Short Stories in French for Beginners by
An unmissable collection of eight unconventional and captivating short stories for young and adult learners. "I love Olly's work - and you will too!" - Barbara Oakley, PhD, Author of New York Times bestseller A Mind for Numbers Short Stories in French for Beginners has been written especially for students from beginner to intermediate level, designed to give a sense of achievement, and most importantly - enjoyment! Mapped to A2-B1 on the Common European Framework of Reference, these eight captivating stories will both entertain you, and give you a feeling of progress when reading. What does this book give you? · Eight stories in a variety of exciting genres, from science fiction and crime to history and thriller - making reading fun, while you learn a wide range of new vocabulary · Controlled language at your level, including the 1000 most frequent words, to help you progress confidently · Authentic spoken dialogues, to help you learn conversational expressions and improve your speaking ability · Pleasure! It's much easier to learn a new language when you're having fun, and research shows that if you're enjoying reading in a foreign language, you won't experience the usual feelings of frustration - 'It's too hard!' 'I don't understand!' · Accessible grammar so you learn new structures naturally, in a stress-free way Carefully curated to make learning a new language easy, these stories include key features that will support and consolidate your progress, including · A glossary for bolded words in each text · A bilingual word list · Full plot summary · Comprehension questions after each chapter. As a result, you will be able to focus on enjoying reading, delighting in your improved range of vocabulary and grasp of the language, without ever feeling overwhelmed or frustrated. From science fiction to fantasy, to crime and thrillers, Short Stories in French for Beginners will make learning French easy and enjoyable.
French by
Improve your French reading, pronunciation and listening skills. Make learning new vocabulary so much easier with 15 fun and engaging French stories. The French audio is FREE! Reading and listening to short stories is an effective and enjoyable method to learning French. For those of you who can't just slip away from life, travel to France and immerse yourself in the language in order to learn it, this is your solution! Reading and listening to native-spoken French stories is the next best thing. You have at your fingertips the written word AND an accompanying audio recording that allows you to: Gain a greater vocabulary that you can use immediately, every day. You will add 1,500+ French words and expressions to your repertoire through the encounter of descriptive sentences and casual conversations woven throughout the stories. Sharpen your comprehension of the spoken word by listening to a native French speaker. Learn how to pronounce French words properly by comparing the written word to the audio recording. Familiarize yourself with a wide range of grammar structures and put them to use today. Avoid the monotonous task of memorizing grammar rules. How awesome is that?! How this book will improve your French language skills: Each story is recorded in two different ways: A slow version helps beginners improve their pronunciation, and a normal, natural speed for intermediate and advanced learners trains your ears to understand what is being said. You receive 4 hours of MP3 audio recording! There is no need for a dictionary. Each story is broken down with a French and English glossary that introduces you to the words and phrases you might not understand. This comes in handy because there is no need for the irritating process of flipping pages, continually searching for definitions or translations. A vocabulary recap at the end of each chapter allows you to review what you have read and listened to so you don't forget the essential words and expressions taught throughout the lesson. The book contains 15 stories with the following themes: Family, Months, Days, Numbers, Weather, Introduce yourself, House, Nature, Clothing, Shopping, Visiting/Tourism, Weekend Activities, Daily Routine, Describe yourself, Food, Cooking, Jobs and Occupation, At the Train Station. All stories are written using vocabulary that you could easily use in your day-to-day conversations. With this book and accompanying audio, you can start improving your French today!
Oxford Picture Dictionary Third Edition: English/French Dictionary by
The English/French dictionary is the core component of the Oxford Picture Dictionary Third Edition program, building students' vocabulary, reading, and critical thinking skills for success in their daily lives. It features all of the new content from the monolingual dictionary. Dictionary ensures vocabulary retention with over 4,000 words, 421 verbs, and practice activities. Updatedcontent including Job Search, CareerPlanning, Soft Skills, Digital Literacy, Internet Research, and Health Insurance prepares students to meet the requirements of their daily lives. Updated activities prepare students for work, academic study, and citizenship.
