word in medicine for over 110 years
Encyclopedia of Health and Aging by Kyriakos S. Markides (Editor)
ISBN: 9781412909495
Publication Date: 2007-04-13
"The Encyclopedia of Aging and Health is both a comprehensive reference of best practices across gerontology-related fields and a philosophical work that inspires its readers to embrace a loftier and more global view of aging beyond disability and medications."--GerontologistAs an ever increasing percentage of the population of western societies enters "old age," health issues grow in importance in terms of the well-being of this population, economic impact within the health-care system, impacts on families and family relationships, and so many other ways. The Encyclopedia of Health and Aging presents state-of-the-art research and ready-to-use facts on health and aging. This one-volume resource captures some of the excitement of the research in the field in terms of new findings as well as conceptual developments guiding research, practice, and policy. With more than 200 entries, it covers the biological, psychological, social, and economic aspects of health and aging and impacts within the health-care system. This Encyclopedia also focuses heavily on geriatrics with respect to geriatric syndromes and common diseases of aging. Key Features Addresses a full spectrum of topics, including acute illness, Alzheimer′s disease, bereavement, economic dependency, health-care costs, health promotion, hospice care, long-term care, medications, nursing homes, optimal aging, public policy, quality of life, spousal care-giving, widowhood, and much more Discusses landmark studies such as (Duke Longitudinal Studies, the Established Populations for the Epidemiological Study of the Elderly, Health and Retirement Study, and the National Long Term Care Survey) as well as important programs (Social Security, Meals on Wheels, and Medicaid/Medicare, etc.) Offers cross-disciplinary coverage with contributions from the fields of gerontology, epidemiology, health psychology, biology, sociology, health and medicine, and public policy Provides health and aging issues from around the world including Mexico, Canada, Latin America, Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia, and New Zealand Includes a list of 45 online resources on health and aging Key Themes: Aging and the Brain Diseases and Medical Conditions Drug Related Issues Function and Syndromes Mental Health and Psychology Nutritional Issues Physical Status Prevention and Health Behaviors Sociodemographic and Cultural Issues Studies of Aging and Systems of Care The Encyclopedia of Health and Aging is a must-have reference for any academic, as it appeals to a broad audience such as scholars within programs of gerontology and health, graduate students, members of the media, policy makers and health-care advocates, and the general reader.
Imaging Anatomy of the Human Spine by Neil M. Borden; Scott E. Foreseen
ISBN: 9781936287826
Publication Date: 2015-10-30
The most precise, cutting-edge images of normal spinal anatomy available today are the centerpiece of this spectacular atlas for clinicians, trainees, andstudents in the neurologically-based medical specialties. Truly an ' atlas for the 21st century, ' this comprehensive visual reference presents a detailedoverview of spinal anatomy acquired through the use of multiple imaging modalities and advanced techniques that allow visualization of structures notpossible with conventional MRI or CT. A series of unique full-color structural images derived from 3D models based on actual images in the book furtherenhances understanding of spinal anatomy and spatial relationships. Written by two neuroradiologists who are also prominent educators, the atlas begins with a brief introduction to the development, organization, andfunction of the human spine. What follows is more than 650 meticulously presented and labelled images acquired with the full complement of standard andadvanced modalities currently used to visualize the human spine and adjacent structures' including x-ray, fluoroscopy, MRI, CT, CTA, MRA, digitalsubtraction angiography, and ultrasound of the neonatal spine. The vast array of data that these modes of imaging provide offer a wider window into thespine and allow the reader an unobstructed view of the anatomy presented to inform clinical decisions or enhance understanding of this complex region.Additionally, various anatomic structures can be viewed from modality to modality and from multiple planes. This state-of-the-art atlas elevates conventional anatomic spine topography to the cutting edge of technology. It will serve as an authoritative learningtool in the classroom, and as a crucial practical resource at the workstation or in the office or clinic. Key Features: Provides detailed views of anatomic structures within and around the human spine utilizing over 650 high quality images across a broad range of imaging modalities Contains several examples of the use of imaging anatomic landmarks in the performance of interventional spine procedures Contains extensively labeled images of all regions of the spine and adjacent areas that can be compared and contrasted across modalities Serves as an authoritative learning tool for students and trainees and practical reference for clinicians in multiple specialties
Muscle Testing by Earle Abrahamson; Jane Langston
ISBN: 9781912085651
Publication Date: 2019-10-28
Muscle testing - A Concise Manual, provides a reference for understanding how structure relates to function, and how by knowing function we can learn structural configurations. The book summarises the key anatomical facts and figures, give methods for muscle testing by several techniques, and provides clinically useful information to supplement the tests.
