Therapy Assistant Diploma Program Sample of Books, E-Books and Media

The number one book in pediatric OT is back! Focusing on children from infancy to adolescence, Case-Smith's Occupational Therapy for Children and Adolescents, 8th Edition provides comprehensive, full-color coverage of pediatric conditions and treatment techniques in all settings. Its emphasis on application of evidence-based practice includes: eight new chapters, a focus on clinical reasoning, updated references, research notes, and explanations of the evidentiary basis for specific interventions. Coverage of new research and theories, new techniques, and current trends, with additional case studies, keeps you in-step with the latest advances in the field. Developmental milestone tables serve as a quick reference throughout the book! Full-color, contemporary design throughout text includes high-quality photos and illustrations. Case-based video clips on the Evolve website demonstrate important concepts and rehabilitation techniques. Research Notes boxes and evidence-based summary tables help you learn to interpret evidence and strengthen clinical decision-making skills. Coverage of OT for children from infancy through adolescence includes the latest research, techniques and trends. Case studies help you apply concepts to actual situations you may encounter in practice. Learning objectives indicate what you will be learning in each chapter and serve as checkpoints when studying for examinations. A glossary makes it easy for you to look up key terms.  NEW! Eight completely new chapters cover Theory and Practice Models for Occupational Therapy With Children, Development of Occupations and Skills From Infancy Through Adolescence, Therapeutic Use of Self, Observational Assessment and Activity Analysis, Evaluation Interpretation, and Goal Writing, Documenting Outcomes, Neonatal Intensive Care Unit, and Vision Impairment. NEW! A focus on theory and principles Practice Models promote clinical reasoning. NEW! Emphasis on application of theory and frames of reference in practice appear throughout chapters in book. NEW! Developmental milestone tables serve as quick reference guides. NEW! Online materials included to help facilitate your understanding of what's covered in the text. NEW! Textbook is organized into six sections to fully describe the occupational therapy process and follow OTPF.

Be prepared for the growing opportunities in community and population health practice with the 3rd Edition of this groundbreaking resource. The New Edition reflects the convergence of community and population health practice with expanded content on health promotion, well-being, and wellness. Drs. Scaffa and Reitz present the theories underpinning occupational therapy practice in community and population health. Then, the authors provide practical guidance in program needs assessment, program development, and program evaluation. Both new practitioners and students will find practice-applicable coverage, including expanded case examples, specific strategies for working in the community, and guidance on securing funding for community and population health programs. Reviews of the 2nd Edition "This book is highly recommended not only to occupational therapy students and educators but to occupational therapy practitioners as well. For those employed in traditional hospital settings, the abundance of information may certainly help them expand their thinking about the scope of occupational therapy practice." --Karen Butler, Canadian Journal of Occupational Therapy "The text is easily readable and contains chapter key terms and learning objectives which help accentuate information. This text provides a much-needed resource for occupational therapists who currently are, or plan to in the future, practice in the community."  --Peggy Wittman, EdD, OTR/L, FAOTA, Occupational Therapy in Health Care Journal "Very comprehensive. Reviews a variety of possible settings for community practice and appears to cover the process from the beginning on through." --Anne Marie Knecht, MA, OTR/L, Florida International University, Miami, FL