Collins Robert French Dictionary by
Improve your French reading, pronunciation and listening skills. Make learning new vocabulary so much easier with 15 fun and engaging French stories. The French audio is FREE! Reading and listening to short stories is an effective and enjoyable method to learning French. For those of you who can't just slip away from life, travel to France and immerse yourself in the language in order to learn it, this is your solution! Reading and listening to native-spoken French stories is the next best thing. You have at your fingertips the written word AND an accompanying audio recording that allows you to: Gain a greater vocabulary that you can use immediately, every day. You will add 1,500+ French words and expressions to your repertoire through the encounter of descriptive sentences and casual conversations woven throughout the stories. Sharpen your comprehension of the spoken word by listening to a native French speaker. Learn how to pronounce French words properly by comparing the written word to the audio recording. Familiarize yourself with a wide range of grammar structures and put them to use today. Avoid the monotonous task of memorizing grammar rules. How awesome is that?! How this book will improve your French language skills: Each story is recorded in two different ways: A slow version helps beginners improve their pronunciation, and a normal, natural speed for intermediate and advanced learners trains your ears to understand what is being said. You receive 4 hours of MP3 audio recording! There is no need for a dictionary. Each story is broken down with a French and English glossary that introduces you to the words and phrases you might not understand. This comes in handy because there is no need for the irritating process of flipping pages, continually searching for definitions or translations. A vocabulary recap at the end of each chapter allows you to review what you have read and listened to so you don't forget the essential words and expressions taught throughout the lesson. The book contains 15 stories with the following themes: Family, Months, Days, Numbers, Weather, Introduce yourself, House, Nature, Clothing, Shopping, Visiting/Tourism, Weekend Activities, Daily Routine, Describe yourself, Food, Cooking, Jobs and Occupation, At the Train Station. All stories are written using vocabulary that you could easily use in your day-to-day conversations. With this book and accompanying audio, you can start improving your French today!
Short Stories in Spanish for Beginners by
An unmissable collection of eight unconventional and captivating short stories for young and adult learners. "I love Olly's work - and you will too!" - Barbara Oakley, PhD, Author of New York Times bestseller A Mind for Numbers Short Stories in Spanish for Beginners has been written especially for students from beginner to intermediate level, designed to give a sense of achievement, and most importantly - enjoyment! Mapped to A2-B1 on the Common European Framework of Reference, these eight captivating stories will both entertain you, and give you a feeling of progress when reading. What does this book give you? · Eight stories in a variety of exciting genres, from science fiction and crime to history and thriller - making reading fun, while you learn a wide range of new vocabulary · Controlled language at your level, including the 1000 most frequent words, to help you progress confidently · Authentic spoken dialogues, to help you learn conversational expressions and improve your speaking ability · Pleasure! It's much easier to learn a new language when you're having fun, and research shows that if you're enjoying reading in a foreign language, you won't experience the usual feelings of frustration - 'It's too hard!' 'I don't understand!' · Accessible grammar so you learn new structures naturally, in a stress-free way Carefully curated to make learning a new language easy, these stories include key features that will support and consolidate your progress, including · A glossary for bolded words in each text · A bilingual word list · Full plot summary · Comprehension questions after each chapter. As a result, you will be able to focus on enjoying reading, delighting in your improved range of vocabulary and grasp of the language, without ever feeling overwhelmed or frustrated. From science fiction to fantasy, to crime and thrillers, Short Stories in Spanish for Beginners will make learning Spanish easy and enjoyable.
