LibGuides: Wine & Viticulture Research Guide: Background Information

Background Information

After you've chosen a topic to research, you will need to search for information that will introduce you to the topic. Background sources provide you with:

Atlases

Atlas of suitable grape growing locations in the Okanagan and Similkameen Valleys of British Columbia
Call Number: (Penticton Atlas Stand, online + Special Collections)

Published in 1984 this atlas provides detailed maps of grape growing regions in the Okanagan and Similkameen Valleys plus statistical information. Available in the Penticton Reference Collection or online
Oz Clarke wine atlas: wines and wine regions of the world by Oz Clarke
Call Number: G 1046 .M8 C5 2007 (Penticton Reference Collection)

ISBN: 9781862057821

Publication Date: 2007
Wine Atlas of Canada by Tony Aspler
Call Number: TP 559 .C2 A863 2006 (Penticton and Kelowna Circulating Collections)

ISBN: 9780679313342

Publication Date: 2006
The World Atlas of Wine by Jancis Robinson; Hugh Johnson (Created by)
Call Number: TP 548 .J66 2013 (Penticton Circulating Collection)

ISBN: 9781845336899

Publication Date: 2013

Dictionaries

The Winemakers' Essential Phrasebook by James March; James Halliday; Alberto Antonini; David Baverstock; Carlos Falco; Ernest Loosen; Bruno Prats
Call Number: TP 546 .W57 2004 (Penticton Reference Collection)

ISBN: 9781840007824

Publication Date: 2004
Botanical Latin by William T. Stearn
Call Number: QK 10 .S7 2004 - Kelowna Circulating Collection (3rd Floor)

ISBN: 0881926272

Publication Date: 2004

Vitisvium - multilingual wine dictionary

Encyclopedias

The Oxford Companion to Wine by Jancis Robinson; Julia Harding
Call Number: Ref TP 548 .O76 2015 (Penticton) + Ebook (Multi-user)

Publication Date: 2015

A comprehensive reference book covering wine terminology, producing countries and regions, varieties, techniques, personages, and history. Appendices include wine production volumes, vineyard acreages, and wine consumption by country.
Sothebys Wine Encyclopedia 4th Ed. by Tom Stevenson
Call Number: TP 548 .S724 2007 (Penticton Reference Collection)

ISBN: 9780756631642

Publication Date: 2007

A guide to wine and wine making presents information about wine-growing regions, factors that affect the taste and quality of each region's wine, an overview of the producers and their vintages, and starred reviews.