The Oxford Illustrated Companion to Medicine by Stephen Lock (Editor); John M. Last (Editor); George Dunea (Editor)
ISBN: 9780192629500
Publication Date: 2001-12-27
This Companion is a fascinating and authoritative guide to the field of medicine and its specialties. While drawing on the strengths of previous medical companions, the Oxford Illustrated Companion to Medicine has been rethought and redesigned. With a greater emphasis on the history of medicine, its cultural links with the arts and music, and its international nature, this new edition has been completely rewritten under the auspices of the distinguished editorial team headed by Stephen Lock. More than 200 contributors have contributed over 500 substantial articles and many more shorter ones, ranging from "abortion" to "zygote". All the major medical and nursing specialties are covered, and detailed attention is given to complementary therapies, national medical systems, and the historical development of medicine. The clear and appealing layout and comprehensive cross-referencing ensure that information can be found quickly and easily. Features new to this edition include special 'Breakouts' that highlight key discoveries, diseases, and technologies. And many carefully researched illustrations complement the text, ensuring that the book is highly attractive as well as informative. From reviews of the Oxford Medical Companion '... I cannot recommend too highly. Arranged alphabetically, ending with zygote, it is literate, readable, and companionable.' The Daily Telegraph 'Magisterial updating and revision ... A sparkling compromise between technical and historical detail that any doctor or nurse would enjoy.' The Philadelphia Inquirer 'Every entry satisfied, some were brilliant, and from most I learnt something that I had not known before. If medicine is about human reality (disease)... This good and reliable companion will lighten the reality. BMJ '... the book has an all-in-one quality that makes it appealing both as an excellent reference source and as a medical book that is fun to browse through.' Library Journal 'The book should prove educational and entertaining to all health professionals as well as to lay people.... Carammed full of fascinating titbits of information on a hugely broad range of topics while containing trustworthy and comprehensive reviews.' The Lancet 'It is, obviously, difficult to confine "medicine" between two covers, but the editors of this engaging volume have probably come as close to accomplishing the feat as we are likely to see.' Nature Medicine
Physical therapy clinical handbook for PTAs by Frances M. Wedge
Call Number: RM 705 .W43 2023eb
ISBN: 9781284226171
Publication Date: 2023
Physical Therapy Clinical Handbook for PTAs, Fourth Edition is a concise clinical guide designed specifically to help physical therapist assistant students and practitioners easily obtain helpful evidence-based information. This succinct handbook covers the evaluative as well as the interventional aspect of physical therapy and offers immediate guidance concerning physical therapy data collection and interventions, including musculoskeletal, neurologic, cardiopulmonary, integumentary, geriatric, pediatric, and acute care interventions.
Professional Guide to Diseases by Laura Willis
ISBN: 9781975107727
Publication Date: 2019-05-03
Get ready to provide efficient, informed patient care, with the newly updated Professional Guide to Diseases , 11th Edition . This comprehensive guide offers the causes, signs and symptoms for more than 600 disorders, with expert nursing direction on tests, assessments, diagnosis, treatments, and special considerations. Whether you are a student preparing for board certification or are a new or experienced nurse, this is vital support for understanding correct treatment of the common conditions seen almost daily. Build up your ground-floor knowledge of a wide range of common disorders and diseases: NEW full-color figures and illustrations Boxed text on pathophysiology and prevention that helps reinforce difficult concepts Icons that emphasize important concepts: Elderly Tip, Pediatric Tip, Clinical Alert, Life-Threatening Disorder, and Confirming Diagnosis Consistent template that makes information quick and easy to find yet comprehensive enough to offer complete coverage of a group of similar diseases Expert guidance that leads you to targeted, cost-effective testing Chapters offer a thorough grounding in:Disorders found in individual body systems - Cardiovascular; respiratory; neurologic; gastrointestinal; hepatobiliary; musculoskeletal; renal and urologic; immune; hematologic; metabolic and nutritional; endocrine; eye; ear, nose and throat; skin; genetic; obstetric and gynecologic; sexual; and psychiatric Malignant neoplasms - Head, neck and spine; thorax; abdomen and pelvis; male and female genitalia; bone, skin and soft tissue; blood and lymph Infection - Gram-positive cocci, gram-negative cocci, gram-positive bacilli, gram-negative bacilli, spirochetes and mycobacteria, mycoses, respiratory viruses, rash-producing viruses, enteroviruses, arbovirus, miscellaneous viruses, rickettsia, protozoa, helminths Trauma - Head, neck and spine, thorax, abdomen, extremities, whole body Updated information on rare diseases, potential agents of bioterrorism, and complementary and alternative therapies for specific conditions, with additional coverage for more than 50 life-threatening disorders Detailed guidance on hundreds of commonly seen disorders and diseases in easy-to-read language -- ideal for both graduate and undergraduate study Offers new nurses the confidence to function fully while building on-the-unit skills and know-how Small enough size to carry with you as a solid resource -- informative, concise and organized for easy reference Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS(tm), Android(tm), PC and Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks About the Clinical Editor Dr. Laura M. Willis, DNP, APRN-CNP,CMSRN, is a Family Nurse Practitioner at Urbana Family Medicine and Pediatrics in Urbana, Ohio