Short Stories in Spanish for Beginners Volume 2 by
Olly's top-notch language-learning insights are right in line with the best of what we know from neuroscience and cognitive psychology about how to learn effectively. I love his work - and you will too! - Barbara Oakley,PhD, Author of New York Times bestseller A Mind for Numbers This second volume of the bestselling Teach Yourself Graded Readers series features 8 compelling new stories in a variety of genres,from science fiction and crime to history and thriller, so you'll have fun reading, while learning a wide range of new vocabulary and rapidly improving your Spanish comprehension! Short Stories in Spanish for Beginners, Volume 2 is written for students from high-beginner to intermediate level. The eight captivating stories are designed to give you a sense of achievement and a feeling of progress when reading. You'll enjoy reading in Spanish,grow your vocabulary in a natural way,and improve your comprehension at the same time. Based on extensive research into how people most enjoy and benefit from reading in a new language, this book eliminates the frustrations you experience when trying to read in Spanish. Stories are broken down into manageable chapters,so you make progress with the story and feel a sense of achievement. Realistic amounts of new vocabulary are introduced so that you're not deterred by complex words. Instead of pausing to look up every word,you'll absorb new vocabulary from the context of the story, and have the satisfaction of that moment when you say: "I totally understood that sentence!" This book includes: - Accessible grammar for high-beginner and low-intermediate level learners (CEFR A2-B2) - Natural dialogues in each story, so that you can learn conversational Spanish and improve your speaking ability! - Controlled language at your level,including the most frequent words, to help you progress confidently - Pleasure! It's much easier to learn a new language when you're having fun. Carefully curated to make learning a new language easy,these stories include key features that will support and consolidate your progress, including: · A glossary for bolded words in each text · A bilingual word list · Full plot summary · Comprehension questions after each chapter. As a result, you will be able to focus on enjoyingreading,delighting in your improved range of vocabulary and grasp of the language, without ever feeling overwhelmed or frustrated. The stories are levelled from A2-B1 on the Common European Framework of Reference and from Novice High to Low-Mid Intermediate ACTFL Receptive Proficiency. Use the code inside the book and ebook to access the free bonus story and the discounted audiobook edition on our Language Readers Library site (readers.teachyourself.com) or from the Readers app.
15-Minute Spanish by
Teach yourself Spanish in just 12 weeks with this fun-filled language course. DK's 15 Minute Spanish is the perfect course for busy people who want to learn Spanish fast. The 12 themed chapters are broken down into easy-to-follow 15-minute daily lessons spanning a range of practical themes, including: leisure, business, food and drink, travel, and shopping. Each lesson combines vocabulary and grammar essentials with attractive full-color images, making it quick, easy, and fun to learn new Spanish vocabulary. There is no writing or homework - you simply use the cover flaps to hide the answers to exercises and test yourself as you learn. Each chapter ends with a review module, so you can track your progress and identify areas where you need further practice. Fancy becoming a pro at the language? Then get stuck in to discover: - Annotated photographic scenes and word lists make it easy to learn and remember new vocabulary. - 12 fun chapters, each designed to take a week to master, providing an easy-to-follow structure for new learners. - Easy-to-use pronunciation guide for every word, plus a dictionary and menu guide at the back of the book. - Regular review modules to help you track progress and assess how well you have learned the vocabulary in each chapter The course includes a free audio app that lets you to hear Spanish words and phrases spoken by native speakers. Use the app alongside the book's easy-to-use pronunciation guides to perfect your pronunciation and practise Spanish conversation in real-life situations. Whether you're a complete beginner or just in need of a refresher course, there's no easier way to learn Spanish than with 15 Minute Spanish. At DK, we believe in the power of discovery. So why stop there? Learn more languages with DK's 15 minute guides to French, Mandarin, Arabic and more!
Spanish Visual Dictionary: a Photo Guide to Everyday Words and Phrases in Spanish (Collins Visual Dictionary) by
The home of trusted full-colour visual dictionaries for everyday use. A photographic guide to the key words and phrases in Spanish. This attractive pocket-sized book is a perfect travel companion and provides a practical guide to Spain and Spanish language and culture. Everyday words are arranged in themes with carefully selected up-to-date images to illustrate key words and phrases, and an English and Spanish index help you to find words quickly as you learn. 3,000 essential words and phrases for modern life in Spain are at your fingertips with topics covering food and drink, home life, work and school, shopping, sport and leisure, transport, technology, and the environment. Great care has been given to represent modern Spanish culture and enhance your experience of Spain and its people, including customs, celebrations, and festivals. Plus, download your free audio to hear native speakers pronounce the word for each image and get your pronunciation pitch perfect, available from collinsdictionary.com/resources#visual Collins and Quizlet have teamed up to bring you expert-created digital learning resources like pre-made flashcards, quizzes and games to help you master the vocabulary shown in Collins Spanish Visual Dictionary. Quickly learn the vocabulary with one of Quizlet's seven different study modes. Visit https://quizlet.com/gb/features/collins-spanish to see why 50 million students and teachers use Quizlet each month.
This site is maintained by the librarians of Okanagan College Library.
If you wish to comment on an individual page, please contact that page's author.
If you have a question or comment about Okanagan College Library's LibGuides site as a whole, please contact the site administrator.