Learn to provide effective therapy for children and adolescents! Pediatric Skills for Occupational Therapy Assistants, 5th Edition covers the entire scope of pediatric OT practice, from normal childhood development to pediatric disorders and treatment planning. Case studies and helpful tips reinforce your understanding and make it easier to apply OT principles to the clinical setting. This edition is thoroughly updated with online videos and new coverage of community systems, physical agent modalities, childhood obesity, Model of Human Occupation assessments, and Kinesio Taping®. Written by noted OTA educators Jean Solomon and Jane O'Brien, this resource is both a comprehensive textbook and a practical clinical reference! Hundreds of case examples provide snapshots of real-life situations and solutions, helping you apply key concepts in a real-life setting. UNIQUE! Clinical Pearls boxes highlight practical advice from the authors and contributors, sharing what they have learned from years of experience. Coverage of evidence-based practice includes clinical trials and outcome studies, especially those relating to evaluation and intervention. Coverage of cultural diversity and sensitivity issues addresses the many different groups of people that OTAs treat in practice. Information on preventive care takes the role of the OTA beyond intervention and treatment. Family-centered perspective uses the terminology of the AOTA Practice Framework in showing how to tailor your treatment to meet the needs of children from different environments. Key terms, outlines, and objectives at the beginning of each chapter prepare readers for the information they're expected to learn from the chapter. Content reviews and questions at the end of each chapter summarize key concepts and help you assess your understanding. Suggested activities in each chapter help readers to bridge the gap between the classroom and the clinic by exploring realistic situations. UNIQUE! Learning resources on the Evolve companion website include video clips and review questions, reinforcing your understanding and demonstrating how concepts apply to actual practice. NEW! Every Moment Counts content is added to The Occupational Therapy Process chapter, promoting pediatric mental health. NEW! Coverage of educational expectations is added to the Educational System chapter. NEW! Coverage of "signature" constraint-induced movement therapy (CIMT) is added to Cerebral Palsy chapter. NEW photographs and illustrations are added throughout the book. NEW video clips on the Evolve companion website show the typical development of children/adolescents. NEW! Extensive assessment and abbreviations appendices are added to Evolve. NEW! Expanded glossary is added to Evolve.

Be ready for your COTA exam with the New Edition of "the purple book"! See what students are saying about the previous edition... Five Stars. "I passed using this guide."--Maria, Online Reviewer Get this book!!!!!! "You need this book. I passed the NBCOT on the first try with the guidance given from this book."--Kevin, Online Reviewer A must have! "Used this book and passed the exam first try! Nice tool to have during studying."-- Online Reviewer Be prepared for the NBCOT COTA exam with the most beloved exam-prep guide on the market--now aligned with the current exam content outline! More than 1,000 review questions in the book and its online testing platform give you the practice you need to build your confidence and pass your certification exam. Detailed rationales explain why an answer is correct and the others are incorrect and refer you to primary sources for further study.

Handbook of Occupational Therapy for Adults With Physical Disabilities by Drs. William Sit and Marsha Neville provides quick and essential information for occupational therapists that are new to the adult practice setting.   This handbook is primarily organized by body system into six sections: Occupational performance as a whole Central nervous system Peripheral nervous system, cranial nerves, and sensory system Musculoskeletal system Cardiovascular, lymphatic, respiratory, and integumentary systems Endocrine, digestive, urinary, and reproductive system   At the beginning of each section, you will find a case study based on clinical experience that embodies the chapter subject. Within each section information is broken down into important aspects of the evaluation process, and then followed by the implications of each system on occupational therapy intervention. Handbook of Occupational Therapy for Adults With Physical Disabilities also includes a summary chart where readers can quickly and easily find the purpose, context, form, cost, and contact information for each assessment.   Handbook of Occupational Therapy for Adults With Physical Disabilities is ideal for occupational therapy students, recent graduates, and practitioners who are newly entering an adult physical disability practice setting.                      

Schell & Schell's Clinical and Professional Reasoning in Occupational Therapy, 2nd Edition offers up-to-date, easy-to-understand coverage of the theories and insights gained from years of studying how occupational therapy practitioners reason in practice. Written by an expanded team of international educators, researchers and practitioners, the book is the only work that goes beyond simply directing how therapists should think to exploring whyand how they actually think the way they do when working with clients. The 2nd Edition offers a wide array of new chapters and a new, more focused four-part organization that helps Occupational Therapy students develop the skills they need to identify and solve challenges throughout their careers. Reorganized text to focuses on theories and examples of professional reasoning in practice. New chapters in Unit I include a detailed description of Schell's Ecological Model of Professional Reasoning and a new chapter on Embodiment. Unit II includes a new chapter on Aspects of Reasoning and an expanded chapter on Interactive Reasoning. A brand new Unit III on Professional Reasoning in Context shares actual cases and outlines the nuances of reasoning in different practice settings ranging from the NICU to community mental health. Unit IV includes new and updated chapters on teaching in higher education and fieldwork, a new chapter on professional reasoning in management, and a revised chapter on considerations in research and scholarship in professional reasoning. Thinking About Thinkingboxes are threaded throughout Learning activities in each chapter that ask readers to use different kinds of reasoning to manage various occupational therapy scenarios. Case Examples demonstrate how effective reasoning is applied in handling a range of clinical and professional issues.

