Skip to main content Library Home Search OCtopus for Resources Research & Course Guides About the Library Help from the Library Kelowna Library Information Penticton Library Information Salmon Arm Library Information Vernon Library Information Library Home

Pharmacy Technician: Find Articles + Journals

Featuring selected Okanagan College Library resources for the Pharmacy Technician Certificate Program

Pharmacy Journals

Some examples (click on the title to browse/search full-text issues):

Canadian Pharmacists Journal

Canadian Journal of Hospital Pharmacy

Medical Journals

CMAJ: Canadian Medical Association Journal​

 

JAMA: Journal of the American Medical Association

 

The Lancet

Specialized Health Databases

To search for journal articles on pharmacy-related topics try using specialized health databases.

For example, search for a specific drug AND a disease

For example, search for a specific disease AND "drug therapy"           

 

Multidisciplinary Databases

Multidisciplinary databases which selectively cover many subject areas, including health, may also be useful for finding articles on pharmacy-related topics:

OCtopus (Library Search Engine)

 

   
Search OCtopus: Find Books, Articles, & More!

 

OCtopus searches the Library catalogue and  several (but not all) of the Library's databases, including CINAHL Complete and MEDLINE with Full Text , in one search. Most of the journal articles in the Library's databases are not freely available on the Web. Enter search terms in the OCtopus search box  on the  Library's website 

 

Locating the Text of Articles

HTML Full Text    PDF Full Text

Many databases contain the entire text (full text) of articles. If you see HTML Full Text or PDF Full Text, click the link to go to the full-text of your article.

Don't forget to double-check that all the citation information (author, title, journal, volume, issue, publication info, etc.) is with the full-text. 

Where Can I Get This?

If you do not see a full-text option, then click the Where Can I Get This? link.

The system will then try to find your article in another OC Library database. If it finds the article, great, click on the article link to see the full-text.

The system may indicate that the journal or magazine is located in OC Library. Print journals or magazines are shelved alphabetically by title in each campus library periodical collection. If the print journal or magazine is not in your campus library or in storage it may be requested.

If your article is not available in full-text from another OC Library database and is not in the OC Library you may check for it in other libraries and request it.

InterLibrary Loan

InterLibrary Loans (ILLs) are a free service offered by the OC Library to students and employees of OC.  If you cannot get your article using a database, fill out the form and library staff will search for it and get it from another library.

This site is maintained by the librarians of Okanagan College Library.
If you wish to comment on an individual page, please contact that page's author.
If you have a question or comment about Okanagan College Library's LibGuides site as a whole, please contact the site administrator.