LibGuides: Wine Research Guide: Alumni Information

OC Library Community Borrower Card

Go to any campus library to fill out a form and receive a community borrower card. An Okanagan College Library Community Borrower Card allows in-person borrowing of many print materials as well as renewals and requests. Books can be requested from any OC campus library. You can also request help from OC research librarians. Community borrower privileges do not provide off-campus access to online resources on licensed library databases. Many OC Library licensed resources can be used in-person on-campus. Ask for help with guest access in the Library. More details about borrower types and privileges can be found on our library website.

For more information call an OC campus library:

Kelowna 250-862-5452
Penticton 250-490-3951
Salmon Arm 250-804-8851
Vernon 250-503-2654

Public Libraries

Many public libraries provide business and other information. Check for the closest public library by checking the provincial government BC Libraries website.

At your home public library register for a BC OneCard decal so you can use your public library card at any participating public library in BC. OneCard decals are available from participating BC libraries. You can also return materials to any participating library in BC.

Okanagan Regional Library (ORL)

Your free ORL membership gives access to both print borrowing and access to a range of digital resources. Your ORL Library card must be obtained in-person but you can access online resources from home after obtaining your card. For more information go to the Okanagan Regional Library website.

Penticton Public Library

Serving the municipality of Penticton this public library is not included in the Okanagan Regional Library system. For more information go to the Penticton Public Library website

Open Access (free!) Database

Viticulture and Enology Abstracts (VITIS-VEA) This link opens in a new window
Literature database in the fields of viticulture, enology, and other related disciplines. It covers grapevine morphology, physiology, and biochemistry, soil science, genetics and grapevine breeding, phytopathology and grapevine protection, cellar techniques, economics of viticulture and enology, and the microbiology of wine.
Includes the Viticulture and Enology thesaurus that provides controlled vocabulary terms and cross references that will aid with searching. The Thesaurus Viticulture and Enology is available in English, French, German, Italian and Spanish, with controlled terms also available in Russian.

Other College & University Libraries

Some BC college and university libraries provide community borrower privileges. Many charge a fee for these privileges. Also ask about in-library guest login to computers and on-site database access.

Students registered at BC public college or university may request a free community borrower card at most BC public post-secondary libraries. Refer to the Council of Post-Secondary Library Directors (CPSLD) webpage on reciprocal borrowing for a list of participating libraries.