This updated 5th Edition of Mary Beth Early's best-seller remains the only resource specifically developed to prepare occupational therapy assistant students to work effectively with clients with mental health issues across all practice settings. Filled with up-to-date, evidence-based practice information and examples of contemporary interventions, Mental Health Concepts and Techniques for the Occupational Therapy Assistant helps students develop a sound foundation in occupational therapy processes and illustrates how to intervene effectively to meet the needs of clients with mental health issues. The 5th Edition reflects the latest professional standards and recent developments in the field and includes new content, new pedagogy, and new online resources to save instructors time and help students succeed.

Formerly entitled Occupational Therapy and Physical Dysfunction this seminal textbook builds on the strengths of all previous editions and continues to explore the work of occupational therapists with people who are experiencing illness, injury or impairment. It links theory with day-to-day practice, stimulating reflection on the knowledge, expertise and attitudes that inform practice, and encouraging the development of occupation-focused practice. The new title, Occupational Therapy for People Experiencing Illness, Injury or Impairment, reflects the knowledge, attitudes and skills that underpin the practice of promoting occupation and participation. It showcases how occupational therapists work with people - not medical conditions and diagnoses - as individuals, groups, communities, and populations. The new edition now has additional chapters on the assessment and intervention stages of the professional reasoning process to assist development of enabling skills and strategies. It also includes many more practice stories throughout to provide authentic examples to illustrate the application of theory to practice. Learning is further reinforced via access to a new online resource - Evolve Resources - which includes MCQs, reflective questions and three bonus interactive practice stories with accompanying reflective videos. These are all signposted within the textbook. Now compromising seven sections, which follow the professional reasoning format of the Canadian Practice Process Framework (CPPF), the new edition first tracks the evolution of occupational therapy in the context of health care. It then examines the foundational biomedical and social sciences, in addition to occupational science, before going on to the areas of assessment; writing occupation-focused goals; enabling skills and strategies which include advocacy and lobbying, public health, and community-based rehabilitation. The book ends with a chapter on developing effective reflection skills to enable occupational therapists to critically evaluate their practice, evolve as practitioners, and maintain and develop their professional competencies. Links theory with day-to-day practice, stimulating reflection Includes occupational, biomedical and social sciences that underpin occupational therapy practice Focus on working with groups, communities and populations in addition to working with individuals reflecting the evolving and expanding scope of practice Use of person-centred or inclusive and strengths-based language Three bonus interactive practice stories online at Evolve Resources and signposted at the end of Sections 3-7 in the textbook New title echoes the contemporary strength-based and occupation-focused nature of occupational therapy practice which involves working with people and not medical conditions and diagnoses Content and structure reviewed and shaped by an international panel of students/new graduates 22 additional chapters 100 expert international contributors Evolve Resources - evolve.elsevier.com/Curtin/OT - contains: 3 bonus interactive practice stories with reflective videos 360 MCQs 200 reflective questions 250 downloadable images Critical discussion of the ICF in the context of promoting occupation and participation Pedagogical features: summaries, key points, and multiple choice and short answer reflective questions

Occupational Therapy in Action: A Library of Occupational Therapy Case Studies helps students develop the clinical reasoning skills they need to provide meaningful, client-centered interventions across the continuum of care and as an integral part of an interprofessional team. This much-needed book provides a decision-making framework, the Case Development Protocol, to help students integrate treatment concepts and apply theory and sound clinical judgement to dozens of OT cases representing clients of all ages in a range of clinical setting. Scores and qualitative information from the book's unique Clinical Skills Self-Assessment Survey helps instructors and students gauge where further training is required and provides guidance on cases from the book that will provide the maximum skill development